We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I wish I could take credit for finding this Inn but I owe that to my boyfriend. He chose this as romantic getaway for us for the night. We arrived on Saturday late afternoon and had a warm and welcome greeting from Yoshio who showed us around the Inn and to our room. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Our room had a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub complete with bath salts and candles! The bed was very comfortable and the room was very cozy and warm. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic. Dianne made a goat cheese quiche with a potato crust that was divine. Once we had all been served she came out of the kitchen and stopped to greet each table. Lovely people that make you feel as though you are a part of their family. I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to anyone and I cant wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hussy12Mansfield_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We are thrilled you found us. The best part of inn keeping is meeting wonderful people, like yourselves. We hope you do come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Ormsby Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

A wonderful experience awaits you at this gracious and elegant inn. A beautiful setting adds to the warmth and beauty of the guest rooms - each one decorated with attention to detail and comfort. We chose the Taft Suite which was large, had a wonderful bed, a jacuzzi, and a separate sitting room. The fireplace which faces the bed was spectacular in its ease to get a fire going. Wood was replenished daily, and the fire set up and ready to light. The gentle crackling of the wood was a perfect accompaniment to a sound sleep. The dining room is particularly pleasant; the breakfasts were made to order and delicious. Owners Yoshio and Diane do everything possible to make your stay with them a special event.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

It was so nice chatting with you every morning. You are a wonderful addition to our Ormsby Hill family. Thank you for your thoughtful, descriptive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our 2 night stay was fantastic. As you enter the inn owned by Diane and Yoshio, you are immediately struck by its beauty and grandeur. Warm and welcoming we loved our room, a corner room with king bed, a gas fireplace and bathroom with Jacuzzi and Shower. We were able to take a peak at some of the other rooms....all elegantly designed, spacious and pristine . This is just the beginning... Cookies, maple squares and assorted nuts are available for you all day long. However, after having Diane's wonderful breakfast I would defy you to have room for these extras! Juice, fresh fruit, one day fabulous poached eggs in a casserole, simple but delicious. The next day the main breakfast course was a pancake with fresh apple. Oh my, the home-made bread too. But perhaps what makes the Inn at Ormsby stand out so much is the kind and generous spirit of its owners. Many choices in Manchester, but for those of you who follow me, treat yourself to this beautiful inn.

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

We are blown away by your review. Thank you for taking time to write about us so eloquently. We are really looking forward to your next visit to Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The experience my husband and I had was nothing short of wonderful. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and that feeling of welcome stayed with us throughout our time there. We stayed in a beautiful room that had not only a fireplace, but a jacuzzi tub as well! What a treat it was to sit by the fire as the tub filled with warm water, slightly scented with lavender (bath salts, provided by Diane and Yoshio).

The breakfast served in the morning was FANTASTIC. Diane made food that looked beautiful, smelled divine and tasted fresh and savory. She introduced herself to everyone as we savored our meal, and I wish I could have stayed to chat with her for longer; Lovely breakfast, lovely woman.

All in all our trip was more than what we expected. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B for anyone looking to stay in a beautiful, clean room with all the amenities. We loved staying at the Inn at Ormsby Hill and we will be back for subsequent trips as often as possible!

Diane and Yoshio, thank you. It was perfect!

Erin and Dan Ross

Room Tip: The Gideon has its own private entrance, which we appreciated when coming back later in the evening.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write these wonderful words. It was our pleasure hosting you,and welcoming you into the Ormsby Hill family. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We picked the Inn at Ormsby Hill for a long getaway weekend (Veterans Day) through BedandBreakfast.com , figuring it would be the off season between the foliage and ski seasons. While many restaurants, and even Stratton Resort, were quiet for the weekend, or closed on Sunday, the Inn was fully booked when we arrived. Yoshio greeted us and got us well settled. The Anne Eliza room was great, with many amenities including see through fireplace between the jacuzzi tub and the bedroom, wifi, etc.
The inn was very well maintained and the owners' dedication showed. Breakfast is included, and while the daily menu was determined solely by the chef, they were very, very good. Chris (owner) came to meet guests during breakfast and chat. We would definitely recommend the inn to anyone and especially for romantic getaways in the Manchester, VT area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozziedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are so happy you found us through B&B.com. We really appreciate your thoughts. Thank you, especially, for mentioning Ormsby Hill as a romantic destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

During season, it would not have been possible, but since we were at the end of peak, we were able to snag a second night in the same room.
The Inn has such history with wings of the home boasting a different age. Huge massive fireplaces with roaring fires (in our room), spacious spaces with every modern amenity without sacrificing the pleasing historic charm.
Both Diane and Yoship were delightful hosts, accommodating various people with their dietary restrictions while still putting a delectable breakfast on the table.
We owned an inn further down 7A in the 90s and know what it takes. We will make an extra effort to be back. And such fun to be located in short driving distance of great day excursions, included fine shopping and dining,
A delight.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Libarary. Beautiful. And while just off the common area, never once felt too close...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

As fellow innkeepers, we are especially honored by your thoughts and words. We truly hope you come back to Vermont soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Ormsby Hill has become our favorite escape from the everyday world. The inn is delightful. As soon as you walk through the door you experience the cozy, warm surroundings - the quintessential "romantic haven". The breakfasts are scrumptious, made with loving care by Diane.
And oh, by the way, Diane and Yoshio are truly gracious, warm hosts.
My husband and I are already looking forward to our next visit to Ormsby Hill.
Susan Woisin

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for writing this wonderful review! The days at Ormsby Hill are a little less special because you are not here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
639 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
433 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £165 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing