We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the savings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Manchester, VT is one of our favorite places to stay, and we usually patronize the Battenkill Inn B&B. But this past March, we were looking for an inexpensive one-night getaway and decided to stay at the Stamford Inn, decidely cheaper than most of the other inns and motels in the area. Yes, we saved money, but we decided it wasn't worth it. We were given one of four upstairs rooms in the center of the motel. The nice part about the room was that it was quiet and there was a small roof-top deck off the side of the room (perfect for smokers, though I'm not a smoker). But these were the only nice things about the room. The motel was shabby, outdated, and cramped. The shower was miniscule--there was barely any room to move. And the bathoom, as well as the room's decor, was dour and depressing. This inn sorely needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank zelphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Under old owners Karen and Adam didn't own the property yet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 408 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pennington, New Jersey
15
Reviewed 18 January 2005

For over twenty years we have been coming back to the Stamford. Albeit a small motel, the owners are always helpful and provide rooms which are very comfortable, complete w/fridge and micro and in-room coffee. Two doubles are always available, and it's set back from the highway ... nice and quiet and good views of the Equonox Mountains.
Found them to be the best value for the dollar ... others at least 20% more in cost and less amenities.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Owner old ownership Karen and Adam didn't own the property yet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mass
321
Reviewed 16 June 2003

We were visiting Southern Vermont in early June and stayed at the Stamford Motel for two nights. It was a nice, cozy, affordable option, compared with other motels in the area. It has well-kept grounds and is set back from the road so it's quiet at night. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a cozy and affordable place to stay.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Under old ownership. Karen and Adam didn't own the property yet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ralf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank sammy1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rocoenvacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank FERNANDO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £74 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing