We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Four Winds Country Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmer House(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Weathervane Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester View(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wilburton Inn(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Olympia Lodge(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chalet Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The INN at Willow Pond(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
260
109
24
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
109
24
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnipper's caferoom was cleanon site restaurantfire pitboth breakfast and dinnerhorse showthe vermont summer festivalstratton mountainmanchester areadefinitely stay here againtwo night stayflat screen tvnew englandcoffee makervisiting manchesterhome away from homeglass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a one star hotel / motel. I selected it based on the fact that it was the #2 ranked establishment in Manchester - this is a gross error, there are much nicer places to stay in the area. I may be spoiled but this is the worst motel I have ever stayed at next to a straight-up truckers motel that I stayed at during a blizzard. I have stayed at many motels during various road-trip vacations in the Northeast, Southwest and Southeast .
Management made a mistake and was not helpful nor apologetic about it. We were promised a king, they gave us a full. There were two house flies in the room. Bathroom door doesn't close - it appears they recently painted it and either the paint affected the door or maybe they removed the door and it sits differently now that it is re-installed. Hallway has several broken / missing mirrors and exposed sheetrock. Deadbolt didn't work with the key. Our friends stayed at this motel as well, their room was nicer.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the first floor facing the road are nicer than the rooms upstairs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are not the second best motel in Manchester - that is a gross error on your part. Many people have our motel to be nice, neat, clean and affordable. Sorry we didn't live up to your expecations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pros:
Mostly clean rooms (lots of dust/crumbs on night table) otherwise good (clean linens!)
Loved hair dryer and fridge in room (no more putting our coolers outside to stay cool!)
Easy drive to Manchester Center
Great restaurant on site
Loved walking into warm and toasty room after long day on the slopes - no waiting for the room to heat up

Cons:
No clear Internet instructions in room
No conditioner in bathroom (just combo shampoo/conditioner which never works like it should)
Need better snow/ice removal on the stairs

I would recommend and will def. return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor for easy access to car but with no room above as can hear people walking around above.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

I do apologize for the dust left on the dresser. Once in a while things do get over looked but I apologize for that. All and all we are happy that you had an enjoyable experience and we hopefully will cross paths again. Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write the reviews. Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Such lovely people run this cosy pleasant place!! We had an awesome experience :) with yummy food at Nippers Cafe downstairs from our room!! Thank you The Stamford Motel for taking care of us and for playing relaxing music while we dine. Also the owners are great at giving us advice on the best local spots to check out which was so very helpful and made our stay in Manchester that much more memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

First off we are so happy that you had an enjoyable experience in VT and that we were able to assist you in a great stay. We honestly strive to help everyone out and try to accommodate everyone. If you don't ask we can't help. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review - we greatly appreciate it. Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

the hotel was very very nice. felt like a home away from home. the food at the restaruant was great. the prices were very reasonable. everyone was really friendly and nice and it was really clean which is what i always look for :) less then 2 miles away there are great shopping places too. a bunch of outlets. and a little movie theatre where we went to go see a movie after our awesome dinner at nippers cafe :)

Room Tip: we stayed upstairs in romm 14. great view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thanks so much for finding the time to write the review. It was a pleasure to have the two of you stay with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The location is THE plus and because of that the room rates are reasonable for the area. Though frankly, the rates are not THAT stellar and given the issues they could be cheaper. The rooms have a terrible mildew problem, to the extent the smell travels home with you. Our upstairs room had a nice view (though zero window coverings which is ridiculous), but the bath was a mess - the sink was leaning, as if someone yanked it out or sat on the edge. And shower was terribly stained, probably from a leak. Lots of work to be done here. And soliciting prior guests for positive reviews via their email is in very poor taste.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

I needed to take a deep breath and think about this for two days before responding 
My first complain in regards to this review – is not once while you were here did you mention or request to change rooms. We are bothered by the fact that you didn’t have an enjoyable stay while at our property. We honestly try to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay and we try to be very informative about the area. If you don’t ask we can’t make changes. We promote our property as a star motel and we are priced accordingly. Even you found the rates to be reasonable. Your thoughts are unreasonable in thinking they should have been less expensive for the gorgeous room you had.

Please note that tripadvisor encourages business owners to solicit reviews – “Encourage Reviews on your own Website. Make it easy for guests to review your business on TripAdvisor by placing one of these free widgets on your site.” Or “Put a Reminder in their Hands print out flyers or order custom business cards that remind travelers to write reviews following their visit.”

First off your email was three fold if you had read it thoroughly. First it said thanks for staying with us, second it asked if you could write a review that would be great and thirdly please e-mail us if there were any major issues which need to be addressed. It should be noted that the note is sent to everyone – so we are soliciting reviews good or bad from everyone – so all of our reviews are at least real – unlike our competition.

We realize and we advertize as a two star motel. We are priced accordingly with rooms in the area and normally are rooms are less expensive against are competition for the same product. We would not compete against the Equinox, Inn at Manchester, Manchester View. . . which I am assuming is where you would have been happy but you were unwilling to pay the price and I am the first to admit that they have a nicer product to offer but they are much more expensive. If you take the time to read thru the other motels reviews you will also find flaws which can be pointed out by the unhappy traveler on tripadvisor – no accommodation is perfect for everyone. It should be noted that they are much larger than we are and they have deep pockets. We are just a mom and pop operation making improvements as quickly as we can as we go along. The motel has improved tremendously since we took over.

The room you stayed in is quite lovely – two ethan allen bed frames at the price tag of $1200 and $1100, two new mattresses, a 42 inch tv, brand new wicker furniture, etc… The room had been gutted two years ago – all new windows, sheetrock and carpeting. We do realize that the bathroom have not been done over – yes the tub has a stain but we are working on things as quickly as we can. The room is also huge – the biggest one we have to offer. In peak the room will get $150 for the condition it is in – what did you pay $100?? Once the bathroom has been renovated we will easily be able to get more for the room. We take great insult in – “lots of work to be done here.” We have resided, new roof, new windows, new insulation, new walls, etc…
Your review takes on less creditability with me as well as other users of tripadvisor who know the other restaurant mentioned, because you state what type of consumer you are with your comment “Not cheap, but absolutely worth every penny!” I have dined at this establishment and we send numerous people and I am quite sure I sent you. They are reasonable but by no means are they very expensive like you are stating.

Thanks we do have a great location and are rates are very reasonable.

In the future find the money in your budget and stay at the five star resort. Understand where you are booking before you make a reservation. The majority of travelers who read reviews on public forums understand what they are booking for the dollar amount that they are spending and take it for what it is. Some like yourself can be very confused by this and believe that they will be receiving a five star accommodation for a two star price. Learn your product before booking and learn what the price point is in the given area you are traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews