We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski trip in Stratton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Ski trip in Stratton”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had an excellent experience while staying at the Stamford Motel during our ski trip to Stratton. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. The restaurant had top notch food and the family that runs the Stamford Motel are lovely and friendly people. Would go there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MentaRoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thanks for staying w us on your trip to vt and and taking the time to write this review it means a bunch to us. Just wishing the weather was better for all of u winter die hards - it's been cold this year but I give u guys all credit and everyone seems as though they r having a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    101
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This motel was very conveniently located, and Karen was very quick in her responses when inquiring for rentals (and very kind upon our arrival).
For a clean, quaint and convenient location, I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sselhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Clean, quaint and great location in town - that's what we r trying to provide. Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I'm just back from a long weekend of skiing at Stratton with friends. The Stamford served as our home base throughout, providing us clean, comfortable rooms and unparalleled service.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who values a personal touch and simplicity over opulence. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
You had a great weekend and stayed warm. I give you guys a ton of credit for hitting the slopes in the weather this past weekend. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you return in warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willimantic, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I found nothing wrong with my experience at this motel. The location is excellent (within 5 minutes of anywhere worth going in Manchester), the property is very spacious, and the staff made it a point to be sure all of my needs were met.
The really spectacular part of this motel though is Nipper's Cafe. Even with the numerous eating establishments in Manchester, I would not be the first to day the best food in town is at Nipper's Cafe. I ate both breakfast and dinner there, and I really got the sense of a home cooked meal. Their special's were very creative, and everything was reasonably priced. I highly recommend this motel to anyone who is looking to spend a few nights in Manchester.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us over the Christmas Holiday. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. We were happy that you guys joined us for so many meals while you were in town considering all of the choices in town. It is always a great feeling when people join us for more than one meal - than we know we are doing something right. Lately we have been getting numerous travelers from the Equinox hote joining us and that says something. Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you guys next year if you decide to make this an annual trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Karen and Adam have been hard at work. The place looks great and this time was an added bonus to have Nippers Cafe on premises. (Although all are welcome). We slept like logs and enjoyed our visit even if Mother Nature was not on our side! Thanks for another great visit everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
BACK AGAIN says it all. It was so awesome seeing u guys two years later. Glad u decided not to go out West and join us instead. The kids r great and getting huge and u guys seems as though u r still so in love - the best to both of u and many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Hope to see u again in another tw years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We just stayed over the Christmas weekend and had a wonderful time. The room was great and both breakfast and dinner at Nipper's Cafe were excellent. Karen was friendly, easy going and just plain nice. The room was pet friendly and our Boston Terrier Wendell just fell in love with Abby. It was a relaxing and enjoyable holiday get away. We will definitley be staying here again. Thank you for great service, great food, a great room, and friendly atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Gretche... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Jim and gretchen it was a pleasure to meet you guys and wendell. Thank u so much for staying and eating with us. We are happy that the food and the room lived up to your expectations but I guess u already survived the worst place on the cape so it is all up hill from now on for u guys. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CT
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were welcomed like we were family.

We were pleasantly surprised to have a fridge and microwave in our room. The bedding was comfy cozy. The room was rustic, just like you would expect when in VT. I felt like a kid back in camp.

The owners go out of their way to make you aware of all of your options for dining in the area. Although, their own site restaurant, Nippers was the best we had during our stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIM1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Glad u found your accommodations to be warm and cozy. One dinner and two breakfasts in is saying a lot. We believe that we are trying to offer some good food in Manchester. We want people to want to come back for both the lodging and the food. You certainly proved it by booking for February break. Can't wait for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing