We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Family Retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Annual Family Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

As I have reviewed this wonderful resort in the past and always given the highest rating of 5 Stars, this year I am giving only 4 Stars. Don't get me wrong it is still a GREAT resort and ranks as one of our favorites. However, this particular trip caused disappointment due to the fact that there was no musical entertainment on the property at all. This was extremely surprising to us since we were there this past weekend in the midst of ski season! We have visited this resort for years and have always enjoyed the wonderful musicians in the Falcon Bar on property. When we went to the bar after dinner for some dancing and celebration (our son had just proposed to his girlfriend prior to dinner) we were shocked to find no entertainment. When my husband brought this to the attention of management on duty we were told that they only have music offered for holiday weeks during the winter ski season. Apparently our trip this year was a week or two later than usual. We had booked 5 rooms for the entire family & we were all disappointed. Management kindly offered to transport us to another venue a few miles away that had music, but we declined. One of the reasons we continue to return year after year is due to the fact that we never had to leave the resort for anything other than skiing!
That disappointment aside, everything else was perfect as usual. As I stated this resort has everything you could possibly need. Dining for lunch and dinner in the Marsh Tavern is superb! The menu offers an excellent range of choices and all 13 of us raved over our meals (by the way, they were all presented at the same time!) Breakfast each morning is offered in a very elegant dining room with huge windows with very nice views of the property. An added touch is they have a little stuffed animal for each child, a small touch that goes a long way!
We reserved 4 deluxe rooms along with 1 suite. The suite was Rm 301 and it was extremely spacious for our daughter, son-in-law and 16 month old twins. All 5 rooms and common areas were extremely clean.
The staff is excellent! From housekeeping to bellmen to front desk, dining staff, spa staff, etc, everyone we encountered was friendly and professional. Special thanks to Samantha in Reservations & Pat in the breakfast room and so many others whose names escape me.
I highly recommend the Equinox as it truly is a one of a kind resort that appeals to all ages. Remember, if you are looking to relax and listen to live entertainment in the evening be sure to ask ahead of time!

Room Tip: If traveling with young children, a suite is well worth the extra money. This resort is also dog fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Star010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    351
    152
    99
    54
See reviews for
344
591
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you're a renaissance man and interested in taking a step back in time then Manchester, VT is your destination. We stayed at the Equinox Resort...a resort that had not only plush amenities but a staff that was a complete joy from the second we handed over our car keys to the valet, to the front desk, bell man, room service, spa attendants, and concierge. I'm a platinum member with starwood and was upgraded to a suite in the Orvis Inn...the room was huge....living room, dining room, full kitchen, and very large master bedroom....I will say the bathroom was small and unappealing but who goes on vacation to stay in the bathroom? I highly recommend this hotel however I do not beleive it is worth over $300 a night even in peak season. There are a number of great activities offered at the hotel and around the hotel both winter and summer...we will be going back!

Room Tip: Shoot for the Orvis Inn Suite if you can...it sleeps 4 and you have a full kitchen and dining area i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxhtrxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitsfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Using our Starwoord points, we enjoyed an overnight stay at the Equinox. Everything was just wonderful, from the moment of arrival and being greeted immediately by the bell staff to finishing our stay with a great breakfast! The service is excellent. All are friendly and genuine. Our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Dinner at The Marsh Tavern was delicious! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at the lovely Equinox in February, 2014. They treat you like royalty from the moment you pull up to the driveway of the hotel. Staff is very friendly and accomadating throughout the resort. It is a beautiful place and well kept. Free valet parking with all our bags and given the cold winter was wonderful. Also shuttle service to nearby restaurant was great. Just call in advance on a busy weekend. Concierge was very helpful as well. Fitness/Pool/Spa is wonderful with all the amenities including robes and slippers to use to walk back to hotel room. It feels like a wonderful retreat and it is hard to leave.

Room Tip: mountain view is nice and I heard some rooms have gas fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've stayed at the Equinox many times.
From the Orvis Lodge to the more run of the mill accommodations. Every experience has been good, with Orvis being the best. Food is quite good, and the spa pool was delightful in the winter.
The area lends itself to walks and other outdoor fun.
It's a good place to stay when shopping in town, and a good base of operations for the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here twice in the summer of 2013, and had a great time both times. Our room was large and well furnished; it's nice to be able to watch television from bed, but it's also nice to not have to watch television from bed.

Drinks in the bar downstairs were great! There was a bluegrass band that inspired more than one sing along among the patrons one night, and when the band left, we moved out to the fire pit, which is arranged in such a way that every gets a good spot near the heat.

One little thing was that we were in a corner room on a high trafficked hallway, and sounds seemed to be amplified. It's largely a function of the age of the building, and the hotel provides a white sound machine does help, but if this sort of thing bothers you, request a quieter room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPhoebeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great Starwood Hotel! Amazing staff. The service is excellent and facilities are amazing, especially the pool and the hot tub after a heavy skiing day in Stratton. The free shuttle to the slopes is great. Joshua - the driver - does a great job in helping with the skiis and pick up. Peter Engard - the manager of the hotel is on top of it, always helpful. Highly recommend the apple doughnuts made by the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccoserea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing