We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a wonderful, relaxing getaway this was...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stepping Stones Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Lyndonville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

For my birthday, my husband and I opted for a trip in Burke to enjoy the awesome biking trails the Kingdom has to offer. We decided for the first time to stay overnight to enjoy a good night sleep as we have too very young boys that have a tendency to wake up at the wee hours in the morning.

We found that the staff was friendly, discreet and eager to make our stay a memorable one. We were able to drop off our luggage early in the day, before we hit the trails. Everything was waiting in our room upon our return and check in. Based on a quick conversation, the newly appointed manager had taken the initiative to call around to find out who would be open and who would have a reservation available on a Monday night for dinner. Therefore, she had options for us upon our return from our day of riding.

The staff is there only on regular business hours. However, we didn't lack of anything after they left and we had the place to ourselves to booth! We were shown how to work the sauna and made sure to take advantage of this during the evening. When we came down at breakfast time, we had fresh hot coffee, fresh fruit and locally fresh baked goods waiting for us.

We booked massages at the spa for the early afternoon. I came to my massage therapist with bruises, soreness, twitching fingers in one hand and loss of sensation in the fingers of the other hand. He was able to work this all out and by the end of my massage, I felt great. This had to be the best massage I've had in quite a while. Afterwards, my husband and I were show this cozy relaxing room and offered a refined selection of teas.

I used to be a concierge at high end hotels located in Santa Barbara and Beverly Hills, CA. I know a thing or two about high end service and refined spas. I assure you that the Stepping Stone Inn and Spa is far from something to be sniffed at.

It's with a little reluctance that we had to see this wonderful relaxing weekend end. We will surely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Stepping Stone. We found the staff to be friendly, accommodating and professional. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and special. The property is stunning... Check out the miles of pristine biking and hiking trails and the Chapel on the hill. The breakfast choices are healthy and yummy. The jacuzzi, showers and sauna are luxurious. We will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I decided last minute on a weekend away so booked a room here last minute over memorial weekend. We came for the mountain biking in the area so thought a spa would be a great place to stay and relax after some long bike rides. The person that booked the room for us assured that we wouldn't need a massage reservation because there was always someone present. When we arrived we retrieved the keys from the mail box (at 3 pm) checkin time and saw a sign that indicated that they were closed for the day, what? We must have looked confused because a woman came out (the bookkeeper) to let us know that everyone had left for the day. She was quite helpful in booking a place to eat for the evening but looked annoyed that no one told us where our keys would be. She also assured us that someone would be around the next morning to talk to about massages. Next morning and throughout the following day we were given the runaround and told that the massages were booked for the afternoon( no idea why they weren't available before 2 o'clock though) and the the woman "working" the front desk had taken the 4 o'clock for herself. At this point we decided to cut our losses and leave early the next morning.
All in all the area was beautiful and worth the visit. The restaurants in the area are quaint with decent food and the mountain biking was excellent without being overcrowded. Next time we'll try the wildflower inn down the rode. We had dinner there one night and the food and staff were friendly and accommodating and the inn was very family oriented with a pool, playground and indoor playroom. Hopefully by then the stepping stone will be under better management and have worked on the hospitality end of the business.
Ps. Cheap uncomfortable bed and jacuzzi tub was broken too, yikes!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwineSanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Stepping Stone Spa Bed & Breakfast for a few nights.

The location is outstanding, next to a quiet road, beautiful / peaceful scenery. Only a few minutes away from East Burke (Kingdom Trails).
The house is well kept and renovated. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

The wifi only worked during the first evening and wasn't available for the rest of our stay.
Getting hot water in the shower proved to be quite the challenge and was hit'n miss. So you might want to double check that they have fixed their plumbing + water heater issues.

Staff at the front desk is only on location during regular business hours but is very friendly and helpful. You may need to remind them to replenish the breakfast table in the morning however.
Fresh fruit, toasts / bagels, yogourt, cereals are ok.
There's an expresso machine for you to look at (they don't know how it works... and don't have coffee for it either)... while you enjoy your cup of regular coffee :-)

At the end of the day, this B&B is overpriced for what it has to offer (or is able to offer). I'll look somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: The 'Tranquility' Room doesn't have its own bathroom (it's across the hall)... is ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louis514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndonville
3.7 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
0.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#1 of 5 in Lyndonville
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
2.2 mi away
WilloBurke Inn & Lodge
WilloBurke Inn & Lodge
#1 of 5 in East Burke
58 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairbanks Inn
Fairbanks Inn
#2 of 2 in Saint Johnsbury
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stepping Stones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stepping Stones Inn

Address: 1563 Darling Hill Rd, Lyndonville, VT 05851-9150
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Lyndonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndonville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stepping Stones Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stepping Stones Inn is located on beautiful Darling Hill on the Kingdom Trails system. Kingdom Trails offers mountain biking, winter biking, snow-shoeing, cross country traditional and skate skiing. We are also 3 miles from Burke Mountain, a four season resort offering downhill skiing and mountain biking. Access to the VAST system is across the street. Willoughby Lake (in the GAP) is 15 minutes away. Newly opened as a Bed and Breakfast, we also offer massage therapy, yoga sessions and dry saunas. We recommend booking ahead for restaurants as they do get busy. Our restaurant recommendations are Foggy Goggle, Publick House, and Sweet Basils. Additionally, Mike's Tiki Bar is a must for every mountain biker! Located in downtown East Burke, there is a food truck and wine and beer bar. We do not yet have our own beer license, and we are BYOB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Stepping Stones Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stepping Stones Inn Vermont/Lyndonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing