We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best to stay”

Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Road
Description: Welcome to Nipper's Cafe and Steakhouse. Offering the best outdoor dining in Southern VT. We offer magnificient views of Mount Equinox. We strive to make every meal you dine with us a memorable experience. Nipper's has become popular amongst the locals and tourist for serving up outstanding fresh food at reasonable prices. We serve only Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and fresh seafood. Whenever possible we use all local produce or preferably the vegetables come from our own organic,hydroponic gardens and all of our sauces are handcrafted on the property. We invite you to join us for a delicious home-cooked meal either in the morning or evening hours. Nipper's is the perfect setting for any size gathering and we want to make sure that your dining experience is enjoyable so you will return. We have added a large flagstone patio and fire pit for lounging.Catering, private parties and to go orders are available. We offfer a casual dining experience at a reasonable price. We look forward to serving you in the future.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“The best to stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The place was cozy and clean. The room was large room with two large queen size beds. The room was decorated with a country style, however it has a very modern tv and wi fi. The bathroom was clean with enough towels for a nice size family of four members. The location of the motel was great since it was close to the famous ski area, Stratton Mountains. My family loves the motel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rudarima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It was a pleasure to have you dine and stay with us we are very happy that you find our establishment to live up to your expectations. We look forward to your return. Many thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    69
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Stamford Motel in early January and decided to try the cafe for breakfast. We enjoyed the three egg crab bene, the best huevos rancheros I have ever had and we had a pancake french toast dish. The room is simple and they apparently just added a bar. Maggie was our server and she did a great job. We will come back everything was cooked to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are happy that you decided to join us for a visit - we are thrilled that you were happy with everything and we look forward to you possibly returning. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You're not welcome”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

stopped in for lunch. Place empty. "Are you open?" "Yes, but for a private party." And believe me, the response was on the chilly side. No sorry, no please come another time, nada, zip...clearly not looking for us to try them another time. To find this restaurant which is a bit out of town only to have it not open to the public was a pain in the neck on a cold day. I did notice that the atmosphere was nothing and had a cafeteria look to it. Didn't get to try it and don't plan to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyanne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Business hours on Sunday are as follows 8am-12pm & 5pm-8pm. You arrived at 1:15pm already 1.25 hours after we had closed from our morning business. As my husband told you yes we were going to be open for a "private party" at 2pm. We are very sorry that you didn't come during our normal business hours. We were still preparing and setting up for the party and no we couldn't have assisted you all of the equipment was off and we weren't prepared to turn it on until 1:30pm at which point it would take a solid hour for it to get warm. We are also very sorry that you drove 1.5 miles to find us and you weren't able to dine with us. I believe upon my husband telling you that we would be open but for a private party you just flipped around and stomped out the door - you didn't give him an opportunity to explain our hours etc... If it was so much effort I am quite suprised you didn't attempt to call us before departing town to see if we were open. Once again we do apologize and we understand if you don't try us in the future. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Outstanding family restaurant in Manchester VT”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Decided to try Nipper's based on reviews. Very glad we did. Have eaten there three times in the last month and each time enjoyed the food and setting. The appetizers we tried were fresh and different and the fish moist and tasty. We also like the comfortable setting. One of our favorite restaurants in Manchester.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen2311804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Allen - thanks so very much for dining with us. It has been a pleasure speaking with you. I appreciate your insight. I look forward to seeing you again. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I suspect that we're not the target group for this place, or that it is more suited for outdoor (read: warm weather) dining. It just didn't click with us. We tried it mostly because of the reviews here.

To be fair, the menu is quite varied, and what we had was good. But it seems the place is better suited for laid back family with kids dining, yet it did't feel like a pub. The interior dining space is very small, and it didn't have neither the feel of a local pub/inn, nor of a restaurant. Weird, I know :)
Our waitress was okay. Not engaging, but knowledgeable. Our food arrived promptly and it was (again) okay. Nothing notable.
We paid quickly and left.
Sadly, that's it! Nothing worth mentioning.

We plan to return to the area during the warm weather season. Maybe we'll give it another shot, but at the moment, there's nothing that compels me to try it again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeusFonsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
just an average customer - I'm sorry I don't remember you since you were unable to give much of description and we must not have made a connection. I have serviced everyone during the month of December. We primarily service people looking for a good home cooked meal. We are not a four star restaurant and perhaps that is where you thought you would be dining. We see that you ate at the Brasserie - we can't compete and we don't try - I think you may have been better suited dining at Mistral's, Chantecleer or the Ye Olde Tavern. Many people love us for what we are and enjoy a delicious home cooked meal. We are very sorry we didn't live up to your expectations or you expected something that we are not. Many places have outdoor dining and we believe that you will be better suited for one of those options this summer :) safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing