We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet , Relaxing , and just great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet , Relaxing , and just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Palmer House , what can I say , we just had a great 4 day stay there, Palmer House was exceptional , we stayed in the jacuzzi suite , the view from our deck was great , the front desk employees were helpful and friendly , and they have a small breakfast area off of the check in area that is great for a lite breakfast to start the day.The suite is roomy , has a nice size living room and bedroom, kitchenette, nice size bathroom , jacuzzi ,and a make up area that my wife loved . it is really a beutiful suite and not expensive.We will be back . Also a 9 hole golf course and I dont mean mini , great indoor and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gleneration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    83
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
57
163
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My friend and I spent four days at the Palmer House in Manchester, Vermont, in the middle of June 2011. The motel is in a beautiful setting off Main Street. It has heated indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts, a nature walk and even a fish pond. A 9-hole golf course winds around the extensive property. The rooms, bathrooms and grounds are immaculate and comfortable. The hot water comes on in a second! A continental breakfast is available in a nice breakfast room. There is even a doll collection and a model train set in a room next to the office. The staff is extremely helpful, and we were amazed at how perfect the place was. The Palmer House is without a doubt the best motel we have ever been in. It is more expensive than the average ordinary motel, but we did receive a very reasonable rate in June.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kernershort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The Palmer House is the perfect place, the rooms are very large and tastefully decorated with attention to detail....there is an indoor and outdoor pool, a gym, tennis courts and a three par golf course around the property. This is the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed at. The indoor pool is huge and they have a change area with a shower and as an extra touch provide free water. The Olde Tavern restaurant on the property is excellent place to eat. All the staff was very pleasant and most accommodating. We will definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Manchester and will stay there whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Palmer House looks great from the road but was ever better when we drove in. 22 acres right in the center of Manchester Vt... A perfectly maintained property with a short 9 hole golf course, outdoor and indoor pools, picnic areas, trees and beautiful views. Our room was a very large room with king size bed - cleanest room that we've ever been in regardless of price. Very, very friendly staff. We've told others to stay here and will be back later this summer for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaorVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Lodging options in the Manchester area tend to be either very expensive or seemingly dingy motels. The Palmer House offers a middle option. Several room types are available (motel rooms and a small # of condo-like units). We stayed in one of the regular motel rooms. It was large, well maintained and clean. The furnishings are nice quality but very traditional looking (dark woods, paintings of fox hunting). The bathroom also was well maintained and clean. The location is just on the outskirts of Manchester (definitely walking distance, 5-7 minutes, to shops and restaurants in good weather, at least). The property is large allowing the rooms to be set well off the road. I would recommend the Palmer House as a basic, no frills but clean and well maintained place to stay for a reasonable value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DasMurmeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We've always driven past the Palmer House in our past travels to Vermont, and said "We should try that place." In September 2010, on our annual journey from the Big E Fair in Springfield to a day of fun in Southern Vermont, we gave it a try. The location is superb, and you can walk to just about anywhere in Manchester Center easily. The grounds were well manicured and expansive. The hospitality was top-notch, and we felt welcome (even though the doll collection just off the lobby was a bit frightening -- maybe too many horror movies). The room was acceptable -- nothing special -- a bit dated -- and the bathroom needed better cleaning. The pool, although a welcome addition, needed to be cleaned. It had a line of gunk around the rim that came off on your hands when you brushed up against it. Overall, this was a fine choice -- and the rate we were given was a bargain. Would I stay there again? While there really wasn't a reason not to go back, there also wasn't a compelling reason to go back. We're headed up that way over Martin Luther King Weekend and trying someplace different.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveInMilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Liverpool, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed at the Palmer House while my husband attended a 2 day Shooting school at Orvis. The location is wonderful. The outlets are nearby and there were some great resturants in town. The breakfast at the hotel needs more variety but was OK. We had fun with the challenging Par 3 course at the hotel. The staff are wonderful so if you are headed that way- check it out!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 15 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Property: Palmer House
Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a 1/2 mile from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center
Palmer House Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing