We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Inn For Those Who Appreciate A Special Experience”
Review of Wilburton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilburton Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This Inn is wonderful. Anyone who doesn't appreciate the old world character of such an experience should just stay at a sterile new motel. There is always something that one can find to critize, but the location, setting and architecture are fabulous. The owners are wonderful people who should be commended for maintaining the place as a truly unique experience. Give this place a chance if you can appreicate something really special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilburtonInn, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for writing in. You are exactly right and as our Wilburton Inn theme song goes -
"We didn't buy it
to run it like a Hyatt!"
The Wilburton Inn is truly a unique spot not only for the historic home and artistic sculptures, but for our father and mother who so genuinely enjoy hospitality.
Please come again! We look forward to seeing you.
The Levis family and Wilburton Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have been coming to the Wilburton for about 7 years now. Our first trip was so enjoyable that we decided to get married here. We rented out the entire Inn and surrounding villas for a long weekend. Friends and family still talk about our wedding and mostly about the Wilburton. Definitely created memories that will last a lifetime.
Each year, sometimes two or three times a year, we come back to say hello to the Levis family. They are a unique, authentic, caring, brilliant, dynamic Vermont family. We have developed such a wonderful bond over the years that we consider each other as extended family.
As for the Inn itself, it is not your typical hotel with boring rooms & sterile atmosphere. The history, the rooms, the grounds, Earth, Sky, Time Organic Farm's (the family farm) bread & hummus, Albert & Georgette's stories & art, the views, the people; and much more all combine to make this place magical. If you are ever in or around Manchester please do yourself a favor and stay here. It will change the way you think about where to stay when traveling.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillyfan215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilburtonInn, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your beautiful review. One of the greatest pleasures of inn keeping is developing long term relationships with our guests. Thank you for being so loyal and coming here to keep creating wonderful, life long memories.
We look forward to seeing you again!
The Levis family and Wilburton Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am visiting friends in the area, and feel so lucky to be staying in this unique and beautiful setting. The innkeepers are welcoming, the furnishings are carefully chosen, and the artwork is abundant and engaging. There is always something interesting to notice. I would so much rather stay here than in a cookie-cutter hotel with no surprises. Beautiful views, delicious food (especially the fresh artisan bread), comfortable rooms - everything I need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilburtonInn, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks so much for coming to visit. We're so glad you enjoyed our homemade bread and non cookie-cutter appeal. We have the best guests ever because they enjoy being a part of this very magical, special hilltop estate and colorful family.
Please come join us again!
The Levis family and Wilburton Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I found this hotel on trip advisor and took my brazilian friends to experience a couple of days in this beautiful elegant and magic place... The hotel looks amazing and has spectacular views and there is so much history as well. The service was Unbelievable... Perfect , Excellent breakfast, Gorgeous rooms, very clean . It was defenetly the best part of our vacation. I am looking forward to come back and bring friends and family over to enjoy this wonderful place. I totally recommend it. <3

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketlen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilburtonInn, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are so grateful to Trip Advisor for introducing you to our inn. Your stay was so brief - we loved being your Brazilian friend's first introduction to snow! -- but our friendship has continued. How I loved staying up by the fire with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My family and I just returned from a short 2 night stay over Thanksgiving. We are regulars to Manchester and just love it here, winter to ski, and summer also. We enjoyed this unique, quirky, relaxing property. We stayed (the 5 of us) in cottage 21 (i think it was the Innkeepers cottage) It had the most spectacular views! we had lovely clear weather which made it just more fantastic.The cottage was HUGE. 2 huge bedrooms and bathrooms, a piano in the porch room and a wood burning fire place that i was constantly using! We loved the privacy & quiet of the cottage. I think the management was disappointed we didn't participate in the group sing along, but we just wanted to chill out in our cozy accommodations. The breakfast was really a highlight! The bread from the owners son's bakery was fabulous that they were nice enough to give us some to take home! We enjoyed talking with the "retired" cook. He was so nice and personable. Personally, i wasn't interested in the sculpture museum or psychiatric theories. Just not my thing. In closing~ I encourage anyone looking for a unique experience to come try the Wilburton. It's a place full of history, beauty and such a nice change from boring, cookie cutter lodging experiences.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceykrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilburtonInn, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed our "Innkeeper's Cottage!" The views are so gorgeous. I'm glad you took advantage of the wood burning fireplace to really capture the coziness of a Vermont vacation. No guilt about passing on our sing-along! That's the beauty of vacation -- you do only what you want to do!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Manchester!
The Levis family and Wilburton Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The service here is great, and it's actually the laid back Vermont hospitality that impressed me most. If you're looking for 6 annoying bellmen to swarm you like in a 500 room hotel, go somewhere else. But if you're looking for a family run Inn, with caring, interesting people and the quiet, understated elegance so often forgotten these days, look no further. We loved our spacious room, we loved that the cooks came out to say hello each morning and regale us with Vermont history and folklore. You can tell that these folks have put a lot of time into this place, from the incredible art to the careful tablesettings, to the way they smile when you come and go. The Wilburton is unique...don't miss it.

Room Tip: The bridal/honeymoon room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theUSJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilburtonInn, Owner at Wilburton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Wilburton and appreciated our family Vermont hospitality. We pride ourselves on being a family inn - as we say in our theme song - We Didn't Buy It To Run It Like a Hyatt!
http://bit.ly/WilburtonInnThemeSong
Please come back and relax with us again!
The Levis Family and Wilburton Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My family had a wonderful time - including my 5 year old daughter who loved the antique elements. The inn has beautiful grounds, in such a picturesque spot, with so many wonderful activities in the surroundings including the family's organic farm. speaking of, the breakfast ( and especially the baked goods from the organic farm/bakery) are amazing!!! If you are looking for something off the beaten path, not the modern sterile spots of today but a true bed and breakfast with charm and history, this is your spot.

Room Tip: splurge on the bridal suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awishandaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
656 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilburton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilburton Inn

Address: 257 Wilburton Dr, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £133 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilburton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilburton Inn is a majestic hilltop estate with a historic inn, vacation homes and breathtaking views The grounds include an outdoor pool, tennis court and sculpture gardens. The Wilburton Inn has been owned and run by the Levis family for 30 years. We serve a full country breakfast every morning with Vermont maple syrup and freshly baked breads from our organic farm. Join us for our farm to table dinners every Wednesday in summer and theme weekends throughout the year, including Murder Mystery Weekend in November and New Years Eve Dinner Dance. Pets are welcome in most rooms. From romantic guest rooms to extravagant private mansions, our lodging offers something for all travelers. The romantic hilltop offers tranquility with many nearby activities: Hildene, golf, hikes, bike rides, and Manchester Designer Outlets. Every guest room has a private bathroom, WiFi, A/C, cable TV. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Wilburton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilburton Hotel Manchester
Wilburton Inn Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing