We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmer House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca Motel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester View(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Sled(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
206
97
25
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
97
25
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtshole golf coursecontinental breakfasttrout pondye olde tavernindoor pooltwo sinkswalking distancebeautiful groundscoffee cakeclose to townking suitebagelsliving roomfull kitchenroom was largehot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It's right in town with outlet shops and food in walking distance. Love the indoor heated pool with complimentary water. There is also a hot tub and gym. The rooms are huge and have everything you need. Staff very friendly. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Well the fact that you're definately coming back is all we ever want to hear. It's good you were able to enjoy the ammenities and that the staff was very friendly...I hope I was one of them! I also love the fact that you can walk to wine, dine and shop. So...have you made your next reservation yet??
Hope to see you soon,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here - once in a one bedroom suite with a gas fireplace. So nice to have after a day of skiing (we skied both Bromley and Stratton - only minutes away) and again in a 2 bedroom suite with a huge living area and full kitchen (except that there are no dishes, pots and pans, etc). Rooms were clean, with great looking furniture and beds were comfy! So nice to have a nice restaurant that you can walk to, too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room above the office - very quiet!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It's so nice to hear from our repeat guests and with such nice things to say! Thank you for taking the time to put in a review. I am happy to hear our location was to your advantage for both skiing and dining. A comfy and clean room is what we always want to ensure but the fact that you found the furniture great looking is a delight to our ears! Thank you again and please come back soon.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a nice little palce the room is quite large and the bed nice and hard and comfortable. Really all in all a nice place to stay without being very remarkable. It does manage to be secluded while being easy walking distance to town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jposterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your concise review of the Palmer House. It is notable that we can be right in town and yet feel very much out in the country amidst the 22 acres of well-manicured lawns and gardens. During the winter months it's easy to miss the 9-hole par-3 golf course, outdoor pool, tennis courts and stocked trout pond so we do hope you will return in the warmer months to come...at least we hope it is to come..!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our room was very nice and large with a king bed, sofa, wing back chair, desk and armoire with tv. It looked as if it had been redecorated and was very clean. We look forward to staying at the Palmer House on our trips to Manchester in the future. The winter rate was in effect so we really got our money's worth.
Dinner at the Ole Tavern was great too. We enjoyed it so much the first night that we went back the second night also.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hello and thank you for your fine descripton of our rooms. It's always nice to have a pleasant seating arrangement in a room other than the beds. And we couldn't agree more about our neighor's at the Ye Olde Tavern. It is consistently-fine dining and if you haven't had a chance to try it yet, their Early Bird Special (you must be in the building by 6 pm) is a wonderful way to sample a lovely meal from beginning to end...yet another way to get your money's worth!
We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in one of the suites the first weekend February. The suite was lovely. There was a comfy sitting area that had sliding doors out to the deck ( which was unfortunately covered with snow), a dining area that had a table with 4 chairs, and a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, and sink. The bedroom had a king size bed and was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spectacular. There were double sinks, and a shower stall separate from the jacuzzi tub. It had a "cottage feel", except for the fact that it was enormous! The one and only thing missing from the bathroom was a magnifying mirror ( which I depend on for applying makeup). Our suite had a view of the pond, but again, it was snow-covered, so we hope to return for a weekend in the spring so we can truly appreciate the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hello and thank you for your delightful review. As you described the coziness of the Suites, I felt like I was right alongside you... especially at the impact of joy at discovering the enormous & spectacular bathroom! (That is my favorite part!) I do regret the lack of magnifying mirrors which I agree would be a wonderful bonus. And you simply must come back to take in the views from the private deck overlooking that glorious pond....a wonderful place to drink in the sun and contemplate life.
We certainly look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews