We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're Hooked on the Palmer House”
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 November 2003

My young son and I spent two days at the Palmer house in June -- we had such a great time that we went back for another two days in early November. We were not disappointed! During both visits, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly -- everything we asked for we got. Our rooms were huge, comfortable, clean and we enjoyed the grounds, the outdoor pool / jacuzzi (June), and the indoor pool and whirlpool / sauna (Nov) tremendously. As a family, we have vacationed in Manchester on and off for over 10 years and, considering the price and amenities, the Palmer House is far and away one of the best values in the area. We will be back!

1  Thank alwaysmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2003

Allthough the location is great, the Palmer House, a combination motel and resort with suites, was extremely expensive for what you got. The desk staff was poorly trained, the room, which we paid $175 in the off season, should have been priced at $90. It was motel room-like, with thin towels, very synthethic bedding, and low wattage lightbulbs. Also, it was not very clean and the walls were so thin between rooms, you could hear others showering next door. I would not recommend this place at all, although Manchester is a great place for an overnight stay if you like to shop, tour and dine!

8  Thank WendyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2002

My mother and I took a trip from Syracuse to Bennington and then up to Manchester, VT in Oct 2002. Please don't miss 2 great stores on the way "Basketville" & "The Jelly Mill".

The Palmer House looks a little older in the front, but it has the most AMAZING suites I have ever seen (in the back near the pond). You get a full kitchen, living room with fireplace, HUGE bathroom with big jacuzzi, and a large bedroom with a great king bed. VERY nice. I think they came to $129/night or less off-season.

The hotel has a cute practice golf green and right next to the suites is a very nice and clean indoor pool. It is brand new...about 5 feet deep the whole length and olympic sized! Huge! It's awesome to float on your back and look up at the recessed ceiling with hidden lights that is shaped exactly like the pool. For $2 you get a continental breakfast in the main sun room (bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, muffins, coffee, tea, orange juice and milk.

If you are lucky enough to get a suite, this hotel is definitely worth staying at. If not, the other rooms are quite nice too. Very big with a separate kitchenette/sink area/fridge and very nice upscale bathroom.

I WOULD definitely stay at the Palmer House again.

2  Thank klane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gattovagabondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan G, General Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: todos são bons. sempre os das pontas são ainda mais silenciosos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ricardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son todas en P.B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernando c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cualquier habitaciòn es muy buena dado que todas estàn en planta baja
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank drebnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 17 in Manchester
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 17 in Manchester
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 17 in Manchester
278 reviews
1 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £69 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a short walk from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout/Bass pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout/Bass pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center
Palmer House Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing