We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Mountain Getaway”
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Arriving after a fairly long drive we were happy to find this resort to have lovely lawns and gardens, nicely appointed rooms and a very nice and helpful staff. It is well within walking distance of the shopping and many eateries of Manchester. You can play miniature golf or a small 3 par course. Better yet as it was not as warm as we expected we swam in a beautiful indoor pool and used the hot tub. There is a small gym adjoining the area and great smaller changing area with a perfect shower for after the swim or workout.
If the weather is warm there is a nice outdoor pool.
We got recommendations on possible activities including local theater and eateries.
We will book again when we are in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1superlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Hello and thank you for your very nice review. I found myself unwinding the more I read! We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and could partake of our relaxing amenities. We will be very happy to see you again.
Sincerely,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I think the best comment is to say we loved our stay and will be back. EVERYONE we met the five nights we stayed at Palmer House in August, 2014 were repeat visitors. They come back every year. That speaks to the quality of the service that the Palmer House provides. This is a very well run motel that reflects active staff attention to detail. The grounds are exceptionally beautiful with gorgeous flowers, the rooms are clean, the staff are well trained and friendly.

We had booked for two nights and ended up staying five nights we liked it so much. The heated outdoor pool was lovely and watching the stars in the jacuzzi at night was magical. We totally enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Wow! Thank you for that wonderful review. You made ME want to stay here! Booking for 2 nights and staying for 5...that is really great. Next time, make a reservation for 5 nights and stay for 10...you've got a lot of catching up to do with all the other repeat customers!
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I drove to Vermont for a weekend vacation and when we were less than a mile from the Palmer House our car broke down. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that we got the car to the correct auto repair shop for our needs. We were so lucky to have chosen Palmer House where the owner (Peter) knows so much about cars and better yet really cares about his guests. The staff really wanted to make sure that despite our car troubles we were relaxing and enjoying our stay. There is so much to do on the grounds of the resort and they make sure you have all the tools you need to fully enjoy the accommodations. It is a beautiful place and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for that kind review.
All I can say, is come back and come back soon!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for three nights at this motel. First credit to the staff. Our journey did not take as long as expected and as a consequence we were able to arrive a day early. A phone call at night to the motel to enquire whether this was possible was dealt with efficiently to the extent that the receptionist, Amy, we think stayed past the normal office closing time to welcome us.

The facilities include a nine hole golf course. We are golfers and did not find it particularly challenging but very well maintained and laid out. There are two pools, tennis courts and a fishing pond. All are free to guests. The wifi is suitable only for emails but the motel do warn you about this in advance, and you are on holiday in a fantastic location so relax and enjoy everything the area has to offer. Breakfast is restricted but at 2.50 dollars represents great value.

All the staff we encountered were great and gave us good advice for days out.

If in the area we would have no hesitation in recommending you stay there.

Room Tip: Ask to go away from the main road area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, hooray for Amy for not only staying to welcome you but making you feel welcome! I was delighted that you partook of all that was offered and your assessment of our amenities was accurate and fair. We will all look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff was friendly, Rooms were good size and very clean. I thought the price was quite high
for a motel. They did have a nine hole par three, if your into golf, also a pool which was a bit small. The grounds were well maintained.

Room Tip: I believe that all the room would have the same view and noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JERRY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking time for a review. I was sorry to hear you felt the price was on the high side. Although much of the layout is in motel format in that you can drive right up to your room, it is so much more than that. The size of the room along with outdoor seating overlooking the gardens and pool or the 9-hole golf course make it quite unique. We are also happy to offer all our amenities at no charge to our guests, which are quite extensive as you can see when you peruse our website.
Please do come back and see what you might have missed, including fishing in our own trout pond. The view back there is glorious!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Manchester each summer for many years and almost always stay at the Palmer House. We have tried the pond-view suites, the front house rooms, and the motel style rooms. All have been fine, but for the value we are partial to the motel-style rooms near the front of the property....they are over-sized with comfortable bedding, two plush armchairs, outdoor seating, and two sinks. Newly installed flat screen TV's are a plus as well. Some might consider the rates a bit pricey, but the resort has many amenities not featured at other hotels in the area, including indoor and outdoor pools, a jacuzzi, a croquet lawn, tennis, and 9 holes of par 3 golf. The staff is always friendly and helpful, and the on-site continental breakfast a good deal at just $2.50 per person. The location is terrific as well....just far enough from downtown to be quiet but close enough for you to walk. We also appreciate their policy of no kids under 12.

Room Tip: As mentioned the motel style rooms are a good value, but the pond-view suites are spacious and lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. It sounds like you must have stayed with the last guests who sent in a review...you liked all the same things! And what a great over-view of our property. I'm glad you like the layout of the rooms (two sinks always get a thumbs up!) and I agree, they are quite spacious. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I went to stay there for the weekend and wished we had stayed longer. The property was beautiful and the rooms were exceptional clean and up to date.
I especially liked the fact there were no children under 12 that are allowed to stay . I have grandchildren and love children but when I get away I want to relax by the pool and not have unsupervised children running around.
The only thing I did not like was the continental breakfast..it really wasn't a very good variety..but it was free so if you like a light breakfast it's fine.
I will definitely go back and the people that work there are wonderful to deal with
The proximity of downtown is especially a great feature..not even 5 minutes by car.
The hotel is pricey but you get horseshoes,indoor outdoor heated pool and a golf range,tennis court,a pond to fish in so yes it is pricey but well worth it!

Room Tip: We got the suite which was great because it had a beautiful kitchen in case you care to cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 456Donna1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time for such a lovely review. I was very happy to hear you could relax by the pool and use all the other amenities at your leisure. The one thing that threw me was your mentioning cooking in your Suite. While some do have refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and table, there really is no stove or oven. I only mention this so you won't be disappointed if next time you come with a turkey and all the trimmings to cook...and suddenly discover you're eating out after all! But hopefully this makes it all the more relaxing, Thank you for staying with us; we do hope you will come again.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
656 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#2 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £86 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a short walk from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout/Bass pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout/Bass pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center
Palmer House Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing