We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to the next visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One year ago I chose North Shire for two couples a buddy and his son. (He was running the Shires of Vermont Marathon. We were the cheering section!) This year there was no question we would return. That first impression was that impressive. The couple who run this place actually welcome you into their home. The pub provides locally produced beers and spirits. Breakfast and dinner are truly home-made and tasty. The rooms well kept, and the bathrooms sparkling. This year it was decided that "marathon or no marathon" we plane to spend a week-end spring-break here in 2015.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for choosing us for the past two years for your group. We have enjoyed having you immensely and are so happy that you enjoy our breakfast each morning and Pub in the evening. Can’t wait to see you all back again in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I traveled with my BF to visit her daughter in Vermont. The Lodge owners, Tim & Kerry, are friendly, funny and knowledgeable. They take turns cooking, Tim is the chef for breakfast and Kerry is the dinner chef. The meals I had for the week of my stay were marvelous and a clever blending of delicious and healthy. Being in the Pub feels like friends and family. Tim is a knowledgeable bartender and compiled the most Martini choices I have ever seen. The North Shire Lodge is so comfortable, clean and friendly! The Manchester area is beautiful too. So are the hills, excuse me, mountains. (I'm from Washington state).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cheryol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us and we’re happy that you found your meals to be Marvelous and a clever blending of delicious and healthy”. Our Pub is open five days a week just to our lodging guests, and is really a relaxing comfortable place to stay as you note. We hope someday you can travel to our part of the country again for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Quaint rooms, a traditional Vermont experience. Rooms were small, nothing fancy, but were clean and had everything you needed. Great view out the back door. Breakfast was incredible. The owner, Kerri, gave us lots of local site seeing tips to fill our time before we had to head to the wedding. I don't make it up to VT very often, but if/when I return would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading the other reviews posted on TripAdvisor, I guess my expectations were pretty high for this place. We came to Manchester for my husband's birthday and I was expecting to be wowed by the North Shire Lodge after reading through the reviews. We've spent quite a bit of time in Vermont and have stayed at various B&Bs in the state over the years. I have to say this place was pretty average compared to the rest of the places we've stayed in Vermont. The room feels more like a motel than a B&B but perhaps I should have expected that from the photos--definitely doesn't have a "lodge" feel to it. There is also a pretty busy road in between that bucolic view of the mountains and this lodge which the photos don't show. My husband and I both thought the breakfast was just ok and if we'd stayed longer than 2 nights we definitely would have found another place for breakfast. The best part of the place was that the king bed was very comfortable and the bedding was high quality. For the price of this place (even in low season) I was expecting a lot more for our money. Next time we'll go back to the B&Bs. The Mount Equinox hike was great (but snow and ice at the summit even in May) and I'm sure it's lovely in summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us. We’re proud to have just been notified by Trip Advisor that we have been awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence, an award that we have been honored to receive every year since they have been awarding them. It appears that what you really wanted for your special occasion was a more traditional historic B&B type experience (which we are not), but were so impressed by all of our great reviews that you booked with us anyway. It is always best to book a lodging property based first on what type of property/experience fits you best, and then check reviews to make sure that they are good. We may not be the right fit for everyone, and apparently we were not what you really wanted even though you checked out all of our photos yourself.

One past guest described us as being a great hybrid – the best of both worlds between a B&B and a hotel/motel. Our guests love the privacy of our quiet rooms with amazing views, and the fact that they get a good freshly cooked breakfast. (Bon Appetite magazine actually contacted us for one of our recipes!) To top it off our Pub has probably the largest selection of beverages in Vermont which includes many classic and unique cocktails, with great appetizers and meals served in season. The menu is 29 pages long!

Our web site clearly shows photos of every room, the property and our building from various angles. We explain in detail what we do and what our amenities are, so that nobody is disappointed in their stay. Our web site is true and factual with recent photos of all the rooms. The reason that the photo of our great view from the room you stayed in (#12) does not show the road, is simply because you cannot see the road from the room you stayed in. The road is a few acres down the hill – it is Historic Route 7A, a 2 lane road that runs through Manchester and all of the historic villages of Southwestern Vermont.

The word “motel” just doesn’t really fit a place that offers all that we do. Our guests are so pleasantly surprised with our clean rooms and that they can enjoy their breakfast in the morning in our Pub or on the deck with sweeping views of the mountains and the Battenkill Valley with soothing music to help get their day started. We wish you the best on your next visit to Vermont, and now that you know what we are all about, perhaps you’ll choose us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We found the Lodge's owners to be friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. The Pub's atmosphere is delightful. The drink menu is astonishing. The room was clean and inviting. The home cooked breakfast was delicious. The only problem - our stay was way too short! Jim & Janet McManus

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Glad you had such a good time staying with us! So happy you enjoyed your breakfast and our clean rooms. Should our guests decide to enjoy our Pub, they will find our 29 page menu "astonishing" as you say! Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We are repeat guests of the Northshire. Rooms are great - clean, spacious, nicely decorated with comfortable beds. . The hosts, Tim & Kerri are friendly and very accommodating, and we always feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mainetraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Wow! Such a great compliment to say that we are the best place to stay in Manchester. We put our heart and soul into this business so it makes us feel great when our guests appreciate what we do. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's a unique place with a great location!
The owners are very nice and accommodating.
The breakfasts are great and the service is great!
Room was clean and had nice furniture.
The internet connection in our room worked very well.
Also parking right in front of our room was also convenient for loading our ski equipment.
The pub is also quaint and has a nice fireplace and deck with great view of the mountain ranges!
Also a short ride to downtown Manchester.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Greggartsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

What a long and cold Winter that was! It is great to come into the Pub after a day of winter sports and enjoy our warm fire and great atmosphere in the Pub. We're so glad that you enjoyed breakfast, our rooms and our Pub. Have a great Spring & Summer, as Winter is always just around the corner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
445 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#2 of 12 in Manchester
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £109 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing