We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The story goes: my husband planned to propose to me here 28 years ago. We had to cancel the trip last minute so the proposal took place elsewhere but we have still felt a connection here. We just returned from a visit and we were delighted with everything - friendly staff, the wonderful room ( including a free upgrade) , the breakfast (outstanding! The restaurant is closed Sunday nights but breakfast was a good indication of great quality) and the nice location for walking. We even enjoyed the lovely grounds during the rain by sitting on the covered patio. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aterg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
239
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed at the hotel, booking at the last minute as were dissatisfied with our original hotel booking. We received the friendliest of welcomes and excellent service.Even when there was a slight problem with our room, it was dealt with efficiently, promptly and we were upgraded immediately. We would highly recommend and hope to revisit or try one of the other hotels in the group when we are back in the US.
Thank you so much Nicole and team....we had a fab time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff! They work hard to make every visit memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We, too, can't say enough wonderful things about this inn! When registering online, I asked for a quiet, romantic room as we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. They gave us a double upgrade to one of their nicest suites - Pondview! We had our own deck and quiet corner suite overlooking the gardens and Mt Equinox. The attention to detail in the rooms, dining room, lobby, etc. was outstanding! They even brought us chocolate covered strawberries w/a note from the staff wishing us a Happy Anniversary. This suite has 2 tvs, 2 fireplaces (one in the bathroom), robes, sitting area that is separated from the bedroom area by a large bookcase that goes across the entire room. They have coffee in the room (a requirement for us) and a full breakfast is included. and what a breakfast offering it is! Everything is fresh, local and lovely served by top notch waitstaff. Be aware, the chef likes to cook meat and pork quite rare, which seems to be the latest trend. But his dinner specials and menu were excellent! They had complimentary wine and cheese one night w/local cheeses and complimentary tea another. We checked out other rooms and suites and they all look warm and inviting and we can't wait to go back. We were looking for relaxation and that's what we got!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RITraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just arrived home from our stay at the Reluctant Panther. I have never rated a hotel, inn restaurant, or resort. My wife and I are semi-retired and we vacation often. So the fact that we are not home for an hour and are writing this review has to tell you something. The greeting was everything you would expect. Prompt friendly service, detailing the inn and it's amenities. The suite was spacious and well appointed, and spotless. The dining experience was fantastic as we knew it
Would be as we have had dinner there before. Cocktails and raw bar on the patio were delightful.
The full complimentary breakfast in the lovely main dining room was also outstanding.
Our stay at the Reluctant Panther marked our 43rd.wedding anniversary. The staff and there gracious hospitality made it a celebration we will always remember.
Thanks to all. Ann & Ron De Vitoy

Room Tip: It's all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We’re so pleased you celebrated your anniversary with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we love making special occasions memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Isle, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The ads and website calls this a luxury hotel and the room rates certainly are comparable to boutique hotels in many cities. But in fact this is an inn. It lacks the attention to detail and care in room amenities that characterize boutique, let alone luxury, hotels. And as an inn, it is not in the top ranks of those I’ve stayed and in Vermont, and certainly not those of comparable cost.

On the plus side, the breakfast was one of the best I’ve had at a Vermont inn.

But the problems abound, all minor but not in keeping with their advertised image. None of these ruin a trip but they are in contrast with the image they promote and the price point they have set.

--The shower is a small tub with a glass wall. Hard to get into, and impossible to adjust water temp without leaning through the water. It is far below the standard I would expect in a good inn or hotel.

--The room key fit poorly. I asked for a new key, same problem, and the old key was just hung with the rest with no note of the problem. When I mentioned this at checkout, there was a friendly shrug that the lock doesn’t work very well.

--The AC made a buzzing noise whenever it was running. And the first floor room is close to what is for small town Vermont a very busy intersection, so there was traffic noise, especially trucks shifting gears, in the room from about 8 am until about 11 pm.

--We called md-afternoon and asked for some bathroom supplies to be replenished at turn down. Turndown service arrived at 9:30pm unaware of our request.

Room Tip: Avoid The Florist and possibly others because of noise from the intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

3rd year in a row Ive had the pleasure of staying here. Each time has been a different room. this one was an upstairs room (I forgot the name) and was just lovely. Fantastic linens, great nights sleep, and a wood burning stove. They also have the best coffee in the mornings. Really, not enough great things to say about this place. Didnt get to eat here this year, so I missed out, but in years past the raw bar is fantastic and the cocktails are lovely. Service is always exceptional and I look forward to coming back next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived on a not-busy Sunday night and were immediately upgraded to a deluxe room which we loved (don't recall the name but it was "fallen tree of some kind") in the main lodge. Bathroom had double sinks, huge whirlpool tub, great products, fluffy towels and robes. The room was large, comfortable and pretty. Turn-down service came with delicious treats. Breakfast was excellent and served promptly. Staff was friendly and available.
My only teensy complaints are that the air conditioner had a tiny bit of a rattle and the temperature of the shower water was hard to manage (too hot, then too cool) but these were trivial in the context of the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereAreMyGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
323 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing