We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and easy”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were here overnight with our two-year-old last week. Don't be put off by the old doors and floors as you walk in (as I was inclined to be, at first) - the rooms have been totally updated with really nice-looking, comfortable furniture, and the bathrooms also have updated appliances as well. We weren't expecting this place to be family owned and were so delighted that it was, and especially by this family, who seem committed to cleanliness and comfort for their guests. The wildflower landscaping is beautiful, and we really enjoyed chatting with our host and hostess about their various animals and about local happenings. We had breakfast at the Nipper's Cafe, which is on the property and which was delicious. We had banana bread french toast, something I never would have thought of. A real treat. I've been to Manchester every summer for several years and this was the first time I've felt comfortable and settled.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoyerhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
We are a two star motel. Work in progress. The doors will come :) other projects are a bit more important at the moment. Your review was GREAT!! and we appreciate it. I just don't want anyone mislead. It was a pleasure having you guys here and we look forward to your return next summer. Many thanks Karen and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    105
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
112
147
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nestled amidst some gorgeous mountains, this family-run hotel provided an ideal place to stop while attending an event at Stratton Mountain. The place is really run by a small family, and their hard work really shows. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool is clean, the food in the restaurant is freshly made and delicious. I highly recommend this for families, for couples, for people of all ages. With our infant and 8 year old, we felt comfortable and our daughter made fast friends with the owners' daughter while swimming in their adorable pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumberayhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
You guys were great. Thanks so much for picking us and writing this fantastic review. Yes we do work hard its two months later and I have finally found the time to look at the tripadvisor reviews. Hope you guys return again next year. Thanks for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Stamford Motel on a late Fall weekend. Our daughter, who had heard good things, booked the reservation as part of a get-away gift trip to New England.

What a terrific find! A spacious, super clean room, friendly and welcoming family owner/operators and a value price that made relaxation and comfort cost effective.

We were part of the initial morning restaurant guests at their new Nippers Café adjoining the motel office. A wonderful breakfast and a charming young lady pouring coffee (one of the owners daughters) made breakfast a treat, not just a way to get the morning started.

The Stamford Motel is on our “must stop” agenda the next time we visit Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneandDan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
So great :) you got me letter in the mail. Sorry it took so long. I believe you should have mentioned an Anniversary trip :) Hope to see you again. Thanks a bunch for finding the time to write the review. So glad you guys were happy here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was a nice hotel in Manchester, Vermont. The grounds were beautiful and the location was close to town for shopping and restaurants. The owners were very friendly and check in was a breeze.

Our room was average size and included a fridge. There was also a flat screen TV, good air conditioning.

The bathroom was small with next to no room for toiletries but the shower pressure was good so not a major issue.

Breakfast was not included and there was no place to eat at the hotel when we were there May 16 but we were provided with information on places to eat in town.

Clean room, good location and friendly staff which is what is important to us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
I've decided to get rid of a ton of flowers - that shall be my fall project. Wish me luck. The landscape will change hopefully in the next few weeks :) Many thanks for staying with us this past spring - so sorry the restaurant wasn't open - it will probably close every spring for some to for us to get stuff done. The days go by toooo fast when I waitress until 11am and Adam is cooking and than we have to be back again by 4:30pm. Anyways, many thanks for writing the review - glad you had a lovely stay - hope to see you again next year. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Our daughter lives in Dorset Vermont, and doesn't have a spare room for her parents, when we come to visit.
At our request, she found a lovely place for us to stay. It was the Stamford Motel in Manchester, Vermont.
The couple that own the motel are friendly, and accomodating.
The cost was reasonable.
I would recommend this motel to anyone needing a place to stay in, and around, the Manchester area of southern Vermont.

Room Tip: Make reservations, with a reasonable lead-time, as the motel was full when we stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thanks a bunch - that was a very sweet review. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Stamford for a weekend back in May. It is a small, family-run motel and the staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are basic, but comfortable - we weren't looking for extravagant, lavish accommodations, and that's not what the Stamford tries to do. Their mission statement is to provide affordable, comfortable rooms with friendly service - and they excel at it!

It was great to be able to travel with pets, and we also found a couple other dogs there (and plenty of friendly dog owners). It's a truly unique place and you absolutely cannot beat the price or value.

Our room had a great view, and the covered patio outside provided a great place to enjoy the weather (and maybe a beverage or two). Only a two minute drive to town, it's in a great location as well. I was pleased to find all the positive reviews before we went, and now I can personally echo their sentiments!

We ate breakfast at Nipper's Cafe (their small restaurant on the property) and found the food to be very good with friendly service. Had two great breakfasts here! Didn't try dinner at Nipper's but we have no reason to doubt it would be anything less than excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
WOW! We are touched - you out did yourself with the lengthy review. It means alot to us that you were comfortable. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write the review. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed there last April. They couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. They were unpretentious and genuinely helpful. We ate at the cafe for breakfast with a large group. They were on the ball and glad to be there. The huge difference is that the owners are on site.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thanks - we try to give everyone a good deal :) a reaasonably priced room - that is nice, clean and comfortable. We are happy that you found our accommodations to be just that. Looking forward to your return and many thank for finding the time to write a review. It helps us out more than you know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
76 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing