We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2007

The North Shire is a terrific motel if cleanliness, a friendly staff, and a beautiful location are important to you. The room was spotless, large, and updated. The view out of the large sliding doorway is gorgeous. If you want swanky, go elsewhere. Otherwise, the North Shire is for you!!!!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank jmichael-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2007

OK, I'll be honest. here. In the past I always had an image of "motels" as being something stuck in the 1950's with musty rooms, cheap furniture, and a cranky chainsmoking curmudgeon or even worse, Anthony Perkins at the desk who took your money and threw a key at you and that was that. It was a completely pleasant shock to me that I not only liked the Northshire Motel, I was actually hoping that Tim and Kerry might offer adopt me before I checked out so I could move in! I honestly cannot think of one bad thing about this place and I am a pretty picky person. I called several times before actually booking a room to check availability because I was not sure what my dates would be. Kerry was pleasant everytime I called and she took my number and offered to call me if rooms should start filling up before I could call her back with my dates. She genuinely wanted to help and the fact that she went that extra step impressed me. Throughout out stay, the owners were a wonderful source of information about the area and were easy to talk to. We arrived and checked in quickly and were warmly greeted. Our room was leaps and bounds beyond my expectations. It was not anything luxurious but it was spotless and newly renovated. The beds were new and extremely comfortable. The entire side of the room that is facing the road with the mountain view is made of a glass sliding door with a screen. The view is breath taking. If it was any further back from the road the view would not be what it is and I never noticed noise from passing cars during my stay. There were also some lawn chairs outside our room where were were able to sit and relax under the big shady tree. There was a new air conditioner that was appreciated in the summer heat ,and there was also a fridge that we were grateful for as well. The bathroom was spotless and had a blow dryer and lots of clean towels and the bath mat was cleaned daily. There was a central room that had a fireplace, lots of beer and wine glasses and games if you should want to relax and bring in your own alcohol and sit for a while. Outside this room is a deck that was being painted while were there but I would imagine that it would also make for a nice peaceful area for sitting and taking in the surrounding views. Behind the motel is a large in ground heated swimming pool that was well maintained and a pleasure to swim in. Just off from the front desk area is a small room where there were breakfast items and coffee available in the morning for guests including bagels, english muffins, oatmeal,sweet breads such as banana and pumpkin cranberry. There were also bookcases full of movies for borrowing and a computer available for guest use which was extermely helpful for me in mapping out directions and looking up a few things that I would not been able to if I had not had this amenity. The rooms are also equipped for wireless internet access too should you have your laptop with you. If you are looking for a spotlessly clean room with fabulous views and a warm comfrotable atmosphere that won't break the bank, this is definitely the place you should consider. I came for one night and ended up staying longer I found it so comfy and relaxing. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank cupcakegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed at the North Shire for several years until we finally moved to the area in the past year or so.

Spectacular place to stay! Just far enough of the chaos that is Manchester Village (Equinox area) and that of the outlets and conveniently on RT 7A towards Bennington.

Wonderful breakfast which includes some of Kerry's homemade baked goods and other treats.

If you head back early after dinner, there's an entire VHS video library from which you can choose in the lobby to watch in your rooms (each one has a VHS/DVD player). Also, there's WiFi all over the grounds - I think it even works up at the swimming pool.

Excellent value, cleanest, tidiest rooms and friendliest service from the Walker family and a warm welcome from their little dog Tipper. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nutella42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Great place to stay. A diamond in the rough. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and each has a spectacular view. The main lodge area has many movies and games that you can either take back with you to your room or into a back lounging room that is so cozy. I hope when you drive through Manchester that you take a break at this great motel.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roadtripperNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

This is a great AFFORDABLE motel (with bed and breakfast atmosphere) just outside of Manchester Vermont on 7A. I recommend it for couples or families.

They have a great comfortable tavern/pub gathering room with a beautiful deck and view for adults to BYOB or just relax, a huge selection of tapes and DVD's and games to borrow and a terrific breakfast/snack room. Continental breakfast of cereal, cereal bars, bagels, english muffins, toast, coffee, tea & juice is included with your stay. There is also snacks and cold drinks and a microwave and ice machine available in the breakfast room for use at any time. We checked out the pool which looked really nice but was not open yet due to being too early in the season.

I can't find a bad thing at all to say about this place. The rooms were SPOTLESS....and I really looked and couldn't find a spec of dust or dirt. The bed was very comfortable and all the furniture and decor was great. Terrific water pressure in the shower!

I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it highly. You cannot beat the value for the Manchester area.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank onemantwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

We came for Manchester for the outlet shops and to get away and relax. We chose the North Shire Motel because it looked nice and was well priced. WOW!! Everything about this place was Amazing!! Clean, warm, quiet, nice innkeepers, and a great breakfast! Our friends stayed at a different place and soon joined us at the North Shire Motel because it was much better then where they were staying, and also better then most of the places they looked at to stay. Everything was perfect!! Thanks Tim and Kerry!!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank RickyDickieDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2006

We stayed at the Northshire for two nights. The innkeepers are very lovely, the motel is very clean and the rooms were comfortable. The motel is set out of the town of Manchester and is quiet and private. If the owners were to upgrade it a little bit, it would be really wonderful..The towels were small white typical motel towels, and if the owners sprung for fluffy big bathtowels, it would be a tremendous improvement. Also, the blankets are the cheap motel type ones, if there were duvets with down or down like fil in them, it would raise this lovely plain motel into something quite great. Maybe it would stop being a motel and become a country inn.

5  Thank lolamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
5.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £116 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing