We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Weathervane Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Winds Country Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester View(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmer House(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilburton Inn(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympia Lodge(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chalet Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The INN at Willow Pond(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
279
54
14
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
54
14
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacelibrary suitepanther suiteturn down servicecomplimentary wine and cheesejacuzzi tubpond viewshort ribsbreakfast was includedsmall hotelthe general managersitting areamain buildingfree upgradesuperior roomlarge bathroomcharming hotel
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This inn has a combination of two superb features.
The first is a truly outstanding restaurant and the second is large and well decorated rooms...each unique in a friendly way.
The staff and overall service were of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We prefer a smaller hotel when we can find one that offers service and comfort and the Reluctant Panther was all of that and more. I will write a separate review for the restaurant as they both deserve separate reviews. We checked into the Panther and were greeted by friendly staff who toured us around the property. Our room, the Mary Porter suite, was on the second floor. As you entered the suite the closet was immediately on the left, the bathroom was next, the bedroom and sitting area was on the right.
The bedroom contained a fabulously comfortable king size bed with wonderful linens and the ability to place the down comforter at the bottom of the bed with a light blanket to sleep under. We really dislike beds with down comforters only. It always feels too hot to sleep comfortably. We slept with the windows open and it was perfect.
The sitting area, adjacent to the sleeping area, contained a small desk, a flat screen TV in an armoire, a couch, and a large dresser. There was also a table with a Keurig coffee machine with Kcups, sweeteners and cream. We started the morning by lighting the fireplace and enjoying a cup of fresh hot coffee. The fireplaces are "match" ready, just strike a match and the kindling starts up the fire and you can sit and enjoy it. The fireplaces are cleaned and reset every day, and there is extra firewood in the room is you want to extend the fire.
The bathroom was also amazing. The Jacuzzi tube (and shower) for two was on the left directly across from the second fireplace in the suite, again, match ready. The sink area was well appointed and the amenities were excellent. The towels were soft, thick, and abundant with two robes to add to the comfort. Unbelievable!
The grounds around the inn are beautiful and well manicured. Location is excellent, about two block from the Equinox hotel, and so much cozier.
One other small touch that we enjoyed was, each night as we returned from our dinner there were two baked treats in our room and they were delicious, and the bed was turned down. Simple but wonderful touches that made the time we spent at the Reluctant Panther so very special.
We were not the only people staying at the inn that had a spectacular time, the couple checking out before us booked a long weekend for same time next year. Make your reservations early!

Room Tip: The size and type of rooms vary from a small room to suites, so make sure you know what you are reserving.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent place to stay where you can walk to Manchester center..Staff are outstanding and quite helpful and go out of there way to accommodate you..Rooms are excellent size and all we had to add was an in room refrigerator..Bar is cozy and bartender David a most hospitable young man..We had a large room [suite]with separate sitting area and 2 fireplaces and the foliage was in full bloom

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgesclams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When choosing to stay at the Reluctant Panther Inn, we picked the perfect place. The inn feels cozy and romantic, but everything is new and updated. Loved the linens on the MOST comfortable bed. We chose the Fallen Spruce Deluxe room, which was a large, quiet, corner room with a very large bathroom with a great jacuzzi tub for 2. We did enjoy the gas fireplace, though would have preferred wood burning. The young women at the front desk gave us very helpful recommendations for sightseeing, hiking and dining. Would highly recommend this inn, which is in an excellent location for enjoying Manchester, Vt.

Room Tip: Fallen Spruce is a large, quiet corner deluxe room with very large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub for 2, a gas fireplace and an extremely comfy bed.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We began our trip with a first time visit to Manchester and the Panther. Manchester is a quiet village, even during busy "leaf peeping" season. We were expecting crowds but were surprised at how quiet it was compared to our daily lives. Wonderful! The staff greeted us cheerfully and showed us to our second floor suite, which was on a corner overlooking the rear lawn with a view of Mt Equinox. The two fireplaces helped us to take the chill off the seasonable nights. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant included excellent food and service. Upon returning to our room after dinner we found a split of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries. This was so thoughtful but we wished we had had a heads up as we were too satiated to enjoy these gifts since we had ordered dessert. The quiet feel of this property is in contrast with the busy hotel that is the Equinox just up the street. We hope to return and enjoy the serenity of the Panther again.

Room Tip: Three Sisters would be my recommendation.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews