We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The room was great, clean, large and comfortable. and the grounds and amenities were spectacularDefinitely will return and recommend. We came in July and stayed an extra night because of the hotel and its location. It was relaxing. The staff were fantastic. And yes I caught a fish!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwestby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Awesome - you caught a fish! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts regarding your stay with us in July. I'm so happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the amenities and even stayed an extra night! We look forward to your return and yes, there are plenty of fish dreading your return...!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    85
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
59
169
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Palmer House a couple weekends ago. Check in was easy and the room was HUGE. Had a nice sofa and chair plus desk. Sink in the bathroom as well a one right outside the bathroom. Everything was very clean. We did use the outdoor pool which was clean and towels were provided. Great location to downtown and the wedding we were going to at the Equinox Hotel. Only issue was upon check out we found our debit card had been charged to "hold for incidentals" when we did provide a credit card upon check in for the sole reason of not having our bank hold this amount for several days. We travel often and are aware of the hold "issue" on debit cards. Not a huge deal BUT I would definitely make it a point to clarify which card you want used if you initially paid to reserve your room with a debit card. Nice amenities and location, we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labradors0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Palmer House. I am pleased to hear that the accommodations were to your liking as well as our location. Cleanliness is one of our key goals and I'm happy to read you found us to be so. On a less happy note, I am very sorry there were complictations at check-out over using your debit card versus your credit card on "holding for incidentals". As you said, not a huge deal due to your awareness of how debit cards work, but could be a potential problem for others and I thank you for the reminder of which I will pass on.
On a final note, it's good to know you plan on returning and we will look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely
Tina Fries
Assistant Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our group of friends, 3 couples and a single stayed at the Palmer House in Manchester for 1 night . We drove up early and our rooms were ready when we arrived around noon - slow season for the hotel (mud season - mid April!). We had four rooms - 2 suites with jacuzzi tubs and sitting areas and 2 king rooms. They were all wonderful rooms - very spacious and clean! The employees of the hotel were very helpful - recommended several places for lunch. We ate at Mulligan's - good food and a great waiter. A few of us went shopping, a couple of the guys hit balls around on the 9 hole golf course at the hotel, and another couple enjoyed the indoor pool. We had dinner that evening - again recommended by the staff- at Ye Olde Tavern which you can walk to from the hotel. Excellent dinner. Beds were comfortable and all had a great nights sleep, quiet place. The fireplaces and jacuzzi in the suites are very enjoyable. Bathrooms were roomy and clean. We did not stay for the complimentary continental breakfast but saw quite a few patrons there enjoying the spread. Check in and out was easy. We will definitely go back next year - this time for 2 nights as we really did not have enough time to enjoy the hotel and the available amenities or all the shopping available in Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janine826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review. It was thrilling to read about your experience with us and your kind comments all the way from front desk to houskeeping! I'm so glad that the restaurant choices were of your liking and that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities...even wanting to come back and enjoy more! You were so thorough with your review in all areas, I think we have an opening for you in our Marketing Department if interested...! Do come back, we will be delighted to see you again.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries
Assistant Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

great place, perfect location - super comfortable beds and pillows. playing tennis (they provided racquets) was nice. also have free putting greens. walk to everywhere. will definitely stay again. we didn't stay for the continental breakfast but it seemed good too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We know it takes effort to sit down and write words that benefit fellow travellers, but your positive comments go a long way in helping us as well and we sincerely appreciate it. In a few words you touched on many areas and I just wanted to say: well done! Please do come again.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, MA. USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Recently spend a couple nights at the Palmer House. The rates were reasonable, The grounds are lovely, the rooms very clean, and the service was very accommodating and.. staff was professional and friendly.The location was quiet yet shopping and dining and entertainment were 'just down the road'...so very convenient. Several ski areas were also just a short ride away.
I've stayed here a few times several years ago and liked it at that time. It has only improved in all areas....tho not much was needed , if anything. Can't wait to return to this lovely place.

Room Tip: All rooms were large and bright and clean. Handicap rooms also available. Heat and AC in all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful to hear that we have only improved since your last stay with us. All too often one may point out what is wrong and yet fail to mention what is right. So it is with great appreciation that I respond to your compliments and will happily pass them on to the owners and staff because it's this kind of feedback that spurs us on! We, too, can't wait for you to return to this place!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and I spent 2 comfortable nights here during a recent ski trip, we loved it. We've stayed at the Casablanca before as well and enjoyed our cabin (that place is rated #1 in the Manchester area), but I'd give Palmer House a slight edge due to the amenities, there's just more bang for your buck and the rooms were clean and quiet. There's an indoor pool and 2 person jacuzzi available (you sign up for 1/2 hour blocs to use the jacuzzi so you can have it all to yourself), Rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated, we had a small sofa / chair plus a desk with chair in our room, plus flat-screen tv and small refrigerator, all the essentials for a fine ski weekend. It's affordable and the owner is very friendly and helpful. It's an easy walk to Ye Olde Tavern Restaurant which abuts the property, as well as shops and other restaurants on Main Street. They also offer a continental breakfast for an addtional $2.50 for, we did not partake.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Hello and thank you for your delightful review of our property! It is so nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amenities...especially after a workout on the slopes, does that pool and hot tub feel oh-so-good! As far as the spaciousness of our rooms and all that they offer within, your reaction is just what we would hope for and your willingness to share these comments is extremely kind. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Great value, caring owners, close to town and ski resorts. Rooms could use some renovation, but its still a great value. The rooms are large and clean. The owners are there to help in any way they can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sperberlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Palmer House. It was particularly nice to hear, aside from the great value and good location, your thoughts on the sincere care that the owners show. Those things don't always shine through and you couldn't be more correct in your assessment! The owners work non-stop, through sleet and hail and rain and sun...they are there, keeping every bulb shining and every bolt bolted! That also applies to the cleanliness and the upkeep of each and every room. I'm glad you got to meet them and I will be sure to pass along your kind words.
Looking forward to your return,
Tina Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
586 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Property: Palmer House
Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a 1/2 mile from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center
Palmer House Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing