We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked this hotel because I thought I was getting a room with a view as the name says. there are rooms that have a view but ours did not. you should be sure to ask so you are not disappointed as we were. the room itself was average and looked like it needed some updating. also, the charge of $3 for a continental breakfast should have just been included in the room cost. Manchester is a lovely place to visit but I would not stay in this location again.

Room Tip: make sure it has a view or you will be looking at the parking lot and lawn like we were
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 46531bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We’re sorry to hear of your disappointment. We wish you would have talked to us while you were here. All of our rooms have a view. The Robert Frost room you chose to book online has a garden view. The online description states this and not that it has a mountain view. When you booked the room, there were few rooms available, and on that particular weekend, all of our rooms were occupied. As for our breakfast, our guests appreciate the choice of eating before hitting the road. The cost is nominal, but enables us to offer this amenity. We hope you come back to Manchester, and give us another try in a room with a mountain view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Fine except no Fox News or CNBC. Nice rooms and staff. Small refrigerator.Lovely view and staff. I stayed during the Horse Show. Good shops and restaurants in Manchester----many outlets. All sorts of restaurants---every kind of food. Reasonable and delicious. Friendly service---also in the shops.

Room Tip: They have names---Calvin Coolidge, etc. Overlooking grass field--a little more expensive. About 5 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sarahdonnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for your review. All of our 36 rooms have a refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker. We have a TV package that includes 24 channels, and all rooms have at least one TV and DVD. You're right about Manchester and the area - there's so much going on with shopping and dining, plus art, theatre, nature, hiking and outdoor adventures, and more! We hope you come back and choose to stay with us at The Manchester View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed last night in room 127 which is a 2-bedroom suite on the lower floor of the rear building. We didn't need two bedrooms, but the option of a suite with a separate living room was what we wanted (it was very spacious!!!). We have so many positives to report about this resort! The view from this room was absolutely incredible - with an extended grassy foreview to the varied mountains in the background - this view was seen from both the master bedroom to the living room. The room had its own long porch equipped with chairs and tables. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and of the perfect temperature (I enjoyed the pool in the evening and first thing in the morning) - and the view from the pool was outstanding (mountains!). The room was super-clean and provided lots of towels and more pillows than I could imagine - the mattress was very comfortable. There were TVs in both bedrooms and in the living area. The room also had a Keurig coffee maker and a refrigerator. There was a wood-burning fireplace (seasonal) and all of the air conditioning that one would need. We missed the offerings in the breakfast room because it was 9:45 when we decided to go find out what it was all about (it only lasts from 7:30-9:30), but we were definitely told about the hours when we checked in. The decor of the room was a little dated, but I found it to be cute and Vermont-like (rustic) - again, it was clean which is all that mattered. A plus was that the grounds were very manicured and included lots of flowers, trees and grass.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pisces4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We’re thrilled to hear of your comfortable and enjoyable stay with us! You’ve reviewed everything about The Manchester View and we appreciate your time in doing so! In addition to The Two-Bedroom Suites, we have other suites and specialty rooms that are perfect for up to 4 guests. Sorry you missed breakfast – maybe next time you visit you can partake in our offerings of bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, tea and Green Mountain coffee – all for only $3 per person. How about visiting us again soon – maybe in autumn? We’d love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is our second trip to the Manchester View. Our first trip was a snow covered ski weekend complete with fireplace. This past weekend was a summer trip to celebrate our anniversary. The view from the very cozy room was spectacular! Very green instead of very white this time. The staff is extremely pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone who would enjoy a very cozy place to stay while enjoying Vermont!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We appreciate you becoming a repeat guest! And glad you’ve gotten to see The Manchester View during the seasons of winter and summer. We’d love for you to visit during leaf-peeping season when the colorful leaves play off the mountains. You can go apple and pumpkin picking, and enjoy the crispness of the air. Hope to see you again really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in a suite that was very comfortable and spacious. Could easily accommodate four people (even had two bathrooms). Amazing views, wonderful location, staff was lovely. Excellent value for the price - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for your positive review of The Manchester View! You stayed in a Grand Suite which is so very comfortable for up to four guests. There’s a lot of amenities to mention about the Grand Suite; the best parts are the 2nd bathroom off the living room and the 2-person spa tub in the king bedroom suite. And from mid-September to April 30th guests get to enjoy the cozy gas fireplace! Maybe you can come in the fall when you visit again! We look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked this hotel online at the last minute and only a few rooms were available - one of which was the Calvin Coolidge suite. It was a little higher than I wanted to pay, but the room seemed lovely and after looking at many places, decided to book it. When we arrived, we were very pleased with the location and setting of this property. After a quick and pleasant check in, we were on our way to the Calvin Coolidge suite, complete with own parking space and grand entrance. The room was large, nicely decorated, clean, comfortable, and well equipped (I was thrilled to see a Keurig coffee machine!). However, the private balcony with unbelievable views just swept us away! As we didn't check in until 5 pm and were checking out the next day, we were very glad to find that they have a checkout time of 12 noon! This gave us more time to sit and just enjoy this beautiful piece of nature. We were surprised to hear that they actually charge a fee (although a modest $3) for their continental breakfast, which is really just muffins - no hot items at all. We didn't care because we bought our own muffins to have with coffee and enjoyed it out on our balcony - but with the prices they charge for the rooms, they really should include a decent continental breakfast. Lastly, after driving around the beautiful town of Manchester and seeing the other hotels I considered when booking online, there wasn't a doubt in my mind that we definitely picked the right place!! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: rooms 101 to 111 are not mountain facing and have no mountain view. All rooms have a deck or balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lbouchard33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at The Manchester View! You were lucky to get the Calvin Coolidge Suite as it books up fast, especially during the summer and fall. The view from your private deck or sitting in the big comfy chairs just inside the sliding glass doors, is truly amazing.

The $3 for charge for breakfast is quite a deal, we’ve been told by our guests, since breakfast in town will cost at least $10 per person! We don’t include it in our room rates because we give the best rate to each guest, so if we included the breakfast in the room rate all the prices would have to be set higher, and not every guest wants to stay for breakfast. Our continental breakfast includes muffins, bagels, cereal, juice, and coffee and tea.

Actually our check-out time is 11:00 a.m. We can sometimes accommodate a later check-out, when asked by guests ahead of time.

We look forward to your return visit and to amazing you all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Room 101 had two large beds which accommodated four family members for three nights. The room was clean, and decorated well. The bathroom was large and very clean. There was a deck and beyond the deck was a beautiful large field to play on. The flowers at this hotel were well tended and beautiful! Free coffee is available in the room and in the office. The pool was excellent, cool, refreshing and clean. I would definitely stay here again with my family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maggied00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at The Manchester View! The Deluxe and Premium Queen Rooms are quite lovely. Our housekeeping staff does a great job making sure to make the rooms clean and comfortable for our guests. The landscaped grounds are tended to daily to be beautiful all year long. And our heated pool is a super amenity. We’re glad you’ll visit again and we look forward to seeing you then! Try us later in the summer or during leaf-peeping season in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £70 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View
Manchester View Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing