We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back - great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Will be back - great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed here this past week. The room was affordable, nice, neat and clean -just what we were looking for. The grounds look amazing will come back next summer and stay here. Had dinner at Nipper's Cafe and we just loved the restaurant. The owners were helpful and informative.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
"ROOM WAS AFFORDABLE, NICE, NEAT AND CLEAN" We know we aren't the Equinox and we realize as long as people understand what it is that we are trying to offer than hopefully they will have a very very pleasant experience with us. Which it sounds as though you get it. It was a rate of $80 and the room was affordable, nice, neat and clean - thanks for staying and many thanks for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
106
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Laguna, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Our second stay at the Stamford and definitely not the last.. We are just looking for a comfy place to stay while visiting family and friends and found it with the Stamford, and now with a great restaurant on site we don't have to drive in the morning for a great VT breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10doh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thanks a bunch for staying with us again and taking the time to write the review. Hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This Thanksgiving we had a bigger crowd than usual and I had the bright idea of booking a few guests at the Stamford Motel. What an inspired idea. My brother's family not only loved their rooms and the "very friendly" proprietors but they enjoyed breakfast so much on thursday morning that they invited everyone back to "Nipper's" for Friday morning.

I'm not sure what was better, NOT having to cook and clean again the morning after the big Thanksgiving meal or the the cinnamony goodness of something called Pancake French Toast. Awesome. Although my 14 year old daughter swears that her waffle was the "best thing ever." It did look pretty darn good, As did everyone else's.

IN short, I'll defintiely recommend it again to friends and relatives the next time my house if full. But I don't think we'll wait until then to stop into Nipper's for another outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernNosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Wow - a party of 12 for breakfast - I think your table was able to try almost everything on the menu. It was so nice of everyone to share. Happy that the accomodations worked out and that your family had a great weekend. Looking forward to hosting everyone next Thanksgiving. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We loved this hotel! The room was small yet cozy. It certainly was comfortable. The decorations were unique- not your standard chain decor. Rocking chair was a nice touch as were the beautiful gardens. The owner was super-friendly and accomodating. He was eager to provide tourist and restaurant recommendations. On top of these positives, the Stamford Motel has a great location and was one of the most economical we could find in the area. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. It really means a bunch when people get what we are all about - "CUTE, FRIENDLY, UNIQUE AND MOST ECONOMICAL" - we don't try to compete with the very expensive inns because that is not we offer. We can offer a cute room at an affordable price. Thanks a bunch and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to VT. Many thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Went by Tripadvisor's reviews but when we opened the door to the hall going up to the room, the hall had a musty smell. The wood was unfinished. Mirrors were missing on one wall.. Looked like it was being renovated and someone stopped. Got into the room. Large room which was nice but the bathroom sink and toilet were for midgets. Very Low!!!! The bathroom needed renovating too. Wanted to turn on the TV and had instructions... slide button to right to get it on and press 03, then slide button to left to change channels. Had to try 5 times before it worked. Noisy refrigerator. Got up the next morning to find at least 25 flies in the room... Guess because it was dark that night we didn't see them on the ceiling and against the windows. We killed some of them. Told the owners.. They said they'd change our room and bomb it!!!! Never would we stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We apologize that you didn’t’ have a good stay and this is the first we are hearing about most of your complaints here. You have neglected to mention that due to your cavalier attitude about people’s livelihood, we lost out on $200+ income because of the second room which was cancelled before you arrived again. Our cancellation policies are public and listed on the website. You also failed to mention that the two rooms had been booked one month prior to your arrival but you cancelled due to illness the day priore and I was kind enough to allow you to transfer your reservation for a month later and didn’t charge you a fee at that time as well. We have since collected the full cancellation fee.
The hallways renovation hasn’t “stopped,” it’s underway and the trim needs paint. We are always improving and fixing the place be it a longer renovation or touching up paint. Most folks appreciate the upgrades. The Tv’s work perfectly, sorry to hear you have trouble with DirecTV remotes and following directions left in the room. We would have gladly assisted you if we had only known you needed help. The fridge is an older one but also the coldest as the prior guest who had stayed in the room had requested because they had an infant and needed the formula to be very cold. We would have happily swapped it for a new quieter one as most of ours are new once again if we had only known. Another option would have been to unplug the fridge since you weren’t using it. All of the sinks and toilets are a standard size, you are the first to complain so we are not sure what you’re use to. To make a rude, prejudice comment about “suitable only for midgets” says more about your character. Yes it’s that time of year in VT when flies want to come in – they will visit the upstairs rooms and if we had been well aware of it the room would have been bombed before your arrival or we wouldn’t have placed you in the oversized room which you requested at no additional charge – normally we get up to $130 for the room. The six flies we found must have been horribly troubling. We do bomb rooms for bugs after pets or as necessary. We would never bomb with a guest in the room or allow someone to stay in the room for several days after. We do try to be as accommodating as possible even if it means offering you a new room.
Why did you stay your second night in the same room and when a note was left in your room suggesting you move you never came down to see another room?
Anyone who comes to our restaurant/office and tries to bully or intimidate our high school age servers with intimidation tactics truly is not a welcome guest in our opinion.
Once again if you had let us know of your needs at the time we could have made you much more comfortable. Future guest reading this just ask and we will gladly assist you with anything. Comfort is what we strive for as you can tell from the other review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is our second time staying at the Stamford motel. We have visited the Manchester area many times now, staying at several different inns and this place is our favorite. It's definitely the most cost effective place to stay in the area and it keeps getting better. The new small flat screens in the rooms are great, but TV is the last thing you should be doing while in Manchester anyway. And Karen, one of the owners, is extremely friendly and helpful in finding all the local activities.

Some other reviewers complained about the construction and the guinea hens. Last time we stayed there was during construction and the guinea hens were out in full force. However, neither bothered us at the time and during our recent visit, the guinea hens were gone (inside somewhere?) and the restaurant was completed (see my review for Nipper's Cafe). We took advantage of a fantastic promotion that included a delicious breakfast at this quaint restaurant.

Also, it's only about a 3-minute drive to Manchester Center which is perfect to avoid the traffic and crowds there. I urge all the people bothered by the construction to check out the restaurant, you'll see it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eH9116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
"QUAINT, FRIENDLY AND A BARGAIN" we don't need to say anything more. It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us again. We are happy that the restaurant was open and that you were able to handle the construction this past summer when you were last up. Sometimes you have to get dirty and make a big mess for something good to happen and yes the restaurant is an excellent add on now that it is up and running. Thank you for joining us for so many meals and we hope to see you again real soon. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I went for breakfast and couldn't decide what to get because everything sounded so good! I recommend the pancakes or Adams Pancake French Toast. Everything was great and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
The Adams Pancake French Toast is one of the best items on the breakfast menu. Thank you for joining us for breakfast and taking the time to write this review we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#8 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing