We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family restaurant with good choices”

Valley View Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 25 Restaurants in Lyndonville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“family restaurant with good choices”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

the restaurant looked inviting from across the street of the Sanborn covered bridge. We weren't disappointed with our choices and felt we had been served a very decent meal that included great fries, terrific corn chowder, very tasty deep fried shrimp, etc., No room for dessert. Very friendly server

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A variety of taste!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice family restaurant with fresh food from seafood to the beef
all quite delicous !!! very friendly and accomodating staff worth the trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Halifax, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a nice place with committed employes , my guess is it's under good caring management very good food .”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This experience was excellent except for a baked potato not hot enough, and lame veggi. Great salid bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“FORGET IT”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Very convenient on the north side of town. That is the only positive. Extremely successful locally but then we are talking about locals who do not know the difference between lamb & pork, who like their food pre-packaged deep fat frozen and no not know the difference between a caesar salad and cobb salad. If you like to dine as opposed to eat this is not a place to go to. Sorry to report this. I live local. In 1967 a great NY style pizzeria opened. It folded in 6 months. In 1967 if you wanted to buy Mexican there was nothing on the shelf in Whites Market. Olive oil was available in 6 oz bottles. In short go to the Miss Lyndonville Dinner for good reasonable eats. To dine check out East Burke

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mochilero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Edward, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good eating”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Found the menu in our motel room and thought we would take a chance. When we drove up and saw a number of cars with a 3 generation family entering, we decided this was a good sign. We were cheerfully greeted and as we were newbies, the hostess offered a spot out of the sun and heat of the solarium. The menu has lots of choices and husband ordered the fettuccine Alfredo with scallops. He counted 18 scallops in his dish and enjoyed it with a nicely made side salad and garlic bread. I ordered fried scallops and was able to choose handcut fries and a great coleslaw. I didn't count my scallops but there were lots and way too many fries to finish. Our waitress, Eryca, returned several times without being intrusive.

We returned a couple nights later when the Italian restaurant we walked into, turned out to be only a bar. The second night surpassed the first. I have always wondered about Poutine and, our waitress, Michelle, guided us. Poutine is a Canadian appetizer made of french fries, gravy and cheese. Sounds questionable but it was yummy. It actually could be a meal. Anyway...husband ordered fried chicken and I ordered ribs. The ribs (6) were fall off the bone tender and the "sweet and tangy" sauce was cooked into the meat rather than brushed on top. I had the yummy coleslaw again and the ribs came with grilled corn bread. As I had 2 sides, I chose onion rings (home made!)
Michelle had come to our table before serving and apologized for our wait, but apparently the fried chicken is fresh and real...no frozen premade stuff! When it arrived, it was steaming and very moist. Neither of us finished our meals, but husband had a piece of homemade apple crumb pie for dessert. With 2 beverages, the cost was $30 and change. It was senior night (Wednesday) and we received a 10% discount!

I'm glad this place is hours from home. There's way too much comfort food here and it's way too good!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valley View Restaurant also viewed

Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
 
Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Valley View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing