We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quaint, Friendly and a Bargain!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Quaint, Friendly and a Bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is our second time staying at the Stamford motel. We have visited the Manchester area many times now, staying at several different inns and this place is our favorite. It's definitely the most cost effective place to stay in the area and it keeps getting better. The new small flat screens in the rooms are great, but TV is the last thing you should be doing while in Manchester anyway. And Karen, one of the owners, is extremely friendly and helpful in finding all the local activities.

Some other reviewers complained about the construction and the guinea hens. Last time we stayed there was during construction and the guinea hens were out in full force. However, neither bothered us at the time and during our recent visit, the guinea hens were gone (inside somewhere?) and the restaurant was completed (see my review for Nipper's Cafe). We took advantage of a fantastic promotion that included a delicious breakfast at this quaint restaurant.

Also, it's only about a 3-minute drive to Manchester Center which is perfect to avoid the traffic and crowds there. I urge all the people bothered by the construction to check out the restaurant, you'll see it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eH9116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
"QUAINT, FRIENDLY AND A BARGAIN" we don't need to say anything more. It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us again. We are happy that the restaurant was open and that you were able to handle the construction this past summer when you were last up. Sometimes you have to get dirty and make a big mess for something good to happen and yes the restaurant is an excellent add on now that it is up and running. Thank you for joining us for so many meals and we hope to see you again real soon. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    101
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
106
144
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I went for breakfast and couldn't decide what to get because everything sounded so good! I recommend the pancakes or Adams Pancake French Toast. Everything was great and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
The Adams Pancake French Toast is one of the best items on the breakfast menu. Thank you for joining us for breakfast and taking the time to write this review we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

So I was back in Manchester this week and knew I would stay at the Stamford again but was thrilled to find that I could eat there as well! They said they had only been serving a few days but it felt as though they'd been at it forever! The atmosphere is pleasant, they have beer and wine and the food was fantastic! Everything was so fresh and my salmon was cooked to perfection. Can't wait until my next visit when I can try breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
It was so nice to have you stay with us once again and we were thrilled that the restaurant was done and that you had a fabulous meal. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring. Many thanks for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hello,

I had the pleasure of staying at the Stamford while I ran a few soccer camps down in the area. I completely understand at that time, if someone had stayed when there was construction going on it might have seemed a bit chaotic at times. However, the true potential of the place really came out as it was finished. It's hard to get a business like that up and running while you are juggling a family and who knows what else.

Besides that the stay was excellent. It's just outside of town literally a mile or so, and the owners know of just about every attraction, or restaurant that you would be interested in checking out. So the knowledge base is good. I think that if you are interested in staying at a place that will give you a true Vermont experience, and feel while also being hugely upscale, then this is the place for you. If you want to go somewhere you are comfortable and be welcomed by warm inviting people then this is the place for you.

I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a getaway from whatever their lifestyle, to experience a great time in one of the nicest parts of Vermont.

I also wanted to mention that after the renovation of the restaurant, OMG it got even better. Just go there for breakfast and you will understand.

Mark Benson

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you on your first visit to town with your workers and it was even much nicer the second time when you returned with your girlfriend. You seem to enjoy the area and we were happy that you were able to join us for breakfast. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you guys again next June when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Went back this weekend since they sent us an unbelievable promotion and we had business in town. Enjoyed the stay - the room was nice and clean and they bought little flat screens since we were last at the place and indoor shutters for the windows. Adam and Karen were great and very informative about things to do since it is the off season. They opened a new restaurant - that was part of the promotion breakfast was free - and dinner was discounted. See review of Nipper's. We will be back this winter. Great Bromley packages. Only 1.5 miles out of town.

Room Tip: Room 14 - great views - upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
It was our November promotion in honor of opening the restaurant - just glad that you were able to take advantage of it. It is offered to anyone who has stayed with us in the past and if we have there e-mail address. We will do another at the first of the year. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayes there for a night an loved it. The owner was great and really knows the area. Shes willing to make your time there the best you can have. It's a short drive from the town and is very quiet. Breakfast at their restaurant is must.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T-ravekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Hope the four of you had a great weekend in VT. Thanks a bunch for having breakfast with us glad you enjoyed it. Glad you found the place to be comfortable. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I heard the place has only recently been refurbished and it shows :> Love the clean room with itz wallpaper and armchair and quaint wooden chair and chests of drawers (lots and lots of drawers). I even liked the shower. A hairdryer and extra blankets were provided without our asking. My mum loved the coffee sachets provided in the room. They just opened a restaurant but time did not permit us to try it. Pretty near Manchester Designer Outlets too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
It was a pleasure hosting your family - sorry that you were here for such a short amount of time and were unable to stay and have breakfast. Thanks for taking the time to write the review we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#8 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#5 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing