We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family Owned With Charm"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Stamford Motel is a great place to stay if you choose family owned with charm over chain. The room we stayed in had a delightful mix of antique and reproduction furniture, the most comfortable mattress, all my required amenities, and scenic views. Bathroom was a bit small, but adequate. It's a real bonus to have Nipper's Café on the premises.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We love regulars !!!! Thanks so much for staying with us again. You certainly went the mile writng the review. Many thanks and happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Thanksgiving weekend - family and friends stayed in about 5 rooms over the holiday weekend enjoying clean, comfortable rooms at a very affordable price for the Manchester area. We are renting a house this winter in town and we ran out of room for the group that came up thus we shipped them off to the Stamford Motel. Everyone was happy with the rooms - it isn't a four star resort but the rooms are individually decorated and charming. They are very warm rooms. We will be renting additional rooms at the Stamford again at Christmas - thanks for being so helpful and accommodating with our large group and allowing us to use the restaurant for a bit. Nipper's is very good we are just sorry we didn't have time this trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priscilla068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

It was so great to have your family stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to write the reviews over the years. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed at the Stamford numerous times and it is the only place I stay while in Manchester. My last visit was in September and I took a number of amazing pictures from the walkway in front of my room. I love the view that I wake up to each morning! Karen and Adam, as always, were very attentive and accomodating. I always feel at home here and my room was perfect for my 3 night stay. I highly recommend The Stamford for all of the above reasons!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We are happy that you have become your to go place when you are in VT and away from sunny Florida - always a pleasure to have you stay. Looking forward to seeing you next year - please remember to stay two weeks - you alway end up extending your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at the Stamford Motel for a weekend in October. The room was comfortable and clean. We stayed in room 4 -- the bathroom and room had just been renovated. Phoned them for a reservation after finding them online in order to determine which room would meet our needs. Karen was very direct about the cost of each room and the status of what phase the rooms were in. Our friends stayed in another room and it was clean and comfortable as well. The bathroom was not as spacious but for the amount of time we were at the motel it didn't really matter. The shower was strong and the water very hot. The grounds had amazing perennial gardens and we had an awesome view of the mountain. Would love to come in August to see the flowers in bloom. Ate at Nippers and had two great meals -- breakfast and dinner. Karen was very friendly and informative about the area and gave us tons of ideas for things to do. We will definitely return this winter for a ski package. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ward y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us this past October. We look forward to you returning in the winter months. Many thanks for finding time to write the review we greatly appreciate it and happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed at the Stamford twice in the past two months. The rooms are clean and spacious and the motel is quiet and affordable. Breakfast at Nipper's is wonderful, and Adam and Karen are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaH366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We are looking to provide a very affordable option while in Manchester and we hope that it suits most people who are on a budget. We are happy that we lived up to your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again. Happy New Year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Once we had found the accommodation in all truth not too disappointed. We had two sat navs and both put the location of the hotel at least half a mile away.
Karen was very nice and very friendly.
The room was adequate for an overnight stay.
The accommodation is room only but that was not an issue for us.
Room was warm, clean and one could not really ask for more.
It was as far as we could tell good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We get many calls when people get frustrated because they don't put Manchester Center into GPS - you will end up by Orvis - We are so happy that you were satisfied with the accommodations and we hope that you return. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Stamford for a wedding in town. The owner was very nice but we waited to be checked in for quite sometime. When she did arrive she was in a bathrobe and hair towel. Our room was very nice,clean, and comfortable and is just minutes from the center if town. We would stay again despite the way we were welcomed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,111,289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Sorry I was in the shower. My schedule this past May was from 7am - 10pm - the time I enjoy taking a quick shower is just before I need to waitress for dinner. So I did and I do apologize again. My husband was running an errand and I needed to get ready for work - if I had known you were coming I would have waited. Its hard to judge when is the right time to fit in a quick shower. Many thanks for staying with us and we are glad that you were happy with your accommodations. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 17 in Manchester
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 17 in Manchester
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#13 of 17 in Manchester
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 17 in Manchester
278 reviews
1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#9 of 17 in Manchester
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing