We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K Room......Sumptuous Views”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We recently returned from a one night stay at the Manchester View. The "standard ($95) room was just that: standard, nothing special, fine for a one night stay.To be fair, I'm sure the other up level rooms are probably more impressive. However, the nicely landscaped grounds and the expansive views are magnificent, and the staff we encountered were all attentive and helpful. One critical observation: the $3 charge for the continental breakfast,although economicly defensible and probably necessary. had a "nickel and dime" feeling about it. Stay for the views. They are exquisite!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Everything about theis beautiful motel was wonderful. The staff was more than accomodating. The rooms were clean.and The view was spectacular!!!!!!!!! We definately will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4dogs4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I stayed at Manchester View one night this past weekend in a standard queen room. I decided to book it because the reviews seemed mostly positive, the location was good (about 20 min from Stratton Mt, which is where I was going the following day), and it was one of the few places that was available last minute. According to their website, they have a two night minimum; however, I called and spoke to the clerk, and she willingly waved this rule.

Upon arriving, I was ready to rate this motel four or five stars. The room was pleasant: nothing fancy but cozier and more updated decor than any motel in which I've ever stayed. The bathroom appeared recently updated with new tile and vanity. They even provide aromatherapy toiletries one might expect to find at a hotel. Most importantly for me, however, was both the room and bathroom were incredibly clean. For me, this aspect is a must, and Manchester View certainly did this well.

The two main "issues" I had with Manchester View was when we went to sleep (or the lack thereof). Firstly, the mattress was exceedingly uncomfortable; it was only slightly better than sleeping on the ground. Admittedly, I tend to dislike hard mattresses, but even my boyfriend (who never complains) had incredible difficulty staying asleep. It was impossible to get comfortable on the rock of a mattress. Secondly, there was a decent amount of noise at night. Between the fairly thin walls (you could hear the muffled voices, loud footsteps, and water usage of those next door) and the heating system, the noise always disrupted our sleep. Although I would admit that the noise probably wouldn't have been an issue if we had been completely asleep and not tossing/turning due to the mattress.

Overall, this place isn't bad. It certainly has positive aspects to commend it; however, for the price (125 plus tax), you might be better off looking for a B&B (which will cost about the same) in the area. There you might get a better night's sleep and an inclusive breakfast (Manchester View's provides breakfast but charges extra).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveToTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Suites give great extra space. Decore is older but very clean and well kept. The kids love the 2 person spa tubs. Indoor skating rink is one mile down the road if you want a break from skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exerciselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We were 2 couples and took one suite with two queen size bed rooms.

Great Great place, amazing staff, large, clean, tidy and very comfortable rooms.

Fire place is a real treat! And we even had our own private parking space just outside our door.
We loved staying there are can whole heartedly recommend it!

Breakfast was very basic to our taste ($3) so on the second morning we ate out. Your decision, depends if you’re a breakfast kind of person ;0)

Take a look at the pictures....

Joel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We just got back to NJ from a 4 night stay at the Manchester View. From booking (with Sarah) to check out we felt welcomed. We got some wonderful dinner recommendations, everyone couldn't have been nicer. We stayed in the Grand Suite. Loved the Gas fireplace and the spacious bathroom. Everything was so clean. My son has allergies and he's my barameter for cleanliness, he was fine. Breakfast was fun to go to as we got to meet other guests and discussed where everyone was going skiing and the slope conditions they found. The muffins (especially the apple cinn. ones) were delicious. We are looking forward to returning. Look at their site to preview the rooms, when we walked in it was just as we saw on-line.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJLor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Traveling with your kids can always be a little hectic (and unwelcoming), but from the moment we walked into the office we felt instantly welcomed. The girl at the desk (Sarah) greeted us with a smile and was so helpful. She told us a list of things we could do with our children and when one of our children tripped and started crying she even gave him a piece of chocolate to help his "boo boo". She told us were the best restaurants in town were if you had children. We chose Laney's and it was great for the kids and the food was also fantastic.
Our room was perfect. We stayed in the Grand Suite and there was plenty of room and it is defiantly one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the Manchester area, the staff is great, the hotel is beautiful, and it really does have some of the greatest views in town. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrbussiness28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
264 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £72 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View
Manchester View Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing