We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
fort myers, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent Labor Day weekend at the Reluctant Panther to celebrate our son's wedding. Many of our family and friends spent the weekend in the beautiful, well appointment suites. Each is different and delightful. Kate and her staff helped us plan a perfect evening for our rehearsal dinner. They arranged a pre party in the downstairs pub to start the evening off. Then upstairs for cocktails and hor d'oevres on the patio before moving in for an elegant dinner. The food was spectacular and the service impeccable. They handled every detail flawlessly which allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves. It was truly an evening to remember. I highly recommend you visit them when you are in Vermont. Thanks to all for making our visit so perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saraliz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
239
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Reluctant Panther is a boutique hotel/Inn with a small number of rooms and a great restaurant. We received a very personal and warm welcome and were shown to our room; it felt more like staying in a friend's home than a hotel! The room was absolutely gorgeous with an enormous King bed, a double-aspect real flame fire which gave onto the bathroom where there was a massive whirlpool bath. There was outstanding attention to detail in all areas of our stay such as the turn-down service at night and the fine breakfast in the morning. I wish we had been able to explore more in Manchester but the weather was atrocious and it didn't stop raining for two days; the Inn has lovely grounds and Manchester is an interesting place with lots to see and do in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and I spent two night at this hotel a few weeks ago and enjoyed our stay. With twenty rooms, it's a cross between a country inn, B&B, and boutique hotel which I believe is how they promote themselves. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. The hotel is located just a few steps away from the Eqinox Resort just off Route 7A, which is one block over. The area is quiet and the grounds, though small, are nicely landscaped. A limited view of Mt. Equinox is in the background. Service was excellent and everyone on staff that we came in contact with was very friendly. A full breakfast is included with your room and is served in their restaurant. I'm always concerned about staying at an inn or B&B that is associated with a restaurant for several reasons, one of which is noise. But we asked for a room away from the restaurant and noise was never an issue even though the restaurant was always crowded.
Some minor complaints....
There is a limited number of spaces for off street parking so if you go out to dinner there usually isn't a parking space when you return. There are a handful of spaces on the street in front of the hotel but even those were filled on one of the nights were were there and we were forced to park around the corner. Not a big deal but still disappointing.
While service was great we waited 35 minutes for breakfast the second morning we were there and there were only four of us in the dining room. Our waitress kept apologizing but I don't know why there was such a delay for eggs and pancakes.
They had a fire pit in the back of the property, which is a nice feature. Both nights we were there the temps were in the 50's and yet the fire pit wasn't lit. It would have been nice to sit around it and maybe have a drink which is what they were doing at the Equinox next door.
The first day we were there I asked a staff member outside my room if I could get an extra pillow. She told me I had t go downstairs and request one from the woman who registered us. She then had to leave her desk and go downstairs pillow to get the pillow for me.
The wooden deck chairs were a nice feature surrounding the fountain in the back of the property but the arm rest was loose and came off when I tried to get up.
Again, these are all minor issues but they are the kinds of things that separate the very best from the very good, especially when there are a number of them. And quite honestly, if you're going to be at a certain price point in terms of your rates, those minor things make a difference. The reluctant Panther is a very nice place and I would definitely consider staying there again, though I would hope some of these minor issues would be corrected. It has great potential but just misses the five star mark.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What a wonderful place. We stayed in t he snowflake suite it was fabulous one of the prettiest bathrooms ever! I celebrated my birthday at the restaurant, the food was amazing, truly one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The staff was so helpful and made us feel so welcome. This is a wonderful place escape too for a long weekend.

Room Tip: OUr bathroom/tub was magnificent but could be a major challenge for anyone with mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allaboutmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Inn was just perfect everything about it , rooms perfect clean perfectly appointed ....dining room service was great and perfect as well , food just good has a little ways to go to meet up with the level of the Inn ...but still good and fresh and I would dine here again just not outstanding ...mediocre...Thanks again for a great stay ...must stay kind of place to just getaway for a day or 2 or a full week plus ..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcusr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in July of 2011 and the rooms are clean and well designed. The inn itself is beautiful, with great views from the restaurant and the raw bar. The food is excellent and the menu has some diversity. Exceptional overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiggieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new englanad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend ata the Reluctant Panther for our 52nd anniversay. Everythilng about this inn is great. Our room was beautiful with a fireplace and huge bathroom. The women at the front desk was very helpful and brought us to the rooms available which we were able to picki out. The evening meal was delicious as the breakfast. Anyone who wants a special place to go do not hestitate to go here it is really wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annetteNewEnglanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
620 reviews
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing