We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I, over the years, were lucky enough to travel all over the world. I want to say that our stays at the North Shire were certainly among the very best. Tim and Kerry are wonderful hosts. They attempt in every way to make our stay something special. We look forward to staying there again this fall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks Mark! It's been a pleasure to serve you over the past 6 years. Kerry and I are glad that you're feeling better now and can resume your travels to Vermont. Looking forward to seeing you again this fall. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were looking for a weekend getaway during the July 4th weekend and decided to drive to Vermont to enjoy the small towns, the scenic views, and the accommodations. We decided to stay at the North Shire Lodge.

Pros:

The rooms were much larger on the inside than they appeared from the outside. We never felt cramped like we have in some other locations.

The place was clean. I know this may not seem like much, but it's not a given when travelling.

In the lobby, you could borrow DVDs from their collection, although we did not take advantage of this.

The units were all parallel to each other, so you did not have to worry about noise from all sides, above, and below.

The bar area seemed to be well stocked, although we did not take advantage of this as we had brought our own drinks with us.

Cons:

It is not a traditional bed & breakfast. Tripadvisor needs to move this to a different category. It is more lodge/motel style lodging.

Most of the rooms faced Route 7, and you could hear the noise of passing traffic day and night.

The room had an air conditioning unit in the wall which seemed to take a very long time to cool the room. Fortunately for us, the weather was not extremely hot because it took several hours for the unit to cool the room a few degrees.

The breakfast was awful. We couldn't finish ours and ended up buying food elsewhere that day. And you have to "schedule" breakfast because the dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests in the lodge.

If we had to do it all over again, we would've researched our choices better and stayed elsewhere. Plus, it seemed a bit overpriced for what we were getting, although we attributed this to them marking it up for the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Guest Relations Manager at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your review and your recent one night stay with us. We see by looking at your many reviews for previous travel that you tend to review places on the low end of the scale. We were pretty sure that when you stayed here you would be reviewing us also – we’ve been in the business long enough to recognize someone who is more concerned during their stay with what they will be saying in their review, than just relaxing and enjoying their stay.

You did say upon leaving that you had a good stay, as I asked you personally. You stayed in room #1, which happens to be our most highly requested room by returning guests. Our rates for the holiday weekend are very competitive for the surrounding area, in fact we only had one room vacant and that was due to a last minute cancellation.

We did notice that you ate all of your pancake breakfast Sunday morning, your wife/partner did not. She even asked what the maple syrup was, as if it wasn’t real. She said she didn’t think it would be so watery – that’s what it’s like when you are served real, hot Vermont maple syrup. Most of our guests love our pancakes and many request them another time during their stays here.

It’s interesting to note that over July 4th weekend over 50% of our guests were repeat guests. Many times our rooms are filled by a much higher percentage of repeat guests. We are not a traditional bed and breakfast as you pointed out, nor do we say we are. We serve a nice, free breakfast in the morning and provide clean functional rooms with amazing views. We are not a historic bed and breakfast type inn. Our web site goes into extensive detail of what we are and what we offer with numerous up to date photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and generally give the Lodge a very good rating. It's very well kept up, our room was very clean and well furnished, and the grounds are lovely. The pool, set away from the rooms, was a nice plus on a hot day. Our room was pretty standard size motel-type room, but with much nicer furnishings than a motel room. The back door was a glass sliding door that offered a splendid mountain view. Our big complaint had to do with the air conditioning - it was LOUD and impossible to sleep with it on. Our breakfast, pancakes and sausage, was a nice send off. Short stay, but all was good except for the noisy AC!

Room Tip: The higher number rooms are further away from Rt 7A, so perhaps a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed your PANCAKE BREAKFAST with REAL Vermont Maple Syrup!! We have a special recipe that guests continually ask for and enjoy here at the Lodge time and time again.

You are so right that our mountain views are “splendid”, as you say. It makes us happy that you notice all the details on what makes us a pleasant place to stay. One tip on the air conditioner, push the “power save” button to slow it down while maintaining your desired temperature and for a quieter operation.

Hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently decided to go to Vermont for a long weekend but had never been there before. I chose to stay in Manchester on a whim and it paid off.

I cannot say enough about the North Shire Lodge! The rooms were not only impeccably clean but the bedding and views were soooooooooo wonderful.

There is a pub that is only open to guests and their visitors. We had never experienced this before and were a little wary. The food was incredible and the owners delightful.

We cannot wait to go back! This is "our new place" to look forward to since the closing of a similar inn in New York, The Point Lookout Mountain Inn. I never thought we would feel that comfortable again but the North Shire Lodge is everything one could ask for to relax.

Thank you Kerry and Tim.

Room Tip: Any room would seem like a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happynjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us! So happy that you found that our food was “incredible” and our rooms “impeccably clean” and you loved our bedding. The duvets work great on the beds and it’s nice not having old unlaundered blankets and bed spreads. We are constantly upgrading and maintaining our property which is why so many folks keep returning to us year after year. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One year ago I chose North Shire for two couples a buddy and his son. (He was running the Shires of Vermont Marathon. We were the cheering section!) This year there was no question we would return. That first impression was that impressive. The couple who run this place actually welcome you into their home. The pub provides locally produced beers and spirits. Breakfast and dinner are truly home-made and tasty. The rooms well kept, and the bathrooms sparkling. This year it was decided that "marathon or no marathon" we plane to spend a week-end spring-break here in 2015.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for choosing us for the past two years for your group. We have enjoyed having you immensely and are so happy that you enjoy our breakfast each morning and Pub in the evening. Can’t wait to see you all back again in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I traveled with my BF to visit her daughter in Vermont. The Lodge owners, Tim & Kerry, are friendly, funny and knowledgeable. They take turns cooking, Tim is the chef for breakfast and Kerry is the dinner chef. The meals I had for the week of my stay were marvelous and a clever blending of delicious and healthy. Being in the Pub feels like friends and family. Tim is a knowledgeable bartender and compiled the most Martini choices I have ever seen. The North Shire Lodge is so comfortable, clean and friendly! The Manchester area is beautiful too. So are the hills, excuse me, mountains. (I'm from Washington state).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cheryol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us and we’re happy that you found your meals to be Marvelous and a clever blending of delicious and healthy”. Our Pub is open five days a week just to our lodging guests, and is really a relaxing comfortable place to stay as you note. We hope someday you can travel to our part of the country again for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Quaint rooms, a traditional Vermont experience. Rooms were small, nothing fancy, but were clean and had everything you needed. Great view out the back door. Breakfast was incredible. The owner, Kerri, gave us lots of local site seeing tips to fill our time before we had to head to the wedding. I don't make it up to VT very often, but if/when I return would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
678 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
357 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
266 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £109 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing