We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway (and we could bring our dog!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We love finding a luxury inn/small hotel within driving distance of home - and what a bonus that we could bring our best 4-legged buddy. This is no easy task - We have been to the Equinox on 4 previous occasions over the years, with and without children, but this visit (first time with a pet) was our best yet. From the moment we pulled up, we were all warmly greeted (with a surplus of staff manning the arrival area). Even at check-in (with the little guy trying to jump up on the desk and see what was happening), the staff were so welcoming. We had a fabulous, large room with several windows overlooking the lush lawns and flowers - and mountains in the background. While we were not allowed to eat with the pooch at the Equinox restaurants - right at check-in , we were provided with a list of dog friendly restaurants in Manchester. We had 2 wonderful dinners at an outdoor terrace of a local place, with our guy sitting right at our feet. Manchester is a an extraordinarily dog-friendly place, even the stores welcome your pet. I love that the Equinox puts out a lovely coffee setup in the morning. During the afternoon (prior to food service) we were able to enjoy a glass of wine on the outdoor terrace. There are amazing walking trails behind the hotel and the concierge was incredibly helpful helping me plan our route to a delightful pond. Manchester has the best of everything - the warm and inviting Equinox (great oversized towels and toiletries in the rooms too), gorgeous scenery, great dining and shopping too of course. It's an ideal getaway - with and without dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Webster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place is a great experience and the service levels and facilities are top class. We had a problem with two rooms they put is in but these were quickly resolved. There is little competition in the area though so it is expensive compared to other establishments of a similar standard. The location is excellent for restaurants and site seeing or even skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked an evening here thinking that this would be luxury to the MAX. With a steep price tag and boasting newly renovated, modern rooms called the Townhomes, I thought that I had scored Vermont perfection. Unfortunately, this was not the case. The front desk was not hospitable and the room was less than divine. You could hear the noise upstairs, the shower was clogged and it was in no way gorgeously renovated as led on. We asked the concierge about places to eat, etc. He basically told us more about the on-site restaurants than anywhere else. With that being said, we explored the town and REALLY enjoyed our bartender on-site. He was friendly and fun. We sat at the firepit and enjoyed as well as sat and soaked up the view with coffee in the morning.

We made the best of it and had a nice experience for what it was, but the $33 resort fee kinda kicked me the butt after the fact. If you want an experience, I would recommend other towns in Vermont.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkONeillGM, Front Office Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

”I am so glad that you had the opportunity to visit our resort during your most recent visit to Vermont! The townhouses were renovated two years ago with a newer, contemporary design that we truly hope our guests can connect to. I am so sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. I am, however, delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our lovely outdoor spaces and your explorations around town. Please visit again soon so that you can see all of the exciting things that The Equinox and Manchester have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Equinox is an absolute knock out from the outside. Settle among the mountains with a stunning view, the historic property really shines. The grounds are immaculate and having an evening drink on the patio near the hotel's fire pit was incredibly lovely. One of the waitresses gave my friend an incredibly hard time when she order an espresso, complaining that the espresso machine was really far away from the bar and generally acted like we were inconveniencing her terribly, but most of the staff is very very accommodating and friendly. The problem is that the Equinox is fantastically expensive for the level of service it offers. The room we stayed in was lovely and quite spacious but not superb -- some of the furniture is old and worn and the bathroom looks right out of any decent mid-level hotel. I was particularly disappointed by the somewhat sad, cramped shower. The breakfast is a nice spread but in the uncomfortably formal dinning room of one of the hotel's restaurants. We would have liked a more casual option. The spa at the hotel is lovely but the indoor pool is a little claustrophobic and the outdoor hot tube an oddly positioned after thought. I guess I expected the Equinox to be perfect because of its price point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Greeted with a warm welcome and smile from the moment we arrived. Checking in was a pleasure. We arrived early we didn't expect our room to be ready but it was. The Bellmen were always courteous and always eager to help with directions or whatever we needed. Equinox has a free shuttle that will take you to dinner, shopping or to the beautiful pond. Our room was lovely the linens were superior as was the bed. Soaps and washes in bathroom were fabulous ingredients were natural fragrance was delightful. We had lunch at the Pub ....the bread and dipping tray was delicious. Lunch served outside was delicious. I can't say enough about this historical hotel if you have a chance to visit the Equinox you will not be disappointed. We are hoping to return for Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the court yard ....it's beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Equinox is a beautiful hotel. It is a historic building so has lots of history. Yes, there are some imperfections like the floors being uneven and such, indicative of an old building, but it adds character. We found the maintenance and such to be attended to and everything looked like it was in great shape for the age of the building. There were even people cleaning the walls in the hallways. The only complain maintenance wise, were the air conditioning units in the top floor. We had to call maintenance several times and eventually, they had to bring up a portable AC unit vented out the window because they were having difficulties with many of the AC units in several rooms on our floor. The AC units really need to be upgraded. The decor in the rooms was nice. The beds were comfortable. Good size bathrooms! The elevator is very slow and needs to be replaced. The pool is inside and it was very challenging to even be in the indoor pool area...while it is very pretty aesthetically, it is not well ventilated and felt like we were sitting in the hot humid Amazon in the middle of the hotest month. If there were any reasons why I would not return to this resort, it would be because of the pool. We have young children and without a proper pool facility, it is a pretty much not an option for us.

The staff were really nice. They even overnight shipped something to us that we had left in the room upon check-out that was important. The only odd thing was that when we arrived for check in, no one greeted us outside to park the car or help with the luggage. While it was very late, I would have expected there to be at least someone keeping an eye out. Even when we checked in, she had to call someone over to assist us and they looked like a manager or something... it didn't look like there were any bellman or valet staff even working when we checked in. Then, we tipped him $20 to bring up the bags and asked for change ($10 back). He didn't have any so we asked him to get change at the front and just leave the change at the front desk for us to get the next morning. The next morning, there was not the $10 change left for us as we had asked. Not a huge deal, but we thought it to be very odd because after all, it was very bizarre service and it's not like they were ready to welcome and help us out after our long drive out to Manchester. The hotel made it up and gave us the $10 on his behalf, so that was a plus there. During the daytime, there were plenty of bellman and valet and they were all SUPER friendly, good with the kids and made an awesome team. On the day of our departure, they gave us fresh made donuts that were quite yummy! An A+ goes to the Valet and bellman staff... they made the best impression on us while there.
Another plus, was that the front desk very helpfully changed our room. We were originally assigned to a room with NO windows. It felt like staying in someone's converted Attic. The next morning, we called the front desk and they gladly moved us to a beautiful room with windows.
The main dining room is gorgeous and the brunch was great!
All in all, it was a decent place to stay. With some small improvements, we would consider returning...but I would have to know first before doing so, that the AC units were replaced and the pool house better ventilated before returning.

Room Tip: Be sure to insure you get a room with windows and a working AC.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AquaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkONeillGM, General Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Good evening. I am so sorry to hear about the issues with the air conditioning units and pool. I am pleased that our staff made the attempt to address the room temperature however I do understand that your perception of the resort was tarnished by the experience. Our ambassadors will do whatever they can to make your stay memorable and am thrilled that our valet and front desk staff was so accommodating. Thank you again for your comments, and please reach out to me directly next time your travel plans bring you back to Manchester Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Service is great and the grounds are beautiful. We just can't figure out what this hotel is looking to accomplish. It certainly does not feel like Vermont but more in line with a Manhattan wannabe. The hotel caters to groups and families which is fine but don't bother to go if you are looking for a quiet romantic vacation. And don't bother with lunch and dinner - breakfast is just fine yet expensive just like everything else. I yearn for the days when it really was a low key sophisticated resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweeneyBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkONeillGM, General Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write. I am so sorry to hear about your experience and displeasure with the interior design of the Resort. Many of our guests have an affinity for the Geoffrey Bradfield design from our renovation a few years ago, however I understand that your personal taste may prefer the older décor of the Vermont Inn. I am thrilled that you found the service to be wonderful and the grounds to be beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £193 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing