We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best motel value in Manchester, Vermont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best motel value in Manchester, Vermont”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Stamford Motel, in Manchester Vermont, six times. The rooms are always clean, and fresh. The beds are comfortable, and the price is quite reasonable The innkeepers, Karen and Adam are just about the nicest and most accommodating people you'd ever want to meet.
My daughter lives in the Manchester area, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting her.
If you are looking for a nice place to stay in the Manchester area, I recommend the Stamford Motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. We are happy to hear that you had a delightful stay. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
106
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a great time, free upgrade of a room without even asking, so cozy and close to Manchester downtown. The restaurant attached is great and convenient and all the animals on the property are so charming. GO HERE!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Not sure how I missed this one. Glad you had an enjoyable time. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Many thanks, Karen & Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I had visited the motel for four days. The bed is comfortable. The shower is strong. There is a desk that is enough to read books. This motel is good for my trip. If, you wish to get advice to drive around the area, you can ask anything to owner. You get to know some good place.
I had a good time in Stamford motel.

私は、一人旅できたのですが、このモーテルは一人で滞在するにはぴったりでした。ベッドは大きく、シャワーのでも十分です。また、机があり、何らかの作業をすることもできます。暖房装置は静かで、夜寝るときに気になることもありません。
 また、このモーテルは家族で経営されているようで、オーナーが受付をしているので、何かあれば直接交渉できます。
 

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutomi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
You certainly were far from home. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. I am so happy that everything worked out for you with the schools and glad you were able to join us for dinner. Much luck finishing out your school year and if you are ever on the East coast please look us up again - I will have a set of chopsticks for you:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auburn maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, but it was clean and affordable for a quick trip. A little noisy our first night due to neighbors. We were also a little upset that the room didn't have a microwave or fridge. We couldn't find the ice machine or a soda machine either. We didn't venture to far to look for either, but it wasn't obvious like at most places. Lastly, sadly someone parked right in front of the stairs to the rooms. That should be a no parking area for loading and unloading. Overall, a good stay with no other complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcyp990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - we are happy that all in all you had a pleasant stay. Sorry people can be inconsiderate. Many thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I've stayed in a few places around the Manchester area. I was working a project in the area for 3-4 months. I come to the area weekly for three nights and where I stay is critically important to me. In the 3 years I have been doing this type of work, I can honestly say that The Stamford Motel is without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed in. You might find that unusual because it's not "The Ritz" or "The Equinox", I've stayed in both. The way I rate a hotel is in this order; first comfort (bed and pillows), second cleanliness and third service.

Karen and Adam excel in all of these subject areas. Even though the rooms are a little outdated who cares. The beds/mattresses were great with real pillows not foam. They have a nice quilt on the beds. The rooms were clean and the staff is real accommodating. To top it off they have by far the best restaurant in town. Good food at a reasonable price.

I would highly recommend the Stamford. It's run by great people who go out of their way to make their guest's stay enjoyable. If you're looking for a fancy place that will wine and dine you, charge you outrageous prices there are plenty of resort hotels and B & B's in the area. Take your pick ... but if you're traveling with your family and friends you can't beat the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
It was a pleasure to have you with us for as long as we did. Thank you for the business and the converstations. Next time in VT please look us up hopefully the motel will be further along. Thanks for finding the time to write a review - we realize that you are very busy.

Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have been coming to Manchester in the winter for many years now and have stayed at several other hotels in a similar or even lower price range to the Stamford, and this one has been the worst experience by far. There was mold in the shower, bugs in the bathroom, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls....overall it was just bad. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aprilm512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
same as january 2nd review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just returned home from a 4 day ski trip up to Stratton, Mount Snow & Bromely. Based on previous tripadvisor reviews, and the motel's website, my boyfriend & I decided to try staying at the Stamford Motel for our trip. We selected Room #10, a Queen Room and found the Stamford to be exactly what we were looking for. The room was affordable, clean, quaint, warm, cozy & the bed was very comfy. It was the perfect place to call home after a long day of being out on the mountain. The owners of the Stamford were very welcoming and provided us with great tips on the local ski mountains. We had breakfast at the onsite restaurant -"Nipper's" - one morning and it was also great. I would highly recommend the Stamford Motel to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay in the Manchester area. The Motel is close to 4 great Mountains (Stratton, Bromley, Magic & Snow) & its just minutes away from great dining & shopping in Manchester. I cannot wait to return to the Stamford for my next Ski trip and plan on taking advantage of one of their great Ski & Stay package deals. (details are on their website).

Room Tip: Room #10 Queen Room was great, its an end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFantastic56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
These reviews mean the most when it comes from a well established contributor. Wow!!! thanks for the awesome review and staying with us. We are so happy that we lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
560 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing