We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent as expected”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stamford last July, and when it came time to pick a weekend getaway this spring, we knew exactly where to go. Just like our last stay, everything about the place was great - clean cozy rooms and friendly smiles. This place is seriously an excellent find!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunRab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thanks for staying with us again and many thanks for writing the review. It sound as though the wedding was awesome and congrats on the job changes. We look forward to you guys returning in the near future. Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
107
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colts Neck
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We chose the Stamford Motel based on Tripadvisor reviews from folks travelling with dogs. We were not disappointed. The room and locale were very convenient. Everything was clean and neat. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our breakfast at Nippers was very good as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dogs are welcome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks a bunch for finding us and bringing your pet - well behaved pets are always welcome and you have a great one. We look forward to you returning when you are back in VT. Thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My sons and I were very happy with the Stamford Motel. The room was clean, comfortable and cute. The rates were affordable and the management was very pleasant. I would stay there again if we were to find ourselves back in Manchester (which is a lovely littte town with the best bookstore EVER!!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Northshire Bookstore is great place to spend a bunch of time. My whole family loves it. We greatly appreciate that you guys stayed with us and many many thanks for taking the time to write this great review. I feel so bad that I totally over looked this and have not responded until now especially since it was such a great review. Not sure how I missed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was in Manchester for a 7 day stay (which turned into 10) and chose The Stamford Motel for my entire stay. My room beautifully appointed with wonderful bedding and a cozy decor. The rates were extremely affordable and the staff, Karen, Adam and their daughters treated me like family! Nippers Cafe was awesome for both breakfast and dinner. I had great meals there during my stay and would highly recommend The Stamford and Nippers Cafe to anyone! When I return to Vermont for my next visit I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Cindy it was a pleasure having you stay with us. I still can't believe you extended your stay :) Many many thanks for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to you returning and catching up again. Hope Alex is doing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent the weekend in Manchester. We found the Stamford to live up to it's reputation. It was clean, friendly and affordable. We had breakfast a Nippers and it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfordfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Ted it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Sorry it was such a short weekend for you guys. Thanks a bunch for finding time to write the review. Hopefully you'll return again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were driving from CT to VT, and happened upon this delightful place. The scenery is beautiful, and the owners are so friendly and accommodating. We had no real plans, but to enjoy time away from the office, and every suggestion was perfect from the Vermont Country Store (only 30 minutes away) to the fly tie shop next door for my husband's fly fishing collection (Gloria Jordan was lovely! www.gloriajordanflyfishing.com). We only had breakfast at Nipper's Cafe, but it was delicious. I highly recommend the Stamford and if I am ever North again, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a warm room - perfect for a southerner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmccec83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
You guys were great. I'm still amazed that you would go wherever your GPS would take you. Hopefully you cured your shopping bug. Gloria stopped back in and was ecstatic that you had returned to her shop to purchase the book on her late husband. You guys were very enjoyable thanks a bunch for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island , New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My friend and I picked The Stamford from the previous great reviews we saw on Trip Advisor.
We found that the reviews were true to their word which was awesome ! The rooms are clean and quaint with a beautiful view ! The staff is so warm and friendly and accomodating . The restaurant was very good food and service . Definitely planning a return trip someday !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marybeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
So happy that you found the reviews to be true. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing