We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Sal & Trish are great host. Awsome home cooking.Hot coffee & fluffy yummy pancakes in the a.m. Relaxing by the pool, watching the clouds roll past, listening to the birds & a deer or two prancing in the field. Had a weekend of serenity in comfy lodge setting. Looking forward to going back. Tomorrow is Monday and I will stroll into work with a smile thinking about the Red Velvet Cake & ice cream.

Room Tip: I liked the first floor because I parked my car right out side my room. Easy to bring my luggage in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
So glad that you and the crew enjoyed another great weekend with us at the Olympia. Yes our back yard is very tranquil and thanks to mother nature you were able to enjoy it. Looking forward to next year with all of you. Your whole group has become like family...
Enter as strangers, leave as friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    49
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
81
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The owners are very nice as others have stated, but I think that their personalities are what others are reviewing. The furniture, carpet, bathrooms, and décor are very dated. The room was clean, but it had a 19" or 22" old school TV. The tables & chairs in the dining room were also very dated. If you are looking for a place that you can hang out in the common room/bar in the evenings and chat with the owners and other guests - then this is place for you. If you actually care about the ambiance of your room, an updated TV & furnishings - then my suggestion is that you look for other lodging. I almost didn't write this review because I feel badly saying anything negative about a family run establishment (especially since they are so nice). If other reviews had simply stated the truth about the lodge itself, I would not have been so disappointed - because I would have chosen to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Olympia. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We try very hard to make everyone feel at home in our home. It is one of our goals not to feel like a chain hotel. We do not advertise being a luxurious hotel or claim to be one. Our web site is pretty clear on what we are offering and who we are. We are a family friendly Lodge. You mentioned about people not being truthful with their reviews; there happens to be a few reviews that do explain that we are not a ritzy hotel, but that we make up for it in many other ways. Hope you find what you are looking for in your next travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we stayed here when it was called the olympia motor lodge - so with that said - not sure if ownership has changed or management. we have stayed at numerous places in manchester, vt - they do offer a very very large room and it was clean. however to come back from the mountain and have your room at 60 degrees and you go to the front desk to inquire about the heat and to be told to turn on a standing unit that doesn't exist in your room is crazy. they did bring the unit a 1/2 hour later - but it took a little time to warm up. all you want to do is have warmth - so you hop in the shower and come out and your room is still cold. hoping the new owners figure it out, because we would give it another try.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_samuelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our last minute reservation turned out great! Sal & Trish are wonderful hosts, the lodge is nice and clean, room was clean as well. Plentiful breakfast menu, cozy fireplace & seating in the main area. We stayed only one night over the weekend while skiing in Vermont for the first time. Sal was very helpful with directions and info on the area. We'll definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasiorki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on tripadvisor. We are so glad your last minute getaway was spent with us at the Olympia. We enjoyed having you as our guest in our home. We look forward to seeing you next ski season...Have a great summer and think snow.....See you soon.

Enter as strangers, Leave as friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Olympia Lodge is a family run hotel that in my opinion is the example of how other small businesses or family run businesses SHOULD run. The way they greet and treat their guests is like those very nice neighbors inviting you to their home and making you feel welcome. This is not a 5 star enterprise but it is a very nice place to stay. The home made breakfast to me was a highlight. Its amazing how much effort they put to make sure their guests are comfortable in their place. The rooms are clean, the owners are very friendly and professional, the included breakfast is a HUGE PLUS and the hospitality is unheard of. I would recommend anyone taking a trip to that part of Vermont to stay at this place and save your money from overspending at places where you are just a number. I take a trip with my wife up there for skiing in the winter and we finally found a place to stay every year. Great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbeni540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at the Olympia for the second time over President's Day weekend and once again had a great time. Cute and cozy, you will feel right at home while staying at the Olympia. Whether relaxing by the fire or enjoying an Old Fashioned at the bar (yes, they had all the ingredients necessary!), the Olympia is a great find in Manchester!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We randomly decided to spend a night in Manchester VT when the weather turned bad. Read some reviews and decided to check out the Olympia Lodge. Was greeted by the owner Sal at the front desk and after a brief conversation realized we both grew up in Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn. Small world. Both Sal and his wife, Trish, really make you feel welcome, and provide great advice about the area. Sal helped us out with a dinner reservation at Ye Old Tavern, which had really good food.

This is not a fancy 5 star hotel, and doesn't pretend to be one. The room was spacious and clean, and the made to order breakfast was tasty. There is a fireplace and a small bar in the Lodge, that adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the place.

Overall, we had a very good stay, and can recommend without hesitation. We hope to visit again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesMereV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hi guys, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.
It's very rare to have someone just walk into the Olympia and find out they grew up just a few minutes away. It was great meeting the both of you and talking about Sheepshead Bay. It truly was a magnificent place to grow up. Hope the rest of your trip was fun. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Enter as strangers, Leave as friends...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
584 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 7259 Main St, P.O. Box 606, Manchester, VT 05255-9312 (Formerly Olympia Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olympia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Lodge Manchester, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing