We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent location but inn does need a little upgrading”
Review of Wildflower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wildflower Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lyndonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just spent a few days at the inn. The location cannot be beat and the landscaping and appearance from the outside is lovely. Once inside though it becomes apparent that carpets are old, furniture is even older (and I don't mean "antique lovely"). Towels are very holiday inn type and the service was so so. Front desk was always very helpful but servers seem very untrained and even more unknowledgable. When I spilled my wine because of the intense fly swatting instead of saying "I will be right over to refiil your glass" it was instead" I will be back with a new napkin". Say what? Have to admit, I will however go back again but will try and and score and afford (not cheap) a better room in hopes of a little higher quality decor. If you can afford it Wildflower, just a few simple changes (carpets, dressers, tables) will make a huge difference! Still loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetogetaway1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Wildflower Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our experience is very much in line with many reviewers here: The location of this inn is absolutely phenomenal and the grounds are lovely, but the rooms themselves leave much to be desired.

Pros:
Spectacular setting
Easy access to fantastic mountain biking
Spacious room (did not feel cramped for our family of three)
Beautiful pool with plenty of lounge chairs surrounding
Inn area did not feel crowded
Great breakfast (buffet of cold items included yogurt, fruit salad, granola, bagels, muffins; then you also order a hot plate such as poached eggs with toast, blueberry pancakes, and/or oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins)
Patio seating for restaurant has a spectacular view
Friendly, helpful wait staff at restaurant
Short, low zip line is a unique feature on a playground and very fun (but too low for kids over, say, 10 or 11 years old)
Restaurant has good burgers, and is not too pricey if you stick to that side of the menu
Afternoon cookies and lemonade in the lobby is a nice touch

Cons:
1. The room really was pretty shabby. The carpet was stained, dirty, unsightly. Furniture was totally unremarkable and somewhat beat up. Bathroom was dingy. Low water pressure in shower. Housekeeping staff did not replenish toiletries as they do normally in hotels. In-room coffee/tea/sugar packets looked as if they had been handled many, many times. Towels were small and scratchy (especially at the pool, where they felt like sandpaper). Bed not particularly comfortable--more like a cheap motel bed. No air conditioner. No TV. Our room had no view to speak of. We spent $300 a night for this room, and I expect something a bit nicer at that price. (Another gorgeous inn just down the road offers beautiful rooms for $200 a night, with breakfast also included. The only difference is that the other inn doesn't have a pool or "family activities.") The room felt functional but not pleasant to spend time in.
2. The inn advertises itself as being a good place for mountain bikers and even offers mountain bike packages, but does not offer a place to securely store bikes out of the weather. We could not even find a bike rack. We noticed several bikes chained to lamp posts.
3. Advertised basketball court did not have basketball hoops. Huh?
4. The inn advertises itself as being a "family resort," but most kid-friendly amenities and activities were geared for very young children. My kid took one look at the shabby, sparse toys in the "playroom" and never returned. Movie nights featured cute G-rated movies that attracted only preschoolers. Have you ever tried to watch a movie in a room with unattended preschoolers? Even without a TV in our room, my kid quickly decided he wasn't interested in the movies either. The two activities we saw advertised also skewed young (one even had an age cutoff) and didn't interest my kid either. The basketball court wasn't functional, and the tennis equipment was horribly worn. No matter--the pool was splendid and kept my kid plenty busy when we weren't biking, but we don't need a "family resort" for that. We expected to be able to take advantage of a range of kid-friendly opportunities, and therefore felt disappointed.
5. Probably because of the above, there were a lot of very young kids at the inn. So, tantrums during dinner at the restaurant, chaos during breakfast at the restaurant, tantrums and shrieking at the pool.... I would have enjoyed the cheese and crackers offered in the lobby each afternoon, but after watching a 5-year-old lick her fingers and put her hands all over the entire block of cheese while cutting herself a slice, I decided a drink would suffice. And the hot tub has apparently been turned into a kiddie pool. I enjoyed smiling at babies and reminiscing about toddlers, but ultimately there was a LOT of little-kid action, and we found ourselves seeking quieter areas of the inn while we were on site. I mention this only as a heads-up to families considering the inn. If you have young children you will probably love it. But if you have older children (like over 8) and you're not there for biking or skiing, you might be disappointed by the activities offered.
6. Seems like they've given up on some things. The waterfall at the pool was never on during our stay. Despite lovely landscaping elsewhere, the many flowerboxes on our building were empty, making it look sad and neglected. The hot tub is not a hot tub.

Would I stay there again? Perhaps, but unless there were some sort of special rate, I would check availability at the inn just down the street first.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just returned from a family reunion - our 15th year at the Wildflower Inn. Every year I find more things to like: amazing views and sunsets, beautiful flower gardens, the best pancakes anytime anywhere, warm friendly staff, the finest mountain bike/cross-country ski trail system in the East if not in the country, free Wi-Fi and good cell phone service, the walk up Darling Hill Road - one of the prettiest roads in Vermont, a region full of hiking, swimming holes and lakes; grounds to explore with a pool and outdoor games to play, kids programs, the Vermont Children's Theater just up the road, an extensive and delicious gluten free menu, chefs who will accommodate dietary needs, hosts who greet you like friends, an atmosphere that manages to be romantic and kid friendly at the same time......I could go on and on. Don't miss this place, it is a little bit of heaven.

Room Tip: If you want a romantic getaway, ask for the School House. If you want a family get together, ask for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank htanguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Inn is in a beautiful location on the crest of a hill overlooking the hills of Vermont. The setting is perfect. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of outdoor activities like hiking, bike riding, a small petting farm for the kids, etc. The rooms are way overpriced for what you get but that does not seem to slow down the clientel. The room we had was nice with a refrigerator, micro-wave and a fan, no air conditioning. It was nothing special, but nice. The breakfast was included and was excellent.

Room Tip: A/C is not usually necessary in Vermont but if you want it, ask.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clifton p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Beautifully located up on a ridge. It was a 380 degree spectacular view. Lovely in the summer with it's beautiful gardens. Mountain biking is awesome from here yet so much more to do at the Inn. The breakfast was great!! Junipers was closed for dinner the night we were there. We got a $40 voucher to eat in East Burke at the River Garden Cafe. It too was great. I had their outstanding salad special. The decor is Americana but perfect fot the Inn. My only complaint was the mattress was not comfortable in our room and I didnt sleep well.Otherwise I would give it 5 stars. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

What an absolutly charming and gracious inn! My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Wildflower Inn and we wish it could have been longer. We enjoyed the cozy and private accomodations in "The School House" suite. The views and expansive property were exquisite, completly breathtaking. We were awed by the beauty of the neighboring chapel which is a must see for everyone.
We loved the warm friendly, family atmosphere and found everything to be clean and well thought out. The pool and its location were lovely and the breakfast and dinner at Junipers was exceptional. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzyB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice. It's perched on top of a hill will stunning views and endless amenities. As a list it sounds so smart, yet put it in northern Vermont and its so laid back. Swimming pool, air hockey, fuse ball, best for our kids.... Petting zoo. Donkeys, goats, horses. All so great. Best for us... The restaurant, food is of the highest quality. We even had a treatment at thespa down the road that was outstanding. Please stay here. You will always be happy you did.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hazel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndonville
3.5 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
15.0 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stepping Stones Inn
The Stepping Stones Inn
#2 of 5 in Lyndonville
40 reviews
15.4 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,257 reviews
1.9 mi away
WilloBurke Inn & Lodge
WilloBurke Inn & Lodge
#1 of 5 in East Burke
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildflower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildflower Inn

Address: 2059 Darling Hill Rd, Lyndonville, VT 05851-9147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Lyndonville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndonville
Price Range: £137 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildflower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing small inn that sits on 500 acres with spectacular views of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wildflower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildflower Hotel Lyndonville
Wildflower Inn Vermont/Lyndonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing