We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbus day weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Columbus day weekend”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent place to stay where you can walk to Manchester center..Staff are outstanding and quite helpful and go out of there way to accommodate you..Rooms are excellent size and all we had to add was an in room refrigerator..Bar is cozy and bartender David a most hospitable young man..We had a large room [suite]with separate sitting area and 2 fireplaces and the foliage was in full bloom

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgesclams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
239
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When choosing to stay at the Reluctant Panther Inn, we picked the perfect place. The inn feels cozy and romantic, but everything is new and updated. Loved the linens on the MOST comfortable bed. We chose the Fallen Spruce Deluxe room, which was a large, quiet, corner room with a very large bathroom with a great jacuzzi tub for 2. We did enjoy the gas fireplace, though would have preferred wood burning. The young women at the front desk gave us very helpful recommendations for sightseeing, hiking and dining. Would highly recommend this inn, which is in an excellent location for enjoying Manchester, Vt.

Room Tip: Fallen Spruce is a large, quiet corner deluxe room with very large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni4451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We began our trip with a first time visit to Manchester and the Panther. Manchester is a quiet village, even during busy "leaf peeping" season. We were expecting crowds but were surprised at how quiet it was compared to our daily lives. Wonderful! The staff greeted us cheerfully and showed us to our second floor suite, which was on a corner overlooking the rear lawn with a view of Mt Equinox. The two fireplaces helped us to take the chill off the seasonable nights. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant included excellent food and service. Upon returning to our room after dinner we found a split of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries. This was so thoughtful but we wished we had had a heads up as we were too satiated to enjoy these gifts since we had ordered dessert. The quiet feel of this property is in contrast with the busy hotel that is the Equinox just up the street. We hope to return and enjoy the serenity of the Panther again.

Room Tip: Three Sisters would be my recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Town, Tortola
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a wonderful stay in VT! Great room with fireplace, very large bathroom. Small two person bar which was nice and a great restaurant. Breakfast every morning too. Staff was really nice. It rained the whole time we were there but it was still a great trip thanks to the reluctant panther!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A superb luxury stay with warm and friendly hosts.
We had a deluxe suite, and it more than met our expectations.
Everything you would expect in the suite was there as standard, no expense spared on making sure the trip was perfect for us. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham WA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were in Manchester for 4 nights to attend a reunion and selected the Panther because we thought it suited us better (as a small hotel) than the Equinox (a large resort/event type hotel) where many of the other attendees were staying. It was a tough decision, but as it turned out we were thrilled with our choice. We stayed in the main building in a deluxe room, the Fallen Spruce, on the second floor. It was a very large room with a very large 2 sink bathroom with jetted tub and lots of room to store our things. It was beautifully and brightly decorated, had 4 windows with nice views out the back of the hotel, and a fireplace opposite the bed. The room also had a sofa and easy chair. We loved just spending time there. This is a small hotel which we found to be perfectly quiet and clean. I saw two of the other rooms in the main building and thought they were beautifully decorated as well.

The staff are terrific and added so much to our stay.

Our stay included a well prepared breakfast. It was just the right amount of food for us. The service was a bit slow on 2 of the 3 mornings that we made it to breakfast. On the other morning we had fantastic service. We prefer a freshly made breakfast to a hotel buffet any day. They were happy to adjust to our preference for a bowl of excellent berries, sliced apples, and pineapple instead of breakfast meats.

We enjoyed our visit so much that we are already talking about returning next year just by ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here last night and generally had a lovely stay. We had booked a suite but were upgraded to a better suite. The room was fabulous, the room itself the separate sitting room and bathroom (with roll top bath!) shower etc were fantastic. The hotel provided a proper konig coffee maker...at last a hotel with sense..well done I wish others would do this.

The staff were at all times really friendly and helpful. The location was really good and the gardens nice.

However, there were a couple of problems. First our room was subject to a lot of noise. from it seemed different sources. I think outside our room was some sort of staff storage cupboard and this banged all night until about eleven pm. Also I think upstairs had a whirlpool bath and it seemed to be in constant use. Then there seemed to be something constantly rumbling on and off all night not sure what this was!

Next problem.....the breakfast. What a sad and sorry breakfast, why? It is such a nice hotel why scrimp on the breakfast. The breakfast was appalling, so appalling I feel like going back through my reviews and changing my comments on other hotels with bad breakfasts and saying they were actually ok. My main gripe? Well, you could have eggs with sausage that's it OR bacon and French toast OR whatever but you couldn't have a full breakfast everything was individual items with OR next to them so you could never have a full breakfast ..CRAZY! I had eggs and sausage (two tiny thin awful sausages) we checked out drove to a café and had breakfast!

Also when was the last time you ordered your breakfast like this ....."I'll have eggs and sausage but err hold the melon" well I'm allergic to melon and for the first time in my life my eggs and sausage were served with slivers of melon......err why? Instead of trying to be big OR clever, OR posh OR "in" just serve a decent breakfast!

I would definitely come back it was a lovely hotel but it seems to be trying to much to be posh and forgetting the basics of a quiet room to get some sleep and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing