We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of disappointing”
Review of Gringo Jack's

Gringo Jack's
Ranked #17 of 60 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were there on a very busy fall weekend. . So we understand things were hectic, but we ended up waiting over an hour for our food. The burrito, enchilada, nachos, were all okay, though nothing special. The ribs were hugely disappointing... They were burnt and dry. The charo beans were generic, tasted canned.. The desert sampler plate also pretty average. They did give us a discount for the excessively long wait, but that didn't make up for having such a mediocre meal. That said, I probably would give them another try on a less busy weekend, but might stick to the simpler, standard mexican fare like tacos. The ambiance is nice and the margarita was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mvyvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GringoJacks, Manager at Gringo Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review - it helps us so much when we have tangibles to work on. We've addressed your concerns since that visit, and we hope you come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Gringo Jack's
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stopped by for a quick bite while out on a motorcycle ride - It was a sunny and warm Fall day - al fresco dining was perfect. Service quick, margarita delicious. Complimentary chips and salsa. Seafood enchiladas were very good. By BF enjoyed his meal as well. Was a little pricey - but guess it's because it's Manchester.

Rest rooms are upstairs which could be a challenge for the elderly or disabled. Inside the place is decorated funky chic - I loved it.

All in all we would go back - service, food and atmosphere was perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BellaGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GringoJacks, Manager at Gringo Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much, we're so glad you enjoyed your time here! One note: we do have a restroom downstairs for the disabled; we will work on our signage to make that more apparent. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The food here is excellent, our waitress Cleary was fantastic, but the other serving staff did not seem so well organised. A couple of customers left while we were there as they clearly got fed up with waiting to be served. It is worth going for the food, excellent Texmex, just be prepared to wait.

Thank Chocolate_Pudding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GringoJacks, Manager at Gringo Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review! So sorry you had to wait too long, that was a problem on certain days/nights but we've addressed it since then so please come back and try us again!

We're so happy you liked the food so much, and Cleary - we love Cleary :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've been to this restaurant 3-4 times in the last 2-3 years with parties of varying size (2-10) and while admittedly it's at the peak of the summer tourist season, they never seem to be adequately staffed. On more than one visit we've had to ask passing wait staff to locate our server, had to ask more than twice on the status of drinks and appetizers, etc. One particularly abysmal experience had us waiting for our first round of drinks for 25 minutes, and the server never asked if we wanted another round, which is missed revenue for the restaurant. It's rarely my first choice in Manchester now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SWFC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GringoJacks, Manager at Gringo Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - it's much appreciated, as it gives us a chance to work on any problems people experience. We've addressed the staffing levels since last autumn, so we encourage you to try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Good beer, good drinks, good food, good service - what more can I say. If you like Tex-Mex food you will like this place. Warm fresh-made flour tortilla chips and fresh salsa on the table. Very good meal. I wish it was closer I'd go there a lot more often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Flasharino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GringoJacks, Manager at Gringo Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Wow, thanks so much - we wish you were closer, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringo Jack's also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Gringo Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing