We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Conveniently located hotel in a beautiful environment. However its facilities are rather worn-out and its management showed a very bad service attitude. Definitely bad value hotel, would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlecNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

same man as August 22nd review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed 1 night at this convenient, but rather tired motel. Manchester is a great town, in a beautiful environment and great outlet shopping. At check out, we were requested to pay for breakfast, although we had booked including breakfast. This situation was poorly handled by the management, which left us feeling uncomfortable. Overall, a disappointing experience. There are plenty of places in Manchester, so next time we will definitively stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marinopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Sir you booked a room using booking.com for 2 people including breakfast - you requested a cot upon arrival (which you weren't charged for) - you showed up for breakfast and ordered off the regular menu instead of using the prepaid menu for 2 and you expected breakfast to be free for all five of you. We contacted booking.com and they told you that you needed to pay for the additional breakfast and you said you didn't want to. In your eyes the situation would have been handled perfectly if you hadn't been charged for the cot (which you weren't) and if everyone could have eaten breakfast all at the rate of $110. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my son, daughter In law and 2 grandchildren...we were visiting my brother & sister in law who have lived in Vermont for 30 years. We loved our accommodations at the Stamford Motel....the beds were so comfortable....rooms clean and the convenience of having a restaurant on the premises was great....we had breakfast at Nipper's Café the first morning of our stay....food was delicious and service was great. Prices for the rooms and in the restaurant were very reasonable.... We definitely want to go back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemini551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review we look forward to seeing you again. We aim to offer nice, neat rooms at an affordable price - glad it worked out. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed there on our way to Mount Equinox and did not expect too much because of the low price. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and was cozy. The bed was firm and comfy, the air conditioning worked perfectly.The only thing I would suggest is to get rid of the carpet. Then it would be perfect. The staff was very pleasant to deal with. A few little details to take care of and they could charge twice as much. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georges_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks for the review and thanks for the thought on the carpet. It is actually only a few years old but I will say that you are right and that is a project for this spring. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Breakfast eggs from the chickens in the backyard, homemade hot sauce from homegrown peppers, fresh lettuce from the garden in your salad and a spectacular view to enjoy while dining. Yep, Nipper's Cafe is a great place to eat and hang. My husband absolutely LOVED the corn bread and my crab eggs Benny was deelish. Also, at dinner, do not miss the steamed clams in tomato saffron sauce -- the bread for dipping is divine. Had a great steak too with a spectacular (and yes, homemade) churrasco sauce. AND, the Stamford Motel is a fabulous place to stay! The owners--Adam, Karen and family, are hard working and down-to-earth. They are dedicated to the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. There is no pretense, nothing overpriced....just solid food and service with lots of bang for the buck and then some.

At the end of the day, we enjoyed a glass of wine and the beautiful gardens while our girls enjoyed swimming in the pool. Also, the Stamford Motel is pet friendly. You may catch a glimpse of the owner's furry friends during your stay. Look for the beautiful sassy cat or the baby husky while you are there.

We couldn't have been happier with our time at the Stamford Motel and at Nipper's Cafe. We will definitely be back. Great vibe, great food, great people and fantastic location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMomofThree2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

It was so great to meet you guys we look forward to you returning in the future - glad the kids hit it off and we are happy that you were thrilled with your accommodations. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

After a lot of research, we decided to book this hotel for our stay in Manchester and are glad we did. When we got to the hotel, we thought it looked a bit tired. We were warmly welcomed by theyu owner and given our key. When we got to the room, we were surprised - it was enormous (we got the upstairs two queen room) and beautifully decorated. We felt like we needed a telephone to call across the room. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. While the tub filler didn't work, the shower was good. Though the location was a bit out of town, that did not prove to be a problem and made for a quiet sleep.

When we woke up in the morning, we went to Nippers for breakfast and were told it was closed. However, the owner told us she could make us breakfast anyway. She then made us some really good omelets.

Though the exterior of this hotel needs a bit of work, our room was great and the owners made the stay a pleasure. This hotel is a good value and I would recommend it to those wanting good accommodations at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks so much for finding the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate your business and we look forward to your return. Many thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

. This motel is very welcoming and nice with a good restaurant. The owner is helpful and friendly.
Three of us had a very large room with two queen size beds with good mattresses. I have stayed there twice this year and enjoyed both stays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are so happy that you decided to return. Room 14 is my favorite room as well it is huge both the room and the bathroom - negative its upstairs if someone has issues with the stairs. Many many thanks for finding the time to write the review. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £67 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing