We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Manchester Get Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My 9 year old son and I spent a night at The Stamford bookended by two sunny ski days at Bromley. The room was clean, comfortable, and economical. Dinner st Nippers was great. Chicken tenders for him, Filet Mignon for me. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DZiskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

"CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND ECONOMICAL" That is our goal. So happy you guys found us and stayed with us for your stay. The filet is to die for and it is such a great price. Look forward to your return and many thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I were so happy we found the Stamford. We have been coming up to Stratton for years skiing but this was our first time at the Stamford. It definitely will not be our last either. We stayed in Room #1 which has a comfortable king size bed and was immaculate. We had breakfast at Nipper's which was also excellent I would highly recommend both the restaurant and the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

OOOOOHHHHHH thank you so very much for writing the review and I didn't even ask. I am so very touched by your kind words and we look forward to you visiting us again. Stay warm with that beautiful vest. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My gf and I loved staying at The Stamford. Definately the best deal by Stratton you can get!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Yes we tried to price it so it was the best deal within a distance from Stratton. Many thanks for doing the research to find it and staying with us. So glad you enjoyed your stay hope you return next year. It was a pleasure having you guys with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A groups us stayed here over MLK weekend to ski at Stratton. The best part of the trip was the hospitality shown to us by Karen and her husband. The rooms had a warm, welcoming feel, the meals were delicious and unique (homemade cinnamon buns, venison), and the owners are friendly and accommodating. Karen saved us a table in front of the flat screen tv so we could watch the Giants playoff game! I intend to return this summer to enjoy the beautiful mountain views and swimming pool!
On top of all this, the price is incredibly reasonable.

Room Tip: There is a two-bed room on the second floor that feels like you are sleeping in someone's house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

For our price bracket - we feel that we offer nice, neat, clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. If you are looking for an Inn this isn't the place - I just need to clarify this for some folks reading sometimes they get the wrong impression. Thank you for all of your kind words that means a bunch to us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your group was great - sorry I couldn't have made it warmer out. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

What a great find this motel was! We took the family skiing for Friday and Saturday (Jan 27 and 28), and found the Stamford via TripAdvisor- stayed here Thurs-Sun. The room was great, very clean, our 2 kids (8 and 10) loved it. In fact, when the resorts were closed on Friday because of rain, the kids wanted to stay in the room! The location is great, close enough to town, and only 10-15 minutes from Bromley and Stratton. Nipper's cafe had great food, we ended up eating dinner here 2 nights; both nights the entrees were outstanding, and reasonably priced. Venison bolognese......yummmm.
When we come back to Manchester area, we'll definitely stay here.

Mark and Lucy P.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Mark it was a pleasure to meet you and your family - you guys were great!!!!!!!!!!!!! "THE ROOM WAS GREAT, VERY CLEAN . . .. NIPPER'S CAFE HAD GREAT FOOD." You guys definately made the most out of your trip and thanks for dining with us so much - you have two great well behaved kids - I love to tell parents that when it is so very true. Hopefully you guys make it back to VT from Syracuse again we would love to have you stay with us. Many thanks for helping us out by writing this review. Looking forward to a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My children and I had a great time at the Stamford Motel. Rooms were very nice and the food at Nipper's Cafe was awesome. Karen and her husband are great hosts. We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

James - I know you are a very busy man thanks a ton for finding the time to write this review it means a bunch. Your kids were great hoped they enjoyed themselves on the slopes considering the lack of snow and a little bit of rain but at least you guys went bowling and made the best out of the day. Hope to see you again this winter if not next year for sure. Many thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

the staff was welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. Will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

"GOOD VALUE - ROOM WAS CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE" can't ask for more. Thanks a bunch for staying with us and many thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing