We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranks up there with the Strand!”

Northshire Bookstore
Ranked #1 of 18 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northshire Bookstore is a family-owned, independent bookstore. We are one of the largest bookstores in New England. Northshire Bookstore was voted Best Bookstore in the country by Publishers Weekly magazine and Best of New England by Yankee magazine. Come see why so many people rave about this full-service, old world but up-to-date store. Many gifts as well as books and a whole floor devoted to Children!
Killington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ranks up there with the Strand!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wonderful old building, creaky wooden floors, lots of reviews and staff recommendations. If you love browsing through books, you will love this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 231christineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    15
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Gem of a Bookstore”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited here recently while vacationing in the area..... I'd been several times before. I love this place because of all the nooks and crannies in this building. The staff are friendly and helpful and they have clean public rest rooms. I bought greeting cards, per usual, but it was fun to peruse the book titles as well, especially in the eastern philosophy/zen section. Northshire also offers a nice café and good selection of gifts and such.

I will go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bookstore in the univers”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely, well organised and classical music in the background is a paradise on earth. There's toys, gifts, bargains books, used children books and a coffee shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best bookstores EVER!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

If you are someone who loves bookstores, and could spend hours browsing the stacks, this store is for you. On a cold winter night, my wife and I stopped in just to check it out and spent almost 3 hours here! The selection is vast, but my favorite part is that the store has staff recommendations and reviews spread around the store. (You don't really find that type of personalization or character at the big chain stores). The store is multi-level with different sections almost broken up like little rooms. There is even a cafe attached to the store if you wanted to grab coffee or a quick bite. (Food is pretty good too). A must see if you are driving through Manchester or spending a few days there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Got lost for hours in here!! A MUST SEE”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Love the local bookstore - found cute crafts for my kids - great books - fair prices. Bookstore is large, well spaced/laid out, staff helpful. Love this gem!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeGirl3_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northshire Bookstore also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Northshire Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing