We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I wanted to surprise my boyfriend with a birthday getaway as a surprise. However because of his crazy schedule I could only get confirmation he could get the next day (6/28/2014) off at 10pm the evening before. I called and left a message to see if there was availability. I spoke to Laurie early the next morning who assured us she could get us in to our favorite room and to come on up! When we arrived Laurie also was kind enough to call and make special dinner reservations at Bistro Henry to make this even more special. I have stayed at The Manchester View 5 times previously and have always been very impressed but I never took the time to write a review....however this time because of the extra special treatment I felt the compelled to let everyone know what a great place this is. The staff goes above and beyond to make your visit extra special. The rooms are beautiful (we stayed in out favorite Grand Suite) and the grounds are amazing. I will continue to stay here and look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Grand Suite 111 is private and has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so happy you have returned numerous times; it makes us proud to know The Manchester View has exceeded your expectations. All of our staff from front desk to housekeeping and maintenance goes the extra mile to make our guests’ stay comfortable and special. Lori, our manager, is a wonderful asset as she always sets a great example for everyone to follow by putting our guests first! We look forward to your next visit – maybe more summer fun in the sun or an autumn leaf-peeping adventure?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    160
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
166
269
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Manchester view from the 24th thru 28th June 2014. As with my past stays. this id superbly outstanding to for with my past visits there. The management was outstanding and the service by the staff was superb. As usual, they made me feel welcome helped in locating places in Manchester. The rooms were kept immaculately the room staff. I had previously booked this hotel last year and found the service to be outstanding. To me, they again out did themselves. I will be booking this hotel anytime I am going to Vermont and staying in Manchester. The location is on historic 7A, within minutes to Manchester, Manchester Center, Arlington, Shaftsberry. 30 minutes to Bennington, and a pleasant ride to Weston and Bromley (30 minutes and 45 minutes) as I go there all the time. There are so many sights and things to do. What an outstanding hotel. Thank you to the management and staff. Since I will be coming back this fall in Sept and next year in June, I will make sure I have my reservations in place for the Manchester View.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms and all have good views. I try for the ones on top as I like to look out ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for revisiting the Manchester View! We are always glad to see our return guests. Our aim is to please our guests, and to make their stays comfortable and enjoyable. You are so right – there are no bad rooms; all the rooms are decorated beautifully and have excellent views. You mention the 20’s building as having a lovely view of the fields and mountains; so it is true of our other buildings. Our location is superb for getting into town fast, or for going on excursions to nearby towns and attractions. We are proud of all of our staff, and appreciate you noting their hard work and dedication. We look forward to seeing you again in September during leaf-peeping season. If you haven’t booked yet, we urge you to do it soon as we do fill up during that time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose this motel because of all the wonderful reviews. They were right. Nice room very quiet and close to everything. The office staff was very friendly. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job. Our room was always perfect. We sat on our deck and enjoyed the view and the great weather. We were in the area for a wedding. When we return to the area we'l be sure to stay here. That says it all!

Room Tip: Be nice and ask for help. Whoever you talk with will be happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at The Manchester View while visiting for a wedding. Your review sums up our hotel nicely – just far away enough to be quiet, but very close to shopping, dining and everything else the area has to offer. We’re proud of our staff – reception desk, housekeeping and maintenance – for doing a noticeably excellent job; they always aim to please! And we’re glad the weather was nice so you could enjoy the deck; by the way, all of our 36 rooms have a deck or patio. We look forward to your next visit – come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently spent a "sisters weekend" at the Manchester View. We stayed in the two bedroom king suite. It was perfect! From the scheduled massage we each had right in our room, the spectacular view, the location - which was perfect for shopping and seeing the general area - we just couldn't ask for more. We're thinking we may want to make this a yearly event!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Manchester View for your “sisters’ weekend.” You chose just the right accommodations – the two-bedroom king suite – as it has plenty of room and amenities for 3 to 6 guests. We’re so glad you enjoyed our expert massage therapists, as well as our spectacular views and perfect location. We sure hope to see y’all again next year – or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If your heading to Manchester, Vermont......Manchester View is your place. The owners/staff were so hospitable and helpful in every aspect of our visit. The rooms were clean, well appointed and the views from the balcony were outstanding! The otel is close to town and the hotel staff is well versed in everything Manchester. I highly recommend this hotel. Vermont is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view....or some of their suites were lovely. We were there with college frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plandry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to compliment The Manchester View. It’s the best place to stay in the area. As you noticed, our staff goes out of their way to make our guests’ stay above and beyond expectations. Your reunion group was a pleasure to host. We hope you can come back again – maybe during leaf-peeping season in autumn. Though it’s beautiful here all four seasons, autumn is extraordinary with all the colors and apple-picking. Or maybe another summer visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The owner and staff were so helpful and went out of their way to help us in planning weekend activities-Booked golf for us at a private country club. Assisted in bike trails routing as well as hiking trails. Without even asking brought in a tray and extra glasses for a small cocktail party we had in one of their rooms which was a beautiful suite. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The views from the resort were breathtaking. Great stay helped by a great resort, owner, and staff. Highly recommended and such a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate your kind words about your recent stay with us! Your group was a pleasure to host. We were happy to make your experience great. Our staff always goes the extra mile to make our guests’ stay the best it can be. And our views are breathtaking – it’s the Manchester View, of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently did a nine day trip around southern Vermont and the Berkshires. We decided to book Manchester View because of the pictures on their website of the balcony. It didn't disappoint! The room was large and nicely furnished, but the balcony was the place to be. The balcony is large with great furniture.surrounded by stunning mountain views. It was the perfect place to relax.

I was a little disappointed however, when the front desk couldn't recommend a nearby place for a picnic. One of the reasons we go to Vermont from Florida is the wonderful hiking opportunities, and we usually pack a lunch and enjoy a picnic, Also, I had to ask for decaf coffee in the Keurig coffee maker. The friendly housekeeper on our last day finally provided this for us. We also wish they had their breakfast room open. Even though we were there on Memorial Day weekend, the breakfast room wasn't open. We would have preferred to pay a small fee for a continental breakfast rather then driving a few miles away to get breakfast.

This is a wonderful place to stay, very clean with beautiful views, but unless you are really into shopping in the Manchester area, we prefer the recreational opportunities around Stowe. The resort where we stay in Stowe welcomes you with lobby coffee all day, fresh apples and afternoon cookies. Manchester View was a little smaller than that resort, but I was expecting the same kind of Vermont hospitality. Think we will keep going back to Stowe whenever we visit Vermont.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Manchester View. We’re thrilled you enjoyed the balcony so much! Every room has a balcony/deck or patio with a view.

Sorry to hear you were disappointed when our front desk staff didn’t recommend a picnic location. There are numerous places to go, so we’re disappointed, as well, in the staff member that didn’t provide you with that information you wanted in order to enjoy your stay. We hope you were able to have your picnic anyway.

We’re sorry we couldn’t accommodate your desire to eat in our breakfast room.

We don’t normally put decaf in the rooms unless the guest requests it. We do offer an array of coffee flavors in regular and decaf in our office that guests can choose to bring to their rooms.
We, too, have coffee available all day in our office, like your “resort” in Stowe. During apple picking season, we offer freshly picked apples, as well as Vermont-made maple candies all year long.

We’re not trying to compete with Stowe, as it’s a different location entirely. We do, however, take pride in all that The Manchester View offers, and welcome you back any time you find yourself in our area. We promise to put decaf in your room if you ask for it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Property: Manchester View
Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View
Manchester View Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing