We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Road
Description: A casual dining experience offering exceptional meals at breakfast and dinner. All of our sauces, soups and dressings our handcrafted on our property. We serve prime cut steaks, fresh seafood, pork loin (one of the favorites after the steaks and seafood) at dinner, along with hamburgers, salads and panini's. Nipper's has become popular amongst the locals and tourist for serving up outstanding fresh food. Whenever possible we use all local produce or preferably the vegetables come from our own organic or hydroponic gardens. At breakfast we offer 11 different kinds of eggs benedicts and you are able to choose from 2 or 3 eggs. We offer a variety of griddle items (cinnamon french toast, pancakes and more) with mix or max options. Of course our corned beef hash is homemade. We have a variety of omelettes and you are able to have them prepared with egg whites if you like. We are located 1.5 miles North of town on route 7A - Go the extra mile, we do.
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Stamford Motel in early January and decided to try the cafe for breakfast. We enjoyed the three egg crab bene, the best huevos rancheros I have ever had and we had a pancake french toast dish. The room is simple and they apparently just added a bar. Maggie was our server and she did a great job. We will come back everything was cooked to perfection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are happy that you decided to join us for a visit - we are thrilled that you were happy with everything and we look forward to you possibly returning. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

stopped in for lunch. Place empty. "Are you open?" "Yes, but for a private party." And believe me, the response was on the chilly side. No sorry, no please come another time, nada, zip...clearly not looking for us to try them another time. To find this restaurant which is a bit out of town only to have it not open to the public was a pain in the neck on a cold day. I did notice that the atmosphere was nothing and had a cafeteria look to it. Didn't get to try it and don't plan to.

1  Thank Joyanne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Business hours on Sunday are as follows 8am-12pm & 5pm-8pm. You arrived at 1:15pm already 1.25 hours after we had closed from our morning business. As my husband told you yes we were going to be open for a "private party" at 2pm. We are very sorry that you didn't come during our normal business hours. We were still preparing and setting up for the party and no we couldn't have assisted you all of the equipment was off and we weren't prepared to turn it on until 1:30pm at which point it would take a solid hour for it to get warm. We are also very sorry that you drove 1.5 miles to find us and you weren't able to dine with us. I believe upon my husband telling you that we would be open but for a private party you just flipped around and stomped out the door - you didn't give him an opportunity to explain our hours etc... If it was so much effort I am quite suprised you didn't attempt to call us before departing town to see if we were open. Once again we do apologize and we understand if you don't try us in the future. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Decided to try Nipper's based on reviews. Very glad we did. Have eaten there three times in the last month and each time enjoyed the food and setting. The appetizers we tried were fresh and different and the fish moist and tasty. We also like the comfortable setting. One of our favorite restaurants in Manchester.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allen2311804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Allen - thanks so very much for dining with us. It has been a pleasure speaking with you. I appreciate your insight. I look forward to seeing you again. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I suspect that we're not the target group for this place, or that it is more suited for outdoor (read: warm weather) dining. It just didn't click with us. We tried it mostly because of the reviews here.

To be fair, the menu is quite varied, and what we had was good. But it seems the place is better suited for laid back family with kids dining, yet it did't feel like a pub. The interior dining space is very small, and it didn't have neither the feel of a local pub/inn, nor of a restaurant. Weird, I know :)
Our waitress was okay. Not engaging, but knowledgeable. Our food arrived promptly and it was (again) okay. Nothing notable.
We paid quickly and left.
Sadly, that's it! Nothing worth mentioning.

We plan to return to the area during the warm weather season. Maybe we'll give it another shot, but at the moment, there's nothing that compels me to try it again.

1  Thank ZeusFonsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

just an average customer - I'm sorry I don't remember you since you were unable to give much of description and we must not have made a connection. I have serviced everyone during the month of December. We primarily service people looking for a good home cooked meal. We are not a four star restaurant and perhaps that is where you thought you would be dining. We see that you ate at the Brasserie - we can't compete and we don't try - I think you may have been better suited dining at Mistral's, Chantecleer or the Ye Olde Tavern. Many people love us for what we are and enjoy a delicious home cooked meal. We are very sorry we didn't live up to your expectations or you expected something that we are not. Many places have outdoor dining and we believe that you will be better suited for one of those options this summer :) safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This small restaurant (seats 25 per website) is just one-and-a half miles north of the center of Manchester on 7A and is worth looking for. It is primarily a place for steaks and burgers but also has a fairly varied menu with fish and chicken dishes. There is a good selection of wines and a smaller but still sufficient number of beers, including 3 local craft beers on tap. Karen, the waitress (and maybe owner) was very friendly, pleasant and helpful. My wife and I ordered burgers which were delicious and prepared as requested. Afterwards, we ordered a piece of pumpkin pie to share. Now, we are big fans of pumpkin pie but are often disappointed with the pale orange, mild-flavored product we usually get in restaurants. Not Here! This was a thick, creamy piece of pie, almost brown in color it was so laden with spice. If you like your pumpkin pie on the mild side, this kick-a** pie might not be for you. But for us, this was the best pumpkin pie we had ever had! It was a perfect blend of pumpkin, spice and sugar in a flaky crust. I would guess this to be a seasonal item, so probably it's only available in the latter months of the year. The burgers and fries were excellent; this pie was outstanding.
The cost of our meal--two burgers with fries, two beers, and a piece of pie--was $40 before tip, a good value. In contrast, at the hotel we were staying, the cheapest cut of steak was $42 and didn't even include sides.
A bit of trivia: Nipper is the name of a dog image which was the symbol of the RCA Victor Company, producer of phonograph players and records. (Ask your grandma what those are.) You'll find a small statuette of Nipper on the reception desk at Nipper's Cafe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so very much very such a long and excellent review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife and I look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing