We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fall weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent a long weekend in this lovely inn. The views from our room were awesome. Hosts are helpful and friendly. Rooms are well appointed and clean. We did not eat at the lodge but heard many guests exclaiming how wonderful their dinners were as we enjoyed a night cap at the bar. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoyed having you in the Pub for a night cap each evening. Our Pub is unique and a great place to relax just for a drink or if desired an appetizer. Hope to have you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend as a getaway from Manhattan life, and it was beyond awesome! Kerry and Tim were very friendly and easygoing, and breakfast was delicious. We hiked around Mt. Equinox, did some outlet shopping, went to the Vermont Country Store, Hildene, and more. It was the perfect time to catch the end of the Fall colors, which were spectacular. I highly recommend visiting the cozy North Shire Lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank scohen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for three nights and this was our third time at the Lodge. The location is scenic and the rooms large with great view. Kerry and Tim are very friendly, efficient and accomodating to their guests.The size of the Lodge is pleasing with it being small and quaint. Pub offers excellent food and drink and by being open only to guests it is more desirable. Tim is a master of Martinis Kerry's breakfast meals were wonderful and the dinner selections are varied. Her culinary creations make your taste buds water. The food is tasty and portions more than ample. We will visit again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are large and have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penny924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My partner and I just returned from a three-night stay, and it was as good as the previous two times. We received a wonderful surprise breakfast treat from the owners on the first morning, so I must give a big thanks to them again for that. As usual, the room was spotless, quiet, and comfortable. The bar/restaurant is cozy and classically decorated. Both owners are quick to give travel tips, and they know the area well. The lodge is located close to Manchester Center (and its amazing bookstore), Mount Equinox (which is worth driving up), and the town of Bennington. We'll be back again some day!

Room Tip: Though I've never really noticed a difference, the higher the room number, the further the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montechrisco25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was a nice size and you can park right in front of your unit. The managers were helpful and gave us advice about hiking trails and sold us tickets to Hildene at a discount. The breakfast was home made and tasty but you need to sign up the night before.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank delawaretourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent a long weekend at the North Shire Lodge and had a wonderful stay. The beds are comfortable, the rooms large and the view is amazing. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts are excellent and the pub is very cozy and comfortable. The location is perfect; it's very close to Manchester Center, Hildene and Skyline Drive. I'd highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had another great stay at the North Shire, just for 1 night, for a quick get-away. We wanted to travel from CT to visit The Vermont Country Store, which is about a 1/2-hour ride from the North Shire. The rooms were once again very comfortable and very, very clean. Nice view from the sliding door. It's a small motel with very friendly owners. Pleasant check-in. Very good breakfast, even vegetarian which was wonderful.

Room Tip: Small hotel with only 14 or 15 rooms, all adjoined cottage-style. Even if you stay close to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
660 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
6.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £115 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing