We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time for breakfast. It was fabulous!”

Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Road
Description: Welcome to Nipper's Cafe and Steakhouse. Offering the best outdoor dining in Southern VT. We offer magnificient views of Mount Equinox. We strive to make every meal you dine with us a memorable experience. Nipper's has become popular amongst the locals and tourist for serving up outstanding fresh food at reasonable prices. We serve only Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and fresh seafood. Whenever possible we use all local produce or preferably the vegetables come from our own organic,hydroponic gardens and all of our sauces are handcrafted on the property. We invite you to join us for a delicious home-cooked meal either in the morning or evening hours. Nipper's is the perfect setting for any size gathering and we want to make sure that your dining experience is enjoyable so you will return. We have added a large flagstone patio and fire pit for lounging.Catering, private parties and to go orders are available. We offfer a casual dining experience at a reasonable price. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Dorset, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time for breakfast. It was fabulous!”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Karen and Adam are back in the restaurant business at Nipper's in the Stanford Motel, just north of town on Rt. 7 in Manchester. They are open for breakfast and dinner. I had breakfast this morning. The mushroom and cheese omlette was terrific. It was no surprise after their successful run as proprietors at the Flat Road Diner. I highly recommend givning them a try. I will be there for dinner soon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
We are so excited to be back in business. It has taken us a while to get here and its been way to long since we've served up breakfast but we are so happy to be doing it again. The positive response from the community has been really nice. We hope that every meal is a good one. Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review - it means alot to both of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    70
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A New Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

During our recent stay at the Stamford Motel we got to experience Nipper's Cafe via a 2-night breakfast-included combo deal. The deal included only "The Basic" menu item which sounded good, but the rest of the menu (including the specials) sounded so much better! One of us got "The Basic" on the first morning which turned out to be an extraordinary amount of food and very delicious. The rye toast was super thick and the eggs and bacon were cooked just right. We also got the Waffles topped with fresh bananas and strawberries (delicious), Huevos Rancheros topped with Vermont Cheddar (probably better than any huevos rancheros I've gotten in NYC for brunch and half the price), and the Cottage Cakes (Karen, this needs to be ON the menu. Also, I want that recipe!). While we had to pay for the other items (since they weren't included in the deal), it was well worth it. Plus the prices are VERY reasonable.

One thing we regret is that we didn't go here for dinner. Instead, we went to a few of our favorite top restaurants in the area which are good, but also very expensive. We felt bad not trying Nipper's Cafe for dinner but based on the breakfast, we have full confidence in the quality and value of dinner here. We made a vow to ourselves to absolutely try Nipper's for dinner next time we're in Manchester!

Finally, I don't want to tell the owners how to run their business, but I do have a few suggestions to consider if they aren't already in the works:

1. You really need a sign for Nipper's Cafe out by the street (or even a "Stamford Motel & Nipper's Cafe" all-in-one sign). It's impossible to see the current sign from the street if you're driving north, and if you're driving south it's too far away to notice.

2. I believe Nipper's Cafe should have it's own website - it deserves recognition!

3. Keep up the use of Vermont cheese and other local ingredients, it definitely adds to the charm.

4. Again, keep those cottage cakes on the menu - they tasted like cheese blintzes and a little bit like pancakes, but probably healthier than either.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eH9116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
We greatly appreciate your return business and i still can't believe that you guys were the only ones that took advantage of the promotion which was sent out to all of our guests this year. It was such a deal. We appreciate your feedback and you will be happy to know that on December 14th we go in front of the town board to get our own sign as well as Nipper's will have its own website. Look forward to your visit this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danby, VT
1 review
“friendly and relaxed setting, great food, views and gardens”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Very comfortable atmosphere, friendly and fast service.
Nice breakfast menu - good prices.
Food was great, large servings.
Will try for dinner next time

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
So happy you enjoyed your breakfast and that you will be back for dinner at some point. That says a ton. Thanks a ton for writing the review. I am looking forward to next summer when the gardens are in bloom - I am sure that will be a treat for our customers. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, VT
1 review
“Great food and service!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and friends totally enjoyed ourselves!! A surprising treasure nestled in Vermont!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
We appreciate your business and are very happy that you were able to find us. A tough spot without the road signage but we are working on it. Thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
“Wish there were a way to try more of the menu items at one meal.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I do have friends who always order the steak au poivre, but I always like to try something new! Both breakfast and dinner menus have have interesting new items along with the good old standbys like pancakes, eggs, burgers and salads. Opening night with the music of Duane Carleton and delicious salmon was so relaxing and enjoyable. Friendly service, great ambience, cooked to order fresh food! But, my toast was burned the first morning I was there, not since then though!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mykey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
You'll just have to keep coming back :) Thanks so much for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing