We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds and interesting exhibit”

Southern Vermont Arts Center
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded more than 50 years ago by a group of local artists, the cultural center includes a beautiful Georgian mansion that showcases changing exhibits, the Arkell Pavillion, a performing arts center and the Elizabeth de C. Wilson Museum, which houses the center's permanent collection of more than 700 paintings.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice grounds and interesting exhibit”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

While the exhibits didn't really grab us, the grounds are very pretty and there are a lot of large outdoor sculptures which are very cool. I don't think I would make a special trip to see this, but if you are into art, definitely worth a stop if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    34
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine art and beautiful views.”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Southern Vermont Art Center is one of the two best tourists attractions in Manchester, Vermont. Not only is the art work outstanding with various offerings, it's located on a mountain top with beautiful views of the Green Mountains. With several historical buildings with art displays, the art center also has a sculpture garden, art classes and a music theater, making Southern Vermont Art Center a hub of activity in our community.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReneR208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlee, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, remarkable building, constantly new collection”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have visited here several times and always enjoy the place. One of the best American architects designed one of the buildings in the complex and its worth seeing on its own. Seems like they have a new collection of works of art to show every time we come. YOu won't be disappointed if you enjoy seeing local, fine artists. We have even bought a few paintings here we found irresistible. Nice break from the outlet shopping too...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SVAC is a beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Southern Vermont Art Center is a beautiful place to visit as it sits beneath the gorgeous Equinox Mountain. Go during the seasonal changes and when there is fog or mist and the sights from the windows will be as much fun as the art work.
As Jocelyn Grayson, the curator, corrected me, "It is not a Museum"...It is rather an extensive Art Center/ set of galleries with the purpose of art sales.
Their cafe is also an attraction with good food and wine. Their receptions are enjoyable and their volunteers very helpful.
If you are an artist then you can join and exhibit as a member artist (as I have done) which adds to the pleasures of visiting SVAC.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank ltomswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local Art!”
Reviewed 8 August 2006

The Arts Center has a wonderful campus on the base of Mount Equinox. The Musuem hosts a wonderful collection of local artists, and has shows throughout the summer. The Galleries in Yester House has art by local artists for sale. And the lunch at the Garden Cafe was fabulous!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank karivanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Vermont Arts Center also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Southern Vermont Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing