We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, loud, loud. More Motel than Historic Inn with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loud, loud, loud. More Motel than Historic Inn with charm”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I will say this for 9 out of 10 employees we encountered were warm, eager to help and competent. But that hardly compensates for the nearly constant noise we experienced all day long in our room. My daughter and I were lodged in a first floor room where there is a constant stream of children and adults who thought nothing of screaming to a family member right down the hallway, or stomping in the room above. There was a pre-recorded message from the GM or Ops Director reminding guests that it's an older structure, noises travel and to refrain from conversations in the hallways between 9 pm- 6 am. Clearly, most guests did not listen to it or heed it. We requested a "quieter room" and were moved next to the Main Street and a family with 4 teenagers squeezed into a room with a king bed and rollaways. I thought it was a cruel joke.

The pool was a nice amenity and set hours just for adult swim. But i could hardly believe there was actually garbage (small plastic drinking cups) at the bottom of the pool at 9 am! There were cubbies but no lockers in the family changing room. Lockers available in the spa locker rooms - only accessible to guests 16+
We made it work but I thought, "Gee how hard us it to install lockers in here?"

The Equinox markets itself as "luxury." The sink drain ran slow, the toilet wad not fully cleaned, the HVAC was loud, and the tv remote's batteries were dead. These may sound minor and to be fair, at a modestly priced hotel I would say fine, whatever. But to truly be a luxury chain like a Four Seasons or Ritz, these things have to be perfect. Even Kimpton Hotels - a lower/ non-luxury chain- is impeccable.
Fortunately for the Equinox, most of their people couldn't do enough to help. A couple if the concierges seemed to struggle concealing their disdain for answering questions - not just mine- I overheard it walking by the desk. On the other hand, requests to borrow a sled and crayons were met with smiles and enthusiasm. (Thank you, Astri and Richard!) A housekeeping supervisor Mike left extra chocolates at turn-down service when I mentioned the slow drain. The bartender gave my daughter extra cherries in her Shirley Temple... Sweet and kind gestures that meant a lot to me at the time.
Unfortunately, I will probably not stay at the Equinox on a trip to Manchester again. All the kind people in the world can't make up for a lousy three nights' sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTWMsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkONeillGM, Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for offering your review of our property. Your constructive feedback about your visit with us is significant as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. I am so glad to hear that you found our staff to be warm and accommodating. We are quite fortunate to have great staff on property that focus on creating a warm and friendly environment for our guests.

I am truly sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced with the noise during your stay. We try to have a balance between creating a relaxing atmosphere for our guests while also being a family friendly resort that welcomes families of all sizes. This seems to be an occasion where we were not able to do that effectively for you and I am very sorry. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your experience further and so that we may restore your faith in The Equinox Golf Resort and Spa.
Stephanee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    363
    160
    106
    55
See reviews for
356
608
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for a long weekend in early February and had a wonderful relaxing time. Classic New England charm. The room had a great view of the mountain. Fireplaces blazing during the day and evening. Great to hang out with a cocktail or a book. The outdoor firepit was lovely, only disappointed it closed Saturday night. We were only a short walk across the courtyard to the heated pool and hot tub--fun for a snowy day. I was fortunate enough to get a spa treatment--Theraputic Massage--it was one of the best I've ever had. Near to great outlet shopping. Bonus is that the hotel offers car service to area restaurants--we could have a bottle of wine with dinner and worry about getting lost on the dark roads on the way home. My only complaint is that the neighbors were early risers (skiiers) and kept letting their door slam as they made a dozen or more trips in and out of the room. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and if you plan to swim, one with an exit near the pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our first trip with our 1 year old....couldn't have gone better. We had a great stay at the Equinox. First of all, Manchester is a beautiful area of Vermont. Easily top 3 places to visit in the state. The resort is beautiful. Classic, understated elegance. Very comfortable luxury. We stayed utilizing some level of Starwood status (I say "some level" because we have much higher status with Marriott and relatively low with Starwood). We booked a room in the Charles Orvis Inn utilizing points + $$$; it was a great deal. When we checked in they upgraded us to a multi-level suite in the main building (room 301). It was 1.5 bath, w a dining room, wet bar, etc. Great room. Super comfy bed (I assume they all are here). Great view of the back portion of the property. A little hard to manage the baby in that much space but that's hardly a complaint (for any relatively new parents, I recommend bringing outlet plugs on vacation). Just a great room though. We had apps and kids menu, plus room service first night (all terrific), and then dinner in the Marsh Tavern night two (outstanding). Also breakfast in the Colonnade both mornings (buffet was tremendous), and a nightcap in the Falcon Bar along with gourmet chocolates. All the food was better than we'd even expected. Special thanks to Sharon in the Colonnade and Steve in the Marsh Tavern. They took great care of us, remembered our names and our baby when we returned (gave him a little toy, etc). While ALL of the staff was great, they stood out just a little extra (and our thanks for adding to our visit). We utilized the pool a great deal; beautiful space and so relaxing. Never over-crowded even though by Saturday afternoon the resort was pretty busy. Just a spectacular stay. Also, my wife had a massage in the spa; said it was the best she's ever had. Here are my MINOR quibbles: the mini-fridge in our room was extraordinarily loud. Plus, it was balanced on cut pieces of sheet rock. That's just weird. We unplugged it so we could watch TV(it was shockingly loud) and at a resort this nice, I just don't see EVER having an appliance balanced on blocks of wood etc. Second, overall the furniture in the room was quite nice, but the couch had a rip in it and it wasn't very comfortable. I'd swap it out for something comfy. Third, and this is the most minor of minor and it's just suggestion. In the Falcon Bar, one of the cocktails is the "Bud Sazerac". It's Canadian Whisky, Maple, Orange Bitters, and an Orange slice. My MINOR question is...why? Make it a Vermont cocktail. Whistle Pig Rye Whisky, slice of orange, Vermont maple syrup, and to get a little interesting, chocolate bitters...it would just make more sense to me. Obviously when that's the type of "complaint" you know you had a great stay. It was so good we almost booked our next trip before leaving. As it stands, we'll probably have a return trip late spring, and it will be booked soon. Can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk15057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a fantastic stay once again over Christmas break with our family and friends at the Equinox. We are always impressed with the superb service of this hotel. Upon arrival on a cold December night, we are immediately greeted and helped to our connecting rooms in the Main Building. The rooms are alway very clean, large and comfortable. In addition to the easy access to both Bromley and Stratton Mountain for skiing, we always enjoying coming back to the hotel for great food in Marsh Tavern or the Chop House, a relaxing massage in the spa or a swim the indoor pool/outdoor jacuzzi. Summers are fantastic as well!!!! We go back year after year. Richard at the concierge desk is so helpful with all of our reservations around town. We highly recommend the Equinox any time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent a couple of days with my husband and children. We stayed in the Charles Orvis Inn, which was lovely. We had a beautiful suite with a full kitchen. jacuzzi tub. Comfy bed, nice bedding. Clean and wonderful. The staff was incredibly accommodating. Whatever i asked for was delivered, rapidly. The pool area was a 3 minute walk outdoors - which I was concerned about, turned out to be just fine. The pool area is HUGE. the pool is at least 75 ft long, well maintained including handicap accessibility. Hot tub is just out the door near the pool area. My kids loved being in the hot tub surrounded by snow and ice. I didn't have a chance to utilize the spa services, but other guests raved about their services. The gym was great as were the sauna and steam rooms. All in all, wonderful family getaway. Definitely planning to do that again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our 2nd year going to the Equinox Resort for our kids school weekend school trip We arrived for Saturday night and departed on Tuesday. They offered us a small discount for the travel industry employee. We had a little Super Bowl gathering on Sunday night in a private back room. There was about 40 people total in the room. They did not seem to have enough help to handle the party's needs . Our table had 10 people seated and only 7 meals came out in a timely fashion . For the level of service they charge for, the level of service in the dinning room should be better.The wait staff had trouble remembering who had ordered what drinks.There is room for improvement at the property in the dinning area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkONeillGM, Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for offering your feedback about your most recent stay here at the Equinox. Your constructive feedback about your visit with us is significant as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention.

I am sorry to hear about the challenges that you experienced with our service during the Super Bowl gathering. This was certainly not the experience that we hope for our guests to have. I would like to hear more about this. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that we may discuss the challenges that you experienced and see if there is anything that we can do to restore your faith in The equinox Golf Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After reading all the reviews about the resort, I was a little hesitant about our stay and had really low expectations. My husband purchased a Groupon as part as a Christmas give for a Queen Room in the Townhouses, but once we arrived we were upgraded to a room in the Main Building. It was a great. The room was spacious and was all we really needed for our 2 night snowboarding getaway. My only complaint about the room was there was no mini-fridge. I had brought some dairy-free milk for the weekend and I had to keep it in a small ice bucket in every attempt to keep it cold.

Our first night there we ate at The Marsh Tavern. It was okay, it wasn't horrible either. They had a great selection of Craft Beers in bottles and on tap, which my husband thoroughly enjoyed.

The next night we took advantage of the shuttle service the hotel offered and they drove us to a local restaurant/tavern to have some dinner and some drinks. It was nice to know we could have a few cocktails and not have to worry about navigating our way back to the hotel!

Check out was simple and easy. They even offered us a box of fresh sugared donuts for our ride home.

One other small complaint is the building is a little loud, but I think its because its an order building. Creeky stairs, floors, and somewhat thin walls. I don't think it took away from our experience though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaangelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing