We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Motel Near Some Nice Attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #4 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Motel Near Some Nice Attractions”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading the other reviews posted on TripAdvisor, I guess my expectations were pretty high for this place. We came to Manchester for my husband's birthday and I was expecting to be wowed by the North Shire Lodge after reading through the reviews. We've spent quite a bit of time in Vermont and have stayed at various B&Bs in the state over the years. I have to say this place was pretty average compared to the rest of the places we've stayed in Vermont. The room feels more like a motel than a B&B but perhaps I should have expected that from the photos--definitely doesn't have a "lodge" feel to it. There is also a pretty busy road in between that bucolic view of the mountains and this lodge which the photos don't show. My husband and I both thought the breakfast was just ok and if we'd stayed longer than 2 nights we definitely would have found another place for breakfast. The best part of the place was that the king bed was very comfortable and the bedding was high quality. For the price of this place (even in low season) I was expecting a lot more for our money. Next time we'll go back to the B&Bs. The Mount Equinox hike was great (but snow and ice at the summit even in May) and I'm sure it's lovely in summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We’re proud to have just been notified by Trip Advisor that we have been awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence, an award that we have been honored to receive every year since they have been awarding them. It appears that what you really wanted for your special occasion was a more traditional historic B&B type experience (which we are not), but were so impressed by all of our great reviews that you booked with us anyway. It is always best to book a lodging property based first on what type of property/experience fits you best, and then check reviews to make sure that they are good. We may not be the right fit for everyone, and apparently we were not what you really wanted even though you checked out all of our photos yourself.

One past guest described us as being a great hybrid – the best of both worlds between a B&B and a hotel/motel. Our guests love the privacy of our quiet rooms with amazing views, and the fact that they get a good freshly cooked breakfast. (Bon Appetite magazine actually contacted us for one of our recipes!) To top it off our Pub has probably the largest selection of beverages in Vermont which includes many classic and unique cocktails, with great appetizers and meals served in season. The menu is 29 pages long!

Our web site clearly shows photos of every room, the property and our building from various angles. We explain in detail what we do and what our amenities are, so that nobody is disappointed in their stay. Our web site is true and factual with recent photos of all the rooms. The reason that the photo of our great view from the room you stayed in (#12) does not show the road, is simply because you cannot see the road from the room you stayed in. The road is a few acres down the hill – it is Historic Route 7A, a 2 lane road that runs through Manchester and all of the historic villages of Southwestern Vermont.

The word “motel” just doesn’t really fit a place that offers all that we do. Our guests are so pleasantly surprised with our clean rooms and that they can enjoy their breakfast in the morning in our Pub or on the deck with sweeping views of the mountains and the Battenkill Valley with soothing music to help get their day started. We wish you the best on your next visit to Vermont, and now that you know what we are all about, perhaps you’ll choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    55
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
194
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We found the Lodge's owners to be friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. The Pub's atmosphere is delightful. The drink menu is astonishing. The room was clean and inviting. The home cooked breakfast was delicious. The only problem - our stay was way too short! Jim & Janet McManus

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Glad you had such a good time staying with us! So happy you enjoyed your breakfast and our clean rooms. Should our guests decide to enjoy our Pub, they will find our 29 page menu "astonishing" as you say! Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We are repeat guests of the Northshire. Rooms are great - clean, spacious, nicely decorated with comfortable beds. . The hosts, Tim & Kerri are friendly and very accommodating, and we always feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mainetraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Wow! Such a great compliment to say that we are the best place to stay in Manchester. We put our heart and soul into this business so it makes us feel great when our guests appreciate what we do. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It's a unique place with a great location!
The owners are very nice and accommodating.
The breakfasts are great and the service is great!
Room was clean and had nice furniture.
The internet connection in our room worked very well.
Also parking right in front of our room was also convenient for loading our ski equipment.
The pub is also quaint and has a nice fireplace and deck with great view of the mountain ranges!
Also a short ride to downtown Manchester.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greggartsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
What a long and cold Winter that was! It is great to come into the Pub after a day of winter sports and enjoy our warm fire and great atmosphere in the Pub. We're so glad that you enjoyed breakfast, our rooms and our Pub. Have a great Spring & Summer, as Winter is always just around the corner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just returned from a family ski weekend with the North Shire Lodge as our base. Our stay was just terrific; no corner of this property is untended (even the movie library is perfectly organized). This easygoing lodge truly rises to the top of the class in every way: for reasonable rates, spacious rooms are tasteful and warm. Our room was spotless on arrival and cleaned fully every day. Views were stunning and serene. The Pub is cozy, welcoming retreat after a long day on the slopes. The food is excellent; breakfast changed every day but was always hot, freshly prepared and filling. Our kids think the place is a little bit magic. I'm inclined to agree with them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We look forward to our annual trip to the North Shire Lodge. The rooms are clean and spacious. The (for guest only) Mountain View Pub allows us all to relax and enjoy each others company without having to drive, not to mention the food is out of this world. This place will be a family tradition for many years to come! Thank you Tim. & Terry for all you do.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dannlori24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the North Shire this weekend based on a recomendation from friends. Tim and Kerry are both warm and welcoming. Both Breakfast and dinner at the pub were very good. Rooms were clean and spacious for what we were expecting. Linnens clean and water hot. What more could you want in ski weekend lodge getaway. Most definitely would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
6.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Property: North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing