We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbishment, but gourmets are welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
361 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishment, but gourmets are welcome.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Inn a bit outdated located at the outskirts of the town. The rooms are very basic, with bathrooms quite small. The rooms are need of refurbishment and upgrading because some solutions are now obsolete. The support of the managers is anyway ready. The owners directly manage one of the best restaurants in the area and great breakfasts and superb dinners are just a few steps from your room. Really recommended for gourmets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbang56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It is a work in progress as I call it and the money pit :( We are working on the rooms as fast we can - we are sorry that you were unable to have an updated room. The bathrooms however will remain small can't change the floor plan much. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
106
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Karen the owner with her husband Adam is a friendly whirling dervish cooking,cleaning the rooms ,landscaping and waiting on tables . We had a lovely stay in room 4 with two excellent meals on beautiful nights on the deck of their excellent attached restaurant. The location is close to town but quiet the room was clean and comfortable and was nice to sit outside and stare at the scenery and enjoy Karen's landscaping prowess. She gave us a great tip for a lovely walk just across the street and up Northedge road. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room4 is supposedly the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes room 4 has a very large bathroom with 2 full size beds. We are happy that you had a great stay and we look forward to you returning next year. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a very nice and affordable place. It has a back lawn area with chickens and vegetables that ends up in your dinner. The food is wonderful and fresh. Karen gave us great local tips and was very friendly and inviting. It felt like we are guests in someone’s home. We had the steak and hamburger plus the house salad and an omelet breakfast. Everything tasted and looked great so that we did not even look to have dinner outside. When the weather permits you can sit outside on their porch and enjoy the view. Traveling with 2 energetic girls (2 and 5) is not easy to say the least … every evening we wondered all around the place like it was ours, but it is really the owner’s home. In our view, this is an opportunity to get to know one of the locals.
One thing that bothered one of us is the mattress which is too soft for my back. We also wished we could have breakfast during the week as well. Before coming to this place we stayed in a more expensive hotel with more facilities, and a fancy restaurant. However, the Stamford motel gave us a feeling of home and we enjoyed it much more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope that you stay safe in your country. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland oh, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed there in July on the way to Maine and they were so helpful. We arrived way late and they made sure that we had access to our room. The place is so charming ,really nice retro feel.
the prices are reasonable and our room was lovely. it felt like home and I am looking forward to staying there again and exploring Vermont. The owners are very nice and work hard to maintain this place. cant wait to go back!! clean nice comfortable and reasonable!! What more could you ask for! only nice people allowed here!! Thanks Stamford!! I didnt get to try the restaurant but it looked very inviting...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
THANKS!!!! We are thrilled you enjoyed our place and we look forward to meeting you again. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is my first trip to New England and Vermont. I usually stay at brand name chain hotels but i noticed that there are very few chain hotels in Vermont. B&B are more popular in this area.
Also the prices are skyrocket for B&B and motels. I am more familiar with west coast and it is unusual for me to pay so much for motels.

Anyways, we booked through their website and i requested room 10 with queen but i received an email saying that i got room 12 with queen bed. I thought it would be more or less same.
Our room was little small than the room 10 on website.

Karen was very welcoming on check in. Since it was our first trip so we were mostly clueless about area. She showed us lots of points of interest on maps. She recommended good places to eat. She spend good 15 mins explaining about area. It really helped us to navigate next morning.

As for the room, it was very nice and clean but bit dated. Bedding was high quality. we had Ralph Lauren comforter :) It was quite good for the price we paid. our room was missing iron/iron board and fridge (as mentioned on website).
I was taking a medicine at that time that need to be kept in fridge but i carry personal cooler so it did not bother me much. if you take some medicine like insulin then ask about fridge in advance. I am sure that they will make arrangement for it.

Landscape was good with lots of flowers and location is nice. Overall a nice experience

Room Tip: Room No 12 is bit small and it is upstairs. Prefer Downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I do apologize for the confusion with your reservation and you are correct 12 is a bit smaller than 10. However the rates are the same for all the queen size rooms and rooms with two full size beds, rates vary between the king size rooms for good reason. However, we are thrilled that you had an ejoyable experience and we look forward to you guys returning - please just remind me of your stay and i will upgrade you free of charge if a room is available. Many thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Conveniently located hotel in a beautiful environment. However its facilities are rather worn-out and its management showed a very bad service attitude. Definitely bad value hotel, would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlecNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
same man as August 22nd review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed 1 night at this convenient, but rather tired motel. Manchester is a great town, in a beautiful environment and great outlet shopping. At check out, we were requested to pay for breakfast, although we had booked including breakfast. This situation was poorly handled by the management, which left us feeling uncomfortable. Overall, a disappointing experience. There are plenty of places in Manchester, so next time we will definitively stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marinopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Sir you booked a room using booking.com for 2 people including breakfast - you requested a cot upon arrival (which you weren't charged for) - you showed up for breakfast and ordered off the regular menu instead of using the prepaid menu for 2 and you expected breakfast to be free for all five of you. We contacted booking.com and they told you that you needed to pay for the additional breakfast and you said you didn't want to. In your eyes the situation would have been handled perfectly if you hadn't been charged for the cot (which you weren't) and if everyone could have eaten breakfast all at the rate of $110. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing