We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but excellent”

Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Road
Description: A casual dining experience offering exceptional meals at breakfast and dinner. All of our sauces, soups and dressings our handcrafted on our property. We serve prime cut steaks, fresh seafood, pork loin (one of the favorites after the steaks and seafood) at dinner, along with hamburgers, salads and panini's. Nipper's has become popular amongst the locals and tourist for serving up outstanding fresh food. Whenever possible we use all local produce or preferably the vegetables come from our own organic or hydroponic gardens. At breakfast we offer 11 different kinds of eggs benedicts and you are able to choose from 2 or 3 eggs. We offer a variety of griddle items (cinnamon french toast, pancakes and more) with mix or max options. Of course our corned beef hash is homemade. We have a variety of omelettes and you are able to have them prepared with egg whites if you like. We are located 1.5 miles North of town on route 7A - Go the extra mile, we do.
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We found this restaurant on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. Very glad we did. The food was excellent, the service was great, the price was reasonable and the owners are very friendly. The atmosphere is cozy and attractive. Also went the next day for breakfast. Again it didn't disappoint. Everything tasted so fresh and the apple smoked bacon was delicious. We went there again this weekend with a friend and had the same great experience. Nipper's has now become our favorite restaurant and we will go back every time we are in Vermont.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband. We are so happy that you guys have enjoyed our restaurant. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Wishing great things in 2014. Many many thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We passed by this quaint restaurant several times but decided to dine there after reading some excellent reviews in Trip Advisor. The outside appearance is very unpretentious and quite misleading, so we were pleasantly surprised by the cozy, charming ambience inside this small restaurant. The food was superb. I had some delectable pork chops prepared in a unique way. The service was excellent as well. We enjoyed it so much that we returned for breakfast the next morning (breakfast only on Sat. & Sun.) and found that to be just as good. We will undoubtedly make this our "go to" restaurant destination on future trips to the area. I'm not sure if they accept reservations since we didn't attempt to make them, but we were seated immediately.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mcl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. We greatly appreciate it. We are a very small restaurant and quite honestly on busy nights we can't handle any more tables than what we have. We do take reservations with a credit card only - new policy - for dinner only - cancellation is at 4pm day of without penalty otherwise you will be charged $10 a head per person. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

excellent food, small, quite. Make a reservation. The wine was a bit of a shallow pour for the money charged.

Thank cweb325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thanks so much for dining with us. The wine is priced on a 6oz pour - for the price. I'm sorry you feel that you were cheated our glasses our quite large - we use riedel wine glasses - they aren't cheap and your wine experience is suppose to be better. Once again we do apologize and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very nice place and cordial owners. The food is excellent as are
the prices. The restaurant is small but perfect for an intimate
dinner- pretty without being overdone. We recommend trying
this place to anyone who wants exceptional food at very
reasonable prices.

1  Thank Cindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review we greatly appreciate it. The restaurant is small but we feel it is very pleasant. Not sure if you have dined with us recently but we have added a bar :) and changed the paint on the walls. We feel it looks great. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We are locals who are breakfast lovers and I think we've finally found our favorite place in the Manchester area. It's difficult to get a table at most of the places right in town on weekends. I feel like I'm giving away a secret that will come back to bite us, but the food is so good here that I really think the place needs some publicity. We have not had lunch nor dinner there, but the breakfasts are outstanding. The first time there my wife had a crab omelet that was just superb.

There are some wonderful items on the breakfast menu that I know I will try someday, very unique, but it's hard for me to get off my "standard" breakfast of 2 eggs, toast, homefries and bacon. Bored? Well here's why you shouldn't be:

Eggs - an egg is an egg, right? Well the eggs here are really fresh. They serve fresh eggs as often as they can, and you can taste the difference. Homefries - red skinned potatoes cut in chunks, perfectly seasoned. Toast - I had whole wheat toast, thickly cut and hearty, I could taste the grain in the toast. Bacon - if you choose bacon you do have to pay $1 more, but boy is it worth it. The waitress said that they changed to a smoked bacon that cost a lot more, so they had to charge more. Umm, yeah - if you are a bacon lover, you won't care. "Standard" breakfast is about $6.50 or $7.50 with the bacon (coffee extra).

The coffee was also wonderful, something you can't always say when you visit a breakfast restaurant. The place is smaller, in a comfy kind of way. Maybe 10 or so tables. Service was great. It's just a 5 minute drive north on route 7a, next to the Stamford Motel. We lived here for over a year until we realized that this was a full service restaurant. Owners need to get the word out!

We can't wait to go back for dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OffOnAJaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Good things take time to build. Many thanks for writing a review. It was a pleasure to chat with you and your husband. Look forward to seeing you again. Many many thanks!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing