We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wings in town”
Review of Gringo Jack's

Gringo Jack's
Ranked #18 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best wings in town”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Tex-Mex restaurant has without a doubt the best chipolte wings. A tad on the spicy side. Also, they make their own chips and salsa. Believe it or not, they have great hamburgers as well. It is a great place, weather permitting, to sit outside and enjoy their unusual garden with three legendary banana plants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    168
    95
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blountsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Some menu items better than others”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my meal at Gringo Jacks. The environment was cool. The things I didn't enjoy was paying for every refill of coke (which seemed to be the case everywhere) and my husband did not enjoy his ribs. They were cooked to death and no favor. My Spanish dish was very good. The chips were good and so was the service.

Helpful?
Thank Cbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang out”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a great place to grab a drink and some finger food; we tried their wings, calamari, and chips and salsa. Oh my, their chips and salsa were so good, one of my friends bought some from the restaurant. We will definitely go back there next time we visit Manchester, VT.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank booboojang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible dining experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Our family/friends were on vacation spending the day at Stratton and wanted to have a good meal to celebrate one if our birthdays. Upon arrival, we were impressed with the atmosphere and seemed to be one of the early arrivals for dinner service. We had asked the hostess if it were possible to have dessert delivered at the end if the meal as a birthday surprise for one of our friends. Appetizers were delivered within a reasonable amount of time but the entrees took approximately 45 mins to come out. As we were eating our meals, the hostess approached us and stated that we had been there for too long and needed to leave!! I explained that the reason for our "extended stay" was a direct result of their delay in food service. I asked to speak to a manager but his involvement only made the situation worse since he reiterated what the hostess had said and asked us to forfeit our birthday dessert plans!! No words can truly express our frustration for having been treated so poorly. This restaurant receives two thumbs down for their inexcusable customer service.

Helpful?
8 Thank Garcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place to Eat!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We travel about an hour and a half to Manchester, Vermont from Saratoga, NY just to eat here. The Tex-Mex menu has so many choices from authentic Mexican to BBQ.
On arrival, the atmosphere is warm and inviting, and so unique, nuances of Mexico meets 200 year old homestead. Servers bring out handmade flour and corn tortillas and salsa, so delicious. Service is wonderful, staff is friendly and the food is to die for. Slow cooked beef, chicken and pork with outrageous flavors. I recommend anything with their tres chili sauce, I could drink it out of a glass it's so good. Prices are reasonable and an overall satisfying experience. Look forward to going again and again! Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GringoJacks, Manager at Gringo Jack's, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Oh, thank you so much for that wonderful review! We can't wait to see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringo Jack's also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Gringo Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing