We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always look forward to staying here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #4 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ticonderoga, New York
1 review
“Always look forward to staying here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Every year we look forward to the Manchester Car Show because we just love our stay at the North Shire Lodge. Tim & Kerry always make us feel like family. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. The grounds and views of the mountains are beautiful. We truly enjoy relaxing in their Pub and have never had anything less than delicious food, fabulous drink selections and superb hospitality. We won't stay anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks Tim! I just checked and you've been staying with us since 2004 for the car show. We really appreciate your support! It is always fun to have you here and to serve you in the evenings in our Pub. You'll always have a room available with us for the car show. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    55
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
80
188
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a romantic weekend getaway in Vermont. We liked North Shire lodge because is a combination of a motel and bed and breakfast. We enjoy the privacy a motel has to offer and also enjoy the cozy environment of a bed and breakfast. The rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
So happy you enjoyed your stay. Our guests seem to like the privacy of their own cabin type room yet if they choose they can have the amenities of a bed and breakfast and even a cozy pub to relax in. It is a pleasure providing travelers to the area with a real Vermont experience. We are often told it is a refreshing change from the chain hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not a true B&B because you stay in cottage/lodge dwelling, not a traditional home. The cottage/lodges face the busy road (Rt7) making it noisy. While there is a nice deck with chairs leading to the bar/pub area, the gate to access the chairs and tables was locked preventing you from sitting and enjoying the surroundings, if you could enjoy the surroundings with the noisy traffic going by. We were only offered one choice of breakfast time, which was far too early for vacation day. The breakfast seating is sorely lacking, as evidenced by the fact that a couple came in with a child and there wasn't any place for them to sit so they had to put the small child at the bar to eat! Breakfast of one sausage link and mushy pancackes wasn't up to the standards of a VT B&B. Overall, the rooms are fine. Nothing special but nothing lacking either. For the price....head down the road a bit and find a traditional B&B off the main road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyAnn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We already understand from the review your husband left a couple days ago (weary_traveller25) that we are not your favorite place. As he pointed out and we agreed, we are not the type of B&B you were looking for – we are not as you say “a traditional home”. We have never promoted ourselves that way either. Interesting that the same day we received your 2nd review from your one night stay a guest called who has been staying here for over 25 years, and was not able to book his favorite room (#1 where you stayed), because we were otherwise full (Thanks Greg S., from Lynbrook!!!)

Our deck area is an extension of our Pub, and as required by law it is closed off from lawn access during pub hours so that it can only be accessed through the Pub.

Our breakfast seating area is located in our Pub, and is licensed to seat up to 24 guests at a time. We serve breakfast at 3 convenient seatings, and when you checked in you wanted a later seating yet it was already full. It just isn’t possible for one person (me) to cook 24 or more breakfasts at one time, so we spread it out so all have time to enjoy. You arrived early for your breakfast anyway, which was fine. Pancake day is a little more flexible. Sorry our recipe for pancakes was not your favorite, but based on guest reviews, comments and requests for the recipe over the years we will keep using it as one of several different breakfast entrees we serve. For our holiday weekend rates during the 4th of July $129/139 you will not find a place nearby that actually cooks breakfast individually and serves it to you. Not all lodging properties listed on Tripadvisor as Bed & Breakfasts actually serve breakfast at all. We do, and our guests seem to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I, over the years, were lucky enough to travel all over the world. I want to say that our stays at the North Shire were certainly among the very best. Tim and Kerry are wonderful hosts. They attempt in every way to make our stay something special. We look forward to staying there again this fall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks Mark! It's been a pleasure to serve you over the past 6 years. Kerry and I are glad that you're feeling better now and can resume your travels to Vermont. Looking forward to seeing you again this fall. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were looking for a weekend getaway during the July 4th weekend and decided to drive to Vermont to enjoy the small towns, the scenic views, and the accommodations. We decided to stay at the North Shire Lodge.

Pros:

The rooms were much larger on the inside than they appeared from the outside. We never felt cramped like we have in some other locations.

The place was clean. I know this may not seem like much, but it's not a given when travelling.

In the lobby, you could borrow DVDs from their collection, although we did not take advantage of this.

The units were all parallel to each other, so you did not have to worry about noise from all sides, above, and below.

The bar area seemed to be well stocked, although we did not take advantage of this as we had brought our own drinks with us.

Cons:

It is not a traditional bed & breakfast. Tripadvisor needs to move this to a different category. It is more lodge/motel style lodging.

Most of the rooms faced Route 7, and you could hear the noise of passing traffic day and night.

The room had an air conditioning unit in the wall which seemed to take a very long time to cool the room. Fortunately for us, the weather was not extremely hot because it took several hours for the unit to cool the room a few degrees.

The breakfast was awful. We couldn't finish ours and ended up buying food elsewhere that day. And you have to "schedule" breakfast because the dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests in the lodge.

If we had to do it all over again, we would've researched our choices better and stayed elsewhere. Plus, it seemed a bit overpriced for what we were getting, although we attributed this to them marking it up for the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Guest Relations Manager at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for your review and your recent one night stay with us. We see by looking at your many reviews for previous travel that you tend to review places on the low end of the scale. We were pretty sure that when you stayed here you would be reviewing us also – we’ve been in the business long enough to recognize someone who is more concerned during their stay with what they will be saying in their review, than just relaxing and enjoying their stay.

You did say upon leaving that you had a good stay, as I asked you personally. You stayed in room #1, which happens to be our most highly requested room by returning guests. Our rates for the holiday weekend are very competitive for the surrounding area, in fact we only had one room vacant and that was due to a last minute cancellation.

We did notice that you ate all of your pancake breakfast Sunday morning, your wife/partner did not. She even asked what the maple syrup was, as if it wasn’t real. She said she didn’t think it would be so watery – that’s what it’s like when you are served real, hot Vermont maple syrup. Most of our guests love our pancakes and many request them another time during their stays here.

It’s interesting to note that over July 4th weekend over 50% of our guests were repeat guests. Many times our rooms are filled by a much higher percentage of repeat guests. We are not a traditional bed and breakfast as you pointed out, nor do we say we are. We serve a nice, free breakfast in the morning and provide clean functional rooms with amazing views. We are not a historic bed and breakfast type inn. Our web site goes into extensive detail of what we are and what we offer with numerous up to date photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and generally give the Lodge a very good rating. It's very well kept up, our room was very clean and well furnished, and the grounds are lovely. The pool, set away from the rooms, was a nice plus on a hot day. Our room was pretty standard size motel-type room, but with much nicer furnishings than a motel room. The back door was a glass sliding door that offered a splendid mountain view. Our big complaint had to do with the air conditioning - it was LOUD and impossible to sleep with it on. Our breakfast, pancakes and sausage, was a nice send off. Short stay, but all was good except for the noisy AC!

Room Tip: The higher number rooms are further away from Rt 7A, so perhaps a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your PANCAKE BREAKFAST with REAL Vermont Maple Syrup!! We have a special recipe that guests continually ask for and enjoy here at the Lodge time and time again.

You are so right that our mountain views are “splendid”, as you say. It makes us happy that you notice all the details on what makes us a pleasant place to stay. One tip on the air conditioner, push the “power save” button to slow it down while maintaining your desired temperature and for a quieter operation.

Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently decided to go to Vermont for a long weekend but had never been there before. I chose to stay in Manchester on a whim and it paid off.

I cannot say enough about the North Shire Lodge! The rooms were not only impeccably clean but the bedding and views were soooooooooo wonderful.

There is a pub that is only open to guests and their visitors. We had never experienced this before and were a little wary. The food was incredible and the owners delightful.

We cannot wait to go back! This is "our new place" to look forward to since the closing of a similar inn in New York, The Point Lookout Mountain Inn. I never thought we would feel that comfortable again but the North Shire Lodge is everything one could ask for to relax.

Thank you Kerry and Tim.

Room Tip: Any room would seem like a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us! So happy that you found that our food was “incredible” and our rooms “impeccably clean” and you loved our bedding. The duvets work great on the beds and it’s nice not having old unlaundered blankets and bed spreads. We are constantly upgrading and maintaining our property which is why so many folks keep returning to us year after year. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Property: North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing