We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed at the Stamford numerous times and it is the only place I stay while in Manchester. My last visit was in September and I took a number of amazing pictures from the walkway in front of my room. I love the view that I wake up to each morning! Karen and Adam, as always, were very attentive and accomodating. I always feel at home here and my room was perfect for my 3 night stay. I highly recommend The Stamford for all of the above reasons!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We are happy that you have become your to go place when you are in VT and away from sunny Florida - always a pleasure to have you stay. Looking forward to seeing you next year - please remember to stay two weeks - you alway end up extending your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at the Stamford Motel for a weekend in October. The room was comfortable and clean. We stayed in room 4 -- the bathroom and room had just been renovated. Phoned them for a reservation after finding them online in order to determine which room would meet our needs. Karen was very direct about the cost of each room and the status of what phase the rooms were in. Our friends stayed in another room and it was clean and comfortable as well. The bathroom was not as spacious but for the amount of time we were at the motel it didn't really matter. The shower was strong and the water very hot. The grounds had amazing perennial gardens and we had an awesome view of the mountain. Would love to come in August to see the flowers in bloom. Ate at Nippers and had two great meals -- breakfast and dinner. Karen was very friendly and informative about the area and gave us tons of ideas for things to do. We will definitely return this winter for a ski package. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ward y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us this past October. We look forward to you returning in the winter months. Many thanks for finding time to write the review we greatly appreciate it and happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed at the Stamford twice in the past two months. The rooms are clean and spacious and the motel is quiet and affordable. Breakfast at Nipper's is wonderful, and Adam and Karen are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaH366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We are looking to provide a very affordable option while in Manchester and we hope that it suits most people who are on a budget. We are happy that we lived up to your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again. Happy New Year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Once we had found the accommodation in all truth not too disappointed. We had two sat navs and both put the location of the hotel at least half a mile away.
Karen was very nice and very friendly.
The room was adequate for an overnight stay.
The accommodation is room only but that was not an issue for us.
Room was warm, clean and one could not really ask for more.
It was as far as we could tell good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We get many calls when people get frustrated because they don't put Manchester Center into GPS - you will end up by Orvis - We are so happy that you were satisfied with the accommodations and we hope that you return. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Stamford for a wedding in town. The owner was very nice but we waited to be checked in for quite sometime. When she did arrive she was in a bathrobe and hair towel. Our room was very nice,clean, and comfortable and is just minutes from the center if town. We would stay again despite the way we were welcomed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,111,289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Sorry I was in the shower. My schedule this past May was from 7am - 10pm - the time I enjoy taking a quick shower is just before I need to waitress for dinner. So I did and I do apologize again. My husband was running an errand and I needed to get ready for work - if I had known you were coming I would have waited. Its hard to judge when is the right time to fit in a quick shower. Many thanks for staying with us and we are glad that you were happy with your accommodations. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Adequate room In the process of being updated. wonderful view. Great price. Nipper's is absolutely wonderful food at fantastic prices. Dining room needs to be updated!!! If so, think there will be long waits

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

So the dining room has recently been upgraded even though the last paint job was only two years old:) We've added a small bar with lots of charm. We are happy that you were satisfied with your accommodations - your room is the next to be gutted - thanks for being patient. Hoping you have a great 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent three nights in September and were pleased with our choice. Karen was welcoming when we checked in, offered suggestions of things to do in the area, and was responsive to our requests. The property has beautiful perennial gardens and a vegetable garden out back which I understand provides provides fresh food for Nipper's Cafe. Our room appeared to be recently redecorated and was comfortable. There were a couple of very minor problems, but the owners of this family-run business seem to be working hard to continue improving the property. The rooms are very affordable. We recommend the Stamford for it's good value in a beautiful area.

We had breakfast at Nipper's two mornings. The menu is excellent and the reasonably-priced food is well prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyT614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. You had very kind words. Thank you considering the fact that you prob. had my least favorite room. Thanks so much and we look forward to you returning to a renovated room. Many thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#10 of 16 in Manchester
232 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#13 of 16 in Manchester
76 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing