We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Inn and tremendous breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate Inn and tremendous breakfasts”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The inn is immaculately maintained and with attention to every detail for your stay. The breakfasts were without a doubt the best we've had at any inn or B&B. The rooms have everything you would want and you won't find a sub par room in the entire property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you many times over - for choosing us for your getaway, for being such gracious guests, and for your kind words and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    22
    6
    10
    19
See reviews for
24
314
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This inn is a beautiful home away from home that is the perfect getaway to relax and unwind as a couple. I have already recommended it to friends and look forward to being there in the spring and summer to enjoy the beautiful views of the White Mountains and see the gardens in bloom. Breakfasts were great...delicious and plentiful without being too heavy. Diane and Yoshio were the perfect hosts. I highly recommend this inn!

Room Tip: Got to love the romance of a king bed with a canopy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for recommending Ormsby Hill to your friends, and also for writing a wonderful review. Please come back in warmer weather so you can experience the delights of our outdoor spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is our 2nd stay @ the Inn. Still as beautiful, as the 1st time, 2 yrs ago. New owners are very pleasant hosts! Breakfast was out of this world, glad we could go snow shoeing, to work some of it off!!
Very relaxing, rooms are exceptional, with the fireplace & whirlpool tubs!!! Close to the outlets, lots to do! A definite winter escape, highly recommend!! Can't wait to go back, next winter!!
Sandy & Mike,
Tolland, CT

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are very grateful you came back to Ormsby Hill. We hope it is the beginning of many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip,ny
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Inn at Ormsby Hill and enjoyed it very much. The Inn is beautifully decorated and immaculate. The owners, Yoshio and Diane, are welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast room was lovely and we were lucky to sit at a table centered in the large window overlooking the back garden. We were not only treated to delicious breakfasts, but we were also able to watch a variety of local birds at the feeders. We stayed in the Thomas Purdy room which had a very comfortable king sized bed and great pillows. Although the Inn dates to the 18th century with additions in the 19th century, every modern convenience is available to guests including flat screen TV and large Jacuzzi tub. The owners also thoughtfully provide a little bag of things that a guest might have forgotten (such as toothpaste, shaving cream and razor) in the room. The common rooms are also lovely and very cozy with fireplaces blazing. The grounds were covered in snow, so we are looking forward to a return visit in another season to enjoy the outdoor areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so happy your visit transcended weather woes. Thank you for the stellar review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed in the Frances Suite and we were so pleased with every aspect of our stay. Yoshio and Diane were warm and friendly hosts and we look forward to staying again in the spring, summer and fall. The fireplace, tub and steam shower made my husband so relaxed and happy that he can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
It was wonderful meeting you ( and sharing stories). We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I planned on spending a two night get away for our anniversary/valentines day , as usual my wife had a great idea, we should go up early due to the weather. We checked with Diane and Yoshio about room availability and they were able to accommodate us for the extra night . This is the second year we have spent our anniversary at Ormsby and it is Second To None . The rooms at Ormsby are all unique, warm, and romantic. Diane and Yoshio are fabulous inn keepers they make you feel right at home, Diane's breakfast are absolutely mouth watering and Yoshio is just the perfect host. After our conversations with Diane about her perennial gardens my wife and I have decided to go back this summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
What can I say except it is sheer pleasure sharing our inn (home) with you. Thank you! This summer we will talk gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed in the Tower Room for a Valentines weekend getaway with my husband. Had such an exceptional time, felt compelled to come right home and review! From the moment we arrived, I knew this would be a comfortable and memorable weekend. The inn is impeccable, clean, and with extra attention to detail. The ambience was romantic, with fires roaring in each room, including our own. Less than a 5 minute drive into Manchester Center for restaurants, shops, etc. Yoshio and Diane are amazing hosts, and obviously take great pride in what they do for their guests. The breakfasts were of gourmet status, and you can tell that great thought and planning goes into each plate. Eating against the backdrop of mountains and freshly fallen snow...couldn't have asked for more! We cannot wait to return to this special place again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefWB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Honestly, your review made me teary and I don't know why. We truly thank you for your words and thoughts, and for being such wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
614 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
422 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Property: The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing