We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, love, food & cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe sweet basil

Cafe sweet basil
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Lyndonville
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyndonville, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peace, love, food & cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a great, funky place in downtown Lyndonville. Somebody else referred to it as 'quirky' and that's an apt description. The tables and chairs are from some 1970's garage sale and there are plenty of posters, including one of Jerry Garcia.
They have perfected the items they offer...try the Thai noodles with chicken, and the Holy Basil, which has some fire. Soups and many other items are made from scratch and where they can, they use local ingredients. And the cocktails? Awesome...

NOTE! No credit cards. Bring cash or your checkbook.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
the NEK
Level Contributor
1 review
“Quirky cafe with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have eaten here many, many times over the last 9-10 years. Always a favorite. Have tried most things on the menu. My personal favorite is the Holy Basil (sans the spicy). The husband loves the chicken and shrimp picata. It is one of his favorite dishes ever and he compares all others to this one. Always good drinks and great service. We have taken out of town guests and it is always a winner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonnemari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Burke, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Place to eat in the NEK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hands down, this is my favorite restaurant in the NEK. The chef(s) often use their own produce & ingredients from their farm & garden. The cocktails are original & delicious & they offer local brews. Portion size is very fair for the cost. I always leave here full and happy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Burke, Vermont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

One of the only restaurants in the area that I will return to again and again. The food is really good, and is a great value for the price. Their specials are changing on a regular basis - I've loved their bruschetta and Vermont cheese platter. Their cocktails are a great value, and their dessert is delicious!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
436 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Eclectic, truly special cuisine in a no frills bistro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

You should not be put off by the simplicity and funkiness of the atmosphere, because the food prepared by the chef owner is outstanding! My favorite is the chicken saltimbocca, but the signature Holy Basil is also great. Have always wanted to try one of the interesting desserts, but the entrees are so ample, that I've had to pass! Great place in a very small town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe sweet basil also viewed

Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
 
East Burke, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
East Burke, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Cafe sweet basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing